Automatic Discount & Gift

Automatic Discount & Gift

by Tabarnapp

Run multiple discount & gift offers. Users get the best one.

4.2 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    66% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    10% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 3 stars
    (4)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 2 stars
    (6)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    17% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

6 reviews

ToolCentral.com

This app looked like it was exactly what we needed, and the way that it sets the discounts up is great. The problem that I have with the app is that it is not user friendly for the customers that visit our site. We may look into using this app in the future if there are a few changes with how it works on the front end for the customers. There are too many steps for the customers and in order for a customer to remove an item from the cart they have to exit out of the pop-up, remove it from the cart, then click back into the pop-up in order to checkout with the discount that they want.

Developer reply

May 21, 2020

Thanks for the feedback. What you describe is not related to the entire app, only to the Upsell/Gift feature. We've improved it already by pre-selecting the first gift by default (avoiding customers the need to click on it). About allowing customers to edit the cart in the Gift's Order Summary modal, this was built like that intentionally, to avoid the temptation of removing items currently in cart before checkout. We'll meet tomorrow altogether and discuss about the possibility to add an option to allow editing the cart. Another idea would be to hide the current items in cart from this modal and only show the gift. We'll come back to you in a few days.

UPDATE - June 9, 2020
We'll implement a new feature to "Auto add gift to cart" by June 20th. This should help your use case.

Canadian DIY Supply Inc.

This app worked great for us for about a year. Then, suddenly in January, we had complaints about customers not being able to get through checkout without it timing out. If they had a lot of line items in their cart, it seemed like the app could not update the automatic discount code properly with so many line items.

As a result of this, we lost thousands and thousands of dollars. The app developers kept shifting blame to Shopify. Once we deleted the app, we no longer had complaints or issues. It seems that the issue was a combination of something that changed on the Shopify platform, PLUS this automatic discount app that could no longer adjust the discounted pricing at checkout when there were a lot of line items in the cart (typically 50+ line items).

I tried reinstalling the app this week, and two days in we started receiving the exact same complaints again. Checkout was timing out for customers so they could not place their orders. We have immediately disabled and deleted this app, and will no longer be using it again. Frustrated that the app developers did not have communication with us, and never truly followed up on the issue.

Developer reply

April 1, 2019

UPDATE on 05/01/2019: the issue has been resolved.

ORIGINAL REPLY:
First, I'd like to apologize for the issues. I understand that's very frustrating. 

Our side, when we first tested by disabling Automatic Discount in your store, we were still able to reproduce the issue. From what I re-read from Shopify's guru Dane, she was as well able to reproduce the issue when Automatic Discount was turned off. 

Our side, we did contact Shopify App team to figure out a fix. Basically, the issue comes indeed from Shopify's checkout when an order has many items and when the order is edited quite often (products added and removed from cart, quantity changed). This cause a timeout and an error message is displayed at checkout to customers.

The way our app works (and many other Shopify apps and scripts), is that it relies on Shopify's checkout to work flawlessly in order to apply one or more requests. If Shopify has this timeout error, our app like many other apps, will multiply this error, because it checks every cart change to achieve its purpose: applying the right discount to the right cart content, automatically. That being said, it explains why some of the store's customers, with an equivalent huge order, see the error message at checkout (the ones editing their cart more often), while some aren't seeing the error (the ones making a straight order with one single visit to checkout).

To be honest, we can't explain why the Canadian DIY Supply store didn't have any issue with it for over a year, and then around a month ago started to see this issue at checkout. Shopify should be able to answer. What we know is that, pretty often, Shopify makes changes their side (some we are aware of via their change logs, some are more "obscure" and we're either not informed of, or we miss it until a ticket is opened. We really hope Shopify can fix the source of this timeout error, therefore apps like ours relying on it won't accentuate this issue. We contacted Shopify about it and will again open a forum thread, a ticket, a post in Shopify's Slack group and any possible ways to get some awareness and "votes" to allocate Shopify ressources to fix that. 

Our side, we've started last week to work on a "patch", which actually is the best we can do: adding an option in our app's settings to reduce the number of requests at checkout. Doing that, some of our features won't work (for example our add-on to display the savings in cart), but for a store like Canadian DIY Supply that has huge orders, it should help a lot. 

We'll keep you updated about it. 

Crio Bru

The app works great for some order but on other orders it doesn't apply the discount on about 10% of our orders. I spent most of black friday apologizing and refunding order manually. Sad!

Developer reply

April 16, 2019

Thanks for the feedback and sorry for the inconveniences.

Mallowspamperedpetemporium

Uninstalled. It solved the basic problem (gift with purchase) but I was so disgusted that I'm expected to pay a $50 fee to "unlock" the ability to tell anybody about it... that's with the premium account too. Lame.

Developer reply

April 16, 2019

Thank you for the review. We do charge a $49.99 one-time fee to unlock the Free Gifts feature, mainly to pay our team, servers, support and fund the development of new features. Our goals are actually similar: empower Shopify store owners to make more sales.

Valor Watches Australia

Not always working. I've upgraded to premium but my rules are not being applied which defeats the purpose.

Designs By Dees Hands 2

Good concept but the app does not work properly and support was non-existent. I set the rate and when I closed the app it stopped working. Seems to be full of bugs.

Developer reply

April 16, 2019

We improved the app a lot since 2016. We grew the team as well, for a better support. Let us know if you want to give it another try.