Privy ‑ Pop Ups, Email, & SMS

Privy ‑ Pop Ups, Email, & SMS

by Privy

Exit Popup, Email Marketing, Free Shipping Bar, Abandoned Cart

4.6 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    76% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    17% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

81 - 90 of 378 reviews

Dark Virtue Designs

It won't let me use it yet so I am filling this out as apparently it's part of setup. Buttons to send mails are greyed out but there's not explanation as to why this is the case. Maybe I need to pay? It's not telling me so who knows...

Developer reply

October 21, 2019

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately, the email functionality you are trying to use is not included in our free plan. You'll need to add Privy Email which starts at $10/month for up to 1000 contacts. If you have questions about that plan, shoot us a note at and we can answer them for you.

Easy Eco Kitchen

It keeps crashing during onboarding - sending me to a 404 and reloading.. The onboarding is more confusing than helpful. Not sure I’ll use this, not a good impression so far.

Developer reply

October 21, 2019

Thanks for the feedback and sorry about the issues you are experiencing. Please send us an email at and the team will give you a hand when they are back online.

Moonlit Stones

When I launch my campaign live, and an email is imputed, the button click returns an error. Doesn't work for me.

Developer reply

October 11, 2019

Thanks for the feedback and sorry about the issues you are experiencing. Please send us an email at and the team will give you a hand when they are back online.


We are a new company doing all that we can, including spending tens of thousands of dollars at exhibitions trying to develop our mailing list only for privy to tell us that we cant upload and use most of our list because they are "role" emails. Tried to explain that business owners (who is my target audience) always give out their business email. . . . PRIVY: no response

Rentals Coach

I used this app during an important campaign and did not have any email addresses added. I found out afterwards the app had disconnected. Very frustrated w

Developer reply

October 7, 2019

Thanks for the feedback and sorry about the issues you are experiencing. I forwarded this issue to the support team and they should be in touch.


The app has a bug in it where it doesn't give any option to import from. We need to take our customer database over to Privy so we can send email blasts.

Developer reply

October 7, 2019

Thanks for the feedback and sorry about the issues you are experiencing. I forwarded this issue to the support team and they should be in touch.

I spent some time with an agent from Shopify yesterday trying to identify which app from my website makes a whole bunch of foreign requests, and we worked it out to be... Privy?!

We tested it multiple times, with the app disabled/enabled, installed/uninstalled and we can confirm that the requests only happen while Privy is installed and enabled (even if you have no active campaigns). Shopify are now reviewing this application, and I advise anyone to continue reading before installing this app.

This is incredibly disappointing to learn, I would have hoped that since Privy indulges in such dirty practices, they would at least make it completely transparent to us, the shop owners, that they sell our data collected from our customers and visitors.

Anyway, I have compiled a list of all the websites that Privy makes requests to and a brief description of the site/company. Feel free to conduct your own research about each of the websites listed below.

Privy is redirecting data from my store to all the following websites:

33Across is a technology company focused on solving the challenge of consumer attention for an era of automated advertising.

2. & & is a page-redirecting browser hijacker that can affect your Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or any other browser that you may be using

Not as a matter of