Overall rating
4.5
Counts per rating level
  • 82% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its ability to boost sales and conversion rates through its real-time customer purchase display feature. It's praised for being user-friendly, easy to install, and highly customizable, allowing seamless integration with store themes. The customer service is efficient and responsive. The app integrates well with platforms like Judge.me reviews and Shopify, without affecting site speed. Its analytics and reporting features are beneficial for tracking conversions and understanding customer behavior. Merchants find the pricing reasonable for the value provided.

November 20, 2023

I think it all looks good and it seems like you can customize a lot. But I take issue in it immediately pumping out notifications and no clear way how to turn them off. I uninstalled - also because I think the pricing is insane. It racked up thousands of impressions within 30 minutes or so and we are by no means a "huge" site.

Awesome Maps
Germany
11 months using the app
Fomo replied November 22, 2023

Hello - thanks for your feedback about Fomo. I'm sorry to hear it wasn't the right tool for you. For any users considering Fomo, notifications are easy to turn off using the toggle above each notification in the Admin under Notifications.
Fomo does come with the Active Visitors and Someone is Viewing notifications turned on on default so you can see notifications right away.
Our pricing reflects the value users get in increased conversions - Fomo pays for itself after just a few transactions.
I wish you all the best, Awesome Maps - love your product!

November 7, 2023

I can see from the dashboard that Fom is well worth it! We've made a lot of extra revenue from the app.

A Big thanks to Janice for helping me with a big technical problem. Fomo is our 2nd most important app behind Replo (our page builder lol)

Birchbury
United States
2 months using the app
Fomo replied November 9, 2023

Thanks for the great feedback! We're so happy to be adding value to Birchbury - wishing you record sales this holiday season!

September 15, 2023

100% a must have app for anyone who already has some traction on your store, I would say the analytics aren't too accurate, but its show me a over 20% increase in sales which is probably more like 5-10% but still a MUST HAVE APP that will almost without a doubt boost your websites credibility. (also the only app that I could find that would work on my headless website kudos!)

Bids.com
United States
Almost 3 years using the app
Fomo replied September 18, 2023

Thanks for the great feedback! We're glad your seeing conversion results from using Fomo.

Edited September 3, 2023

We have used this app for over 2 years!! They have worked on new features which is great however we don't need all these new features. Unfortunately, app charges have gone up dramatically :( They have helpful customer service (thanks Janice) but we still find it to be out of our budget after the changes to the app. Otherwise great app and has worked well for our shop!

Bling My Ride
Australia
About 2 years using the app
Fomo replied September 18, 2023

Thanks for the feedback! We understand that pricing changes are never welcome but we're happy you've stuck with us and hope you enjoy the new offerings.

September 4, 2023

Great app, even greater customer support! Promptly helped to move and customise their app to suit my website.

HOLDCOM AUTO PARTS
Australia
19 days using the app
April 18, 2023

Great app and excellent service received from Rebecca. Thank you! Support in this day and age is everything.

Fabulous Flowers
South Africa
Over 3 years using the app
March 3, 2023

Stunning. WE LOVE THE APP. IT WORKS REALLY WELL ON OUR STORE FRONT. IT IS ALSO VERY EASY TO NAVIGATE

MyEcoSprout
South Africa
Over 2 years using the app
June 26, 2023

I usually don't leave reviews however I find an issue with how they change billing and charge you base on impressions then their system misreads visitors and charges you for visitors who don't come to the store. I upgraded a few days ago and then yesterday I receive a notification stating am 90% at my limit of 29,000. I didn't have that many visitors at my store because I wasn't running any ads at the time. The first time questioned it was mention of a glitch in their system but it was too late because I have updated it. I want to k=not be charged the fact I have proof their system is still glitchy and their system doesn't accurately calculate the traffic. I use to love this app until they made updates that turn this app into crap. I give it three stars and I'm being nice base on history before being kicked out for a month without being able to get back in after reaching out and a glitchy system

Electron Colloidal
United States
6 months using the app
Fomo replied June 27, 2023

Hey there! Thanks for sharing your honest feedback! We're sorry to see you go, but just wanted to clarify a couple of things. The monthly limit of our plans is based on total impressions, with each notification shown counting as an impression. So, even if you didn't have 25k unique visitors, the ones you did have were shown multiple notifications while on your site. We do offer a number of options to prevent exceeding this limit. As far as the glitch, it looks like you were offered a credit to accommodate that. We do appreciate you sharing your concerns, and will absolutely take them into consideration for future product updates. Take care!

April 28, 2023

Rebecca from the Fomo team went above and beyond to help me when my starter plan ran out, very cool app that I look forward to continue using

Sunday Forever
United States
11 days using the app
March 6, 2023

We really like the app but it started breaking our site when Shopify marked it as an app that isn't approved - has this been fixed?

Therafit Shoe
United States
3 months using the app
Fomo replied March 6, 2023

Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about Fomo. Just an FYI - the issue you mentioned has been fully resolved. Please feel free to reach out to us directly at hello@fomo.com if you'd like further assistance with anything. Our support team is always happy to help!