Overall rating
4.1
Counts per rating level
  • 83% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this app for its robust set/kit bundling and automatic discount features. It's praised for its user-friendly interface, compatibility with Shopify's subscription API, and ability to manage large product catalogs without slowing down websites. Many appreciate the responsive customer support and the high level of customization, including multi-step product selection. It's seen as a valuable tool for businesses offering customizable products or gift boxes, with potential to boost average order value and improve customer shopping experience.

May 12, 2023

I was VERY disappointed in their customer service. I started trying to get the app integrated into my online shop on March 27 and still did not have things working smoothly by May 2nd. We were up against a wall as we wanted to launch for Mother's Day and needed time to market the new product line and build awareness.

On May 3rd, after not hearing back from them and having no resolve, I deleted the app and went with a different one that I had up and running by the next day with no issues.

We lost sales and too many hours of my time working through the issues with this app. When I requested a refund for the month of April, because I was not able to use their product due to issues, I was told that their policy would not allow me to be refunded. Very unhappy and disappointed.

Swon & Company
United States
About 1 month using the app
Staytuned replied May 12, 2023

Thanks for taking the time to write this detailed review.

I'm disappointed that we couldn't meet your needs. I recognize and can understand why you'd feel frustrated after this experience.

However, I have to admit that things look a little different from my perspective. My support team did their best to assist you, and after reviewing the entire case in detail, I believe they did their job well. As for the refund request, I was the person who denied that request, and upon reflection, I got that wrong. I will follow up with you by email to discuss further.

I'm aware you chose another solution for your business. I wish we could've figured out a way to keep you on board as a customer, but I do hope the other solution works out well for you and Swon & Company manages to thrive.

Regards,

Hannes Bez | Director of Customer Experience - Box Builder (Staytuned)

December 6, 2022

Emailed support repeatedly over several weeks and get no response. Not acceptable when there are issues to fix & we're paying for an app to work.

Get A Grip Club
United Kingdom
About 1 month using the app
Staytuned replied December 15, 2022

Hey there,
Thanks for this review, and for being open to us trying to fix your experience. We really appreciate your replies to our emails, and for your availability on the Google Meet so we could work through your issues. We *think* we resolved your issue, but just reach out if anything else comes up!

Thanks!

May 27, 2022

In redoing our website we were looking for a bundle app that fit what we were trying to offer - some preset items and then allow the customer to select x amount of other items. I tried about 10 other bundle apps which only allowed an already assembled bundle - not what we wanted. I did find one other that did what we needed but it was more to pay per month and the interface presented to the customer was not as nice. I was absolutely in love with the graphic that is displayed while “building your box” was the icing on the cake for deciding to go with this app. Looking forward to hopefully future improvements where we can choose multiple variants of the same item using the single display option.

Aesthetics Etcetera
Barbados
1 day using the app
Staytuned replied June 1, 2022

Our team actually did a (virtual) dance party when reading this review, thank you! If you'd like, if you send us a custom gif, we can use it for the "building your box" graphic to make it feel even more fun!

We really appreciate your energy, enthusiasm and excitement for our app. We feel the same way 🤗

March 29, 2022

Really useful if you need a box builder. However, the app is a bit complicated, I need help to use it. Luckily, their support team is easy to reach and very helpful.

Normod
Germany
About 1 month using the app
Staytuned replied March 29, 2022

Thanks for this feedback. We agree, the app can do SO MUCH, that it can be a bit overwhelming at first. Luckily, our support team always has your back. Please let us know if there is anything else you need before launch and viel Glück!!

September 15, 2022

Simple and straights forward. customer service is quick to respond. Nothing to complain about.......

GuideFlies.com
United States
1 day using the app
Staytuned replied September 19, 2022

Thank you guide flies! We hope our app helps your customers make their perfect kit! After all, fishing is all about having the right equipment, right? 🎣

If you need anything, we are happy to help!

