Overall rating
4.1
Counts per rating level
  • 75% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 17% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants find this app efficient and user-friendly for transferring their stores to Shopify, including complex migrations of images, orders, customers, and products from platforms like Magento, Prestashop, and BigCommerce. It's highly recommended for large-scale migrations due to its cost-effectiveness and time-saving features. The setup is quick and accurately transfers all product data and customer information. Many appreciate its ease of use and the responsive support team.

January 24, 2024

The app has limited functionality, is cumbersome, is expensive, and especially the customer support staff is unresponsive.

잔바리
United States
About 1 hour using the app
July 3, 2023

I gave up. After 4 hours of back and forth with technical support, the migration tool could not connect to my shopify store. Tech support changed permissions in my shop manually and claimed it was working, but this didn't help. They promised to follow up by email - all I got was canned troubleshooting instructions which were not useful. Good luck!

Printed Heron
United States
About 3 hours using the app
Edited November 26, 2018

THIS APP WILL MESS UP YOUR DATABASE. DONT BUY. I REGRET LISTENING TO A DEVELOPER AND SHOPIFY.

It's been a week that we are trying to sort the migration. They said the migration is done. When I looked at the data, the entries were wrong: the order totals were wrong, the amount spent by customers were wrong, the items sold were wrong, and many more. The turnaround is so slow. They also said that I needed to pay more if I wanted to keep the order number. This is a horrible app. A headache. I was hoping that this would help solve the migration. Now, I may have to unwind the whole migration. Terrible customer service turnaround. It's been almost a week and we are still not done with the migration. I am trying to get a refund. What a headache. Don' buy. IT WILL MESS UP YOUR DATABASE.

Fitlegends
Philippines
Almost 2 years using the app
Edited January 26, 2019

Didn't swap variants over. Lost a lot of profits. Due to variants pricing. All options with variants basically had to redo over. Highly Suggest not doing if you have variants!

Kurtis Tice Auto
United States
About 1 year using the app
March 25, 2016

The absolute worst user experience and service. The flow of this product is so terrible because it tricks you into continuously looping through setup so that it can continue to charge your card, and it also adds "migration insurance" (whatever that is" onto your card. The people who run the support are 0 helpful, I'm not even sure they work at this company.

Naked Truth 2
United States
Almost 3 years using the app
September 26, 2019

Ive been trying to transfer my information, the Technicians are NEVER there, they can't transfer without the technicians, I live in Canada and by the time I wake up the technicians are out of the office, and by the time I sleep they aren't there yet. They have all these employees but no one that can actually help you with the migration.

Holistic Thingz
Canada
12 months using the app
Cart2Cart replied September 30, 2019

We are extremely sorry for the delays with your migration. It is completely our fault that we failed to inform you about the timing - customized migrations require a lot more time than the automated ones.

Let us assure you that our technicians are working on your migration and will go above and beyond to meet all your migration requirements in the shortest possible time, in spite of the time differences.

Kind regards,
Cart2Cart Team

April 3, 2019

POOR order migration service
While it was importing, It was stopped at certain period, and requested to run again. they did send all customer and text message notification turned ON
and all the customers got tons of email and order confirmation text messages....some customers were received text messages for few hours

This was DISASTER !!!!

Gorilla Paper Inc / Gorilla Supply
United States
11 months using the app
Cart2Cart replied April 3, 2019

We totally understand your frustration, and apologise for the situation with unwanted messages for your clients.

Unfortunately, our technical engineers couldn't help it, since the situation has been caused by the specific setting of the "Shopify Flow" plugin installed on your Shopify store.

Our support team has emailed to you the details showing how to disable the setting to stop the notifications.

Best regards,
Cart2Cart Team

August 28, 2015

BY FAR THE WORST APP AND THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS INSANELY HORRIBLE!! My import was done incorrectly and their company is located in Ukraine so if you want customer service you have to contact them at like 4-5 AM USA Eastern time and regardless they don't have a tech team that actually knows what they're doing, they have to outsource it somewhere else! If you email them with a question they get back to you 24 hours later, just ridiculous!! I told them I want my money back numerous times and they just won't refund it to me so I have to file a chargeback just like many other people have like I read online... Don't take it from me, just google cart2cart reviews and you'll see how many upset customers there are! I wish I saw all those reviews before I paid my hard earned money that they won't even refund now! DO NOT GO WITH THESE PEOPLE!!

Jainmy
United States
6 months using the app
Edited December 4, 2017

DO NOT WORK WITH THEM! They did our migration halfway through then wouldn't proceed until we gave them a five star rating. They totally blackmailed us. The final results were not ideal. You're better off using piecemeal uploaders to upload all of your orders/customers/products. Use them at your own risk.

Heatonist Llc
United States
5 months using the app
August 23, 2017

Absolutely HORRENDOUS experience.

People if you value your business, your website, your livelihood then stay FAR FAR away from these people.
I paid $259 to transfer my store over from magento to shopify, $259 is alot but im FINE with that if it worked out.

My biggest problem was when there app did not work well with magento even though they claim it does and all my "configurable" products did not transfer.

When i emailed them i did not get responses for 3 days at a time and when i did get responses you can tell they didnt take more then 30 seconds to look into it (or maybe they didnt speak english), meanwhile my entire site was down. After over a week of trying to get them to fix it i had to hire a local web dev local to do it.

I then emailed them thank you for trying but please refund me as i hired a local dev.

They would not refund my $259 for nothing! they said they cannot refund me it is against there policy.

STAY AWAY!, I SHOULD HAVE READ ALL THE OTHER REVIEWS BEFORE GOING WITH THESE PETTY INTERNATIONAL CROOKS.

Liboutique Com
United States
5 months using the app