Overall rating
4.9
Counts per rating level
  • 95% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this app for its extensive design options and customization features. It's praised for its user-friendly interface, variety of templates, and excellent customer support. Despite a slight learning curve and minor issues with AI and residual code, many find it transformative for their online businesses.

September 4, 2023

Support is none existent, you cant even pay someone to help such a shame i spent so much time building a site but the last part i had to change to pagefly..

Review Mate
United Kingdom
9 days using the app
GemPages replied September 5, 2023

Hi Mate,

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the delay in our support response. We understand your frustration, and we're truly sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you.

Due to an unexpectedly high volume of customers, our response times have been slower than usual. We want to assure you that this is not the level of service we aim to provide, and we're actively working on resolving this staffing issue to better support our valued customers like you.

While our response time may be temporarily affected, we want to emphasize that we are committed to assisting our customers to the best of our abilities. We appreciate your understanding during this challenging period.

If you have any specific issues or questions you'd like assistance with, please don't hesitate to reach out to us again. We're here to help, and we value your business.
Thank you for your patience, and we look forward to serving you better in the future.

Warm regards,
GemPages Support Team

Edited December 9, 2019

Please, save yourself a headache and do not use this platform as it is incredibly buggy and unreliable. Chris the owner has been nothing but incredible unprofessional and quite moody, I have screen shots of him insulting me when he finds himself at fault and he fails to be helpful or fix the problems with my site.

I have been trying to get my site fixed with them over the past 8 months and still to this day, I am having problems.

While they are prompt to reply, Chris, has failed me over and over again. His replies were always the same — "I will fix this for you know" 3 days later, I would have ask again why it wasn't done and his reply would be to remain him of what my issue was.

This software is now impacting and hurting my business, as my pages are still broken and their "promises" of fixing my site have no more value as to this moment they continue to under deliver and lie, which is the worst part of all of this. They are very unreliable.

After a lot of thought, I have decided to write this review as their word has no value on their fixing promises. I will now have to migrate from this platform onto another that is hopefully a lot more professional than this one.

I have screen-shots of my conversations with Chris as proof as well.
Save your self the trouble and do not use this platform for big sites.

Folklore Surf
United States
About 6 years using the app
Edited August 16, 2023

Do NOT install this app! I uninstalled it because it constantly didn't work. The buggyness was impossible. I spent more time trying to fix issues than anything else, and now on top of everything, even though I have installed it, Gempages continue to bill me. Shopify won't do anything, as it is 'a developer issue' and my emails to this company just get ignored. If you install this app and then don't want it (which you won't because it doesn't work properly, you will be paying for it forever. Be warned.

Beau and Benji
United Kingdom
About 1 year using the app
GemPages replied August 18, 2023

Dear Kelly,

We appreciate your previous positive experience with GemPages and deeply regret any frustration you've encountered recently. We're actively addressing the technical issues you've faced to enhance our platform's performance for all users.

Regarding the refund, we apologize for any confusion. We did send instructions via email, and we're committed to resolving this promptly.

Your feedback is invaluable, and we're working to improve our communication processes to better serve you.

Please refer to our previous email for refund instructions or contact our Customer Support directly.

Your satisfaction matters greatly, and we're dedicated to making this right.

Sincerely,
GemPages Customer Support Team

March 23, 2023

I am experiencing considerable frustration as I attempt to update my Impulse theme to version 7.2.0, only to find that the Gempages becomes wonky And will not display the page in the process. This issue is particularly concerning as I rely on it to operate the landing page for my subscription box service.

Unfortunately, after receiving an initial response from support, I provided the requested information but have not received any further correspondence. It has now been three weeks without a resolution or response, which is simply unacceptable.

For reference, my support conversation ID is 55544600619044, and my contact at support is Hugh. I granted Collaborator access as requested on March 10th, but despite my efforts to follow up every 2-3 days, I have not received any additional communication.

While I am generally averse to leaving negative reviews or publicly calling out a company, I find myself uncertain about the appropriate course of action to take next in order to resolve this issue.

