Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 83% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its consistent quality, flexibility, and superior customer service. They value its unique features such as sleeve prints and private label branding, along with white-label packaging options for effective brand building. The platform is praised for its user-friendly interface, seamless integration with various platforms, and top-notch fulfillment and shipping services. Merchants also commend the app's design tools and extensive product catalog. The print quality is noted to be exceptional, with accurate colors and crisp designs. The platform's ease of use and educational resources are also appreciated. The customer support is described as fast and effective.

May 13, 2024

Incredibly hard to get setup correctly. The templates make no sense whatsoever, and are near useless.

mikeys.gallery
United States
10 months using the app
Printful replied May 17, 2024

Thank you for your review! We’ll follow up with you via email shortly! 😊

April 6, 2024

It’s not allowing me to add my products to Shopify. I have the accounts connected but when I try to add products it just sends me through a loop of how to connect the platforms… Please help

Graphic Tees Online
United States
3 months using the app
Printful replied April 9, 2024

Thank you for leaving a review! We appreciate the feedback and we'd certainly be happy to check further on the mentioned situation. Please send us an email at feedback@printful.com and we'll look into it right away.

March 27, 2024

Good afternoon, my company and I are totally disappointed with the purchase made, the samples that arrived in our possession are not what was requested at the time of making the purchase. The color sent in the design is purple, violet or purple. The sample items arrived with fuchsia embroidery. This is part of my company's brand identity and does not represent us at all. I attach images for your verification and I hope to receive a response on the matter.

Colombian Harvests Coffee & Food Inc.
Canada
4 months using the app
Printful replied April 3, 2024

Hi there, thank you for the review! We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your purchase. Please reach out to our support team via email at support@printful.com with the order number and a photo of the affected product. Our team will be happy to look into this and resolve this!

January 24, 2024

Have used Printful in the past. Their customer service is not great. We had an issue on an order where we had to cancel an order. We canceled the order on Printful first, then went to Shopify where we canceled it on Shopify's end and it read "canceled" after the order. All was good... that was until the order was pushed through again 4 days later without us authorizing it. We contacted Printful right away to say we had canceled the order and unsure why it was re-sent. The order had only picked 1 item, but that wasn't the issue. The entire time Printful is saying to contact Shopify and Shopify is saying to contact Printful. Printful kept saying "the order is already being fulfilled so we cannot do anything." When I show them we had already canceled the order and the order number is they same they would not listen.

After a ton of back and forth, they still wouldn't look into if there were any glitches but ended up refunding and canceling the order. It didn't stop there, the support representative accused me of "editing" the order number to say "canceled" after it so it wouldn't have been a duplicate order and lying that I had canceled the order. We did NOT lie and every record we show that the order was canceled and the billing page also indicated it was canceled.

We do not want to work with a company that accuses us of lying and "editing" order numbers.

Plant Daddies of Atlanta
United States
Over 1 year using the app
March 26, 2024

I guess this company earns too much to give customer service to their sellers... We ordered a tryout package of clothes, and never got any delivery message, any update, email or anything and suddenly they're saying that it's returned to them. WITHOUT US KNOWING! And not only that, WE have to pay for the shipment ourselves again! Just awful and uncanny customer service, and no understanding or care for us. Cannot recommend.

nonbasique
Spain
About 1 month using the app
Printful replied March 28, 2024

Thank you for leaving a review! We're sorry to hear about the situation you encountered and we truly appreciate the feedback! We would certainly be happy to check further on the mentioned order. Please send us an email at feedback@printful.com and we'll investigate right away.

May 5, 2024

Orders take too long to fulfill. I have my settings set on auto fulfill and can be days before fulfillment begins.

Boue
United States
9 months using the app
Printful replied May 8, 2024

Thank you for your feedback! Our standard fulfillment times are 2-5 business days, but we understand the importance of prompt service. In case there's an order that's delayed, please reach out to us via email at feedback@printful.com with your order details. We'll be happy to look into this!

March 27, 2024

shopify says account is linked to printful, but printful says to add the account. multiple printful support members are repeating that the steps that have been followed need to be followed, so am a neverending loop with no help in sight. I want to use printful vs the other print on demand apps, but frustration is nearing it's peak.

Bankruptees
United States
2 months using the app
Printful replied April 3, 2024

Hi there, thank you for leaving the review! We're sorry to hear about the frustration you've experienced with integrating Printful with your Shopify account.

To better assist you and address this issue effectively, could you please reach out to us via email at feedback@printful.com? Kindly provide us with your account details and any relevant information regarding the steps you've taken so far. Our team is committed to helping you resolve this matter as quickly as possible!

April 2, 2024

Not very good it will not do anything

Sunflower Dreams Boutique
United States
7 months using the app
Printful replied April 4, 2024

Thank you for leaving a review! We appreciate the feedback and we'd certainly be happy to check further on the mentioned situation. Please send us an email at feedback@printful.com and we'll investigate right away and do our best to help.

April 1, 2024

You've removed the ability to export details of fulfilled orders

GSROC - German Shepherd Rescue of Orange County
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Printful replied April 3, 2024

Hi there, thank you for your review! The ability to export order details is possible from the Printful dashboard-> Orders tab. There, you can download a report in CSV or XLSX file. If you're having trouble with this, for sure reach out to our team via email feedback@printful.com. We'll be happy to assist you with this!

April 18, 2024

having trouble connecting to shopify correctly

WAKE UP YOUR CITY
United States
10 months using the app
Printful replied April 19, 2024

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We strive to provide the best possible service and experience for our customers, and we're sorry to hear that your experience hasn't been the best. To address your specific issues and ensure a satisfactory resolution, we kindly ask you to reach out to us via email feedback@printful.com. We'll be happy to look into this and address your concerns!