December 11, 2020

On the pro side this is a great idea and has a very nice looking layout. The one thing I wish that I would have known before investing time in getting this app set up is that it's still a bit of a work in progress. The developers have been helpful and responsive, but I've run into a few hiccups which had to be handled manually. Once it was set up I learned that people could only select 1 variant per product for their gift sets which is a problem for my business. The app developers say that this is going to be addressed in the future, but that will be too late for holiday orders for my biz. I think this will be a 5-star app in the future, but currently it's not something that's fully functional right out of the box and I needed it to be.

Whoa Nelli
United States
27 days using the app
Staytuned replied December 11, 2020

Thank you so much for the review. Just in case it's of any help, you can allow multiple variants to be selected, you just have to enable the 'Show variants separately' option. I know that's not always a perfect solution but it's available now if you wanted to give it a go. As you mentioned, we're currently working on another method of allowing it that works with the variant drop down menus.

February 25, 2021

Gutted that this app didn't work for me. Like some of the reviews below, I felt it had so much potential, and would have been absolutely perfect for my business but I experienced far too many problems that became quite costly for me. The developer is extremely helpful though and once it's working properly it'll be a brilliant app.

Not Another Bunch Of Flowers
United Kingdom
28 days using the app
March 17, 2023

Great interface, terrible support. Been waiting four days for a response to why they're not showing fully on our website. With it coming to the weekend we are swapping to a new app. Very disappointing as the attention to detail on the interface is great, the customer service is not.

Pretty Suds UK
United Kingdom
14 days using the app
Staytuned replied March 18, 2023

Hi there, thanks for reaching out to us about this. I know we've already worked with you to identify the problem and a potential solution since you posted this review, and I'm confident we're on the verge of turning this situation around, but I'd still like to apologize for leaving you in the lurch and not communicating clearly with your team earlier. This will remain a top priority for us until we've confirmed you're happy with the resolution.

Regards,

Hannes Bez | Director of Customer Experience

March 13, 2022

I was so excited to finally offer build a gift box feature however this app does not work properly. The backend will often not show up, often show an error message. Most often, the backend shows "create your first builder!" screen even though I already have a builder live on my website. This is problematic because it takes forever to reload and reload and reload and try to get the builder that is LIVE to even show up on the backend in order to edit it. As of today, the live version is showing only 4 steps, but the backend (when it decides to even show the builder) shows 6 steps. There is no live chat, so I feel like there is no support regarding this. What it boils down to is that this is the app that many of us need/want, but for $20/month it is insanely expensive for an app that doesn't work properly. If there was a free or even cheaper version, you might be able to stomach these issues despite the subscription fee. But for $20/month, almost the same price as the entire Shopify subscription, I expect the app to appear in the backend, and not have discrepancies between what is LIVE on the website and what the backend shows. I would love to revisit this app eventually in the future but as of now, unfortunately $20/month is way too much for something that presents incomplete steps to my customers. I can deal with the backend not showing up and being annoying, although it shouldn't,- but now that it is showing LIVE only 4 steps to my customers, who now can't complete their gift boxes, while the backend shows 6 (when it decides to appear) there isn't even anything I can do about this and it makes my shop appear incomplete, glitchy, and therefore unprofessional.

All About Velour
United States
6 days using the app
Staytuned replied March 14, 2022

Thank you for your honesty. I apologize for this problematic and frustrating first experience you've had with Box Builder. We set high customer service standards for ourselves - I'll be reviewing this case and reaching out personally via email to make sure we turn this experience around for you. - Hannes Bez, Customer Lead

December 29, 2023

Cumberland Valley Coffee
United States
5 months using the app
Staytuned replied January 3, 2024

Hi there Cumberland Valley Coffee and Team!

Thank you for choosing BundleBuilder (formerly known as BoxBuilder)! We appreciate your business and look forward to working with your store for a long time.

Please let us know if there's anything we can do to help!