Wicked Good Perfume
United States
Almost 4 years using the app
GemPages replied March 23, 2023

Hi Cheri!

We offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to the recent support experience. We recognize that our service team did not meet their objective of achieving 100% customer satisfaction in this case, and we are aware of the frustration and stress this situation may have caused. For this reason, we have prioritized your case and our team will be in touch with you shortly to resolve the issue.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your patience!

Sincerely,
GemPages Team

July 15, 2020

Having a really hard time with page load speeds. I have done everything possible with reducing image files sizes and having both mobile and desktop versions. Removed all JS and other apps. But this I cannot get any of these gem pages to speed up. It takes longer to load than my native theme. This is so embarrassing, I feel sorry for my customers and not getting any help from support. Looks like I will be removing this app.

Aesthetics Accreditation International
United States
Over 2 years using the app
February 8, 2022

Once installed and tried (a payed plan) you can't cancel the plan without completely removing the app. Really a pain in the ass to just try it for one or two months in this way. Can't advise anyone to use it.

Vicius Europe
Netherlands
Over 1 year using the app
GemPages replied February 8, 2022

Hi Rick,

Thank you for letting us know about the issue you’ve encountered.

However, it’s under Shopify policy that we need to remove the app to cancel the current subscription. Kindly check out the link below in the caution section for reference. https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/your-account/pause-deactivate-store

Meanwhile, we’ve contacted you via email for further assistance on how to overcome that.

James | Customer Success Manager

Edited November 10, 2020

This app uses works fine. But now is just chaos.
It is overwriting the code, buttons become double, etc...
Since our customers started to write on social media about all the mistakes this app is causing and it started to damage our image against our customers we decided to delete this app.
I would not advise using this app.
Their customer service became very poor, they just send you articles to read but are not there to resolve the problem. Really sad.

4 Hunks
Germany
Over 1 year using the app
GemPages replied December 8, 2020

Hi Marcos,

Sorry to hear that you had issues with the use of our product.

I have checked this case again and it appeared that the issue was happened after you added incorrect codes to the editor.
Our technical staff has isolated the codes, and this is now fixed.

Again, we apologise for the inconvenience, and your feedback about the customer service is appreciated.
Perhaps we could have communicated this more clearly.

Thank you again!

James | Customer Success Manager

July 15, 2020

I have been using GemPages for about a year now and I am beyond frustrated.

Our Gempage load time is Over 20 seconds per page. All images optimized.

The more pages we made the slower our site became and it wasn't until it was too late that we found the issue.

I wish I could post the screenshot of our page load waterfall. Take 8 seconds for gem pages to load, Before... any other script will load.

Support was no help at all. In fact they tried to say it wasn't gem pages fault when they could clearly see the 8 seconds of GemPages as #1 load. Still they try to blame JS and 3rd party apps. This is not the case and it is clear to anyone.

Use this app if you only need to create one or two pages. Not if you are creating more.

Let me explain how bad this is. When I try to search for a file in the theme directory, the page crashes. Gem pages create a system that every page you create will be a new page template file within your theme directory. We we have hundreds of pages and it is has completely crippled our website. But, gempages does not care.

Scalpa Shop
United States
Over 1 year using the app
April 7, 2023

Discovered today that GemPages do not support Shopify's native translation system, as the pages are hardcoded into the theme's templates. Amazing. And offering a 15% discount on Weglot does not compensate for this. We just got rid of Weglot precisely because it's very expensive, and GemPages locks us in.

YAY Paris
France
About 1 year using the app
GemPages replied April 7, 2023

Dear Julie,

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback, and we understand your frustration when our product does not satisfy your expectations. We take all user input seriously and are working hard to make continual improvements.

In light of this, we will be developing plans to integrate as many third-party applications with GemPages as possible. In the meantime, please expect a reply from our support team for further help.

Thomas | GemPages Customer Success Team

Edited February 24, 2020

2 years of using my site wiped clean, gem pages was not able to help me put my pages back in place.

POP SOCIETY PRO
United States
About 1 year using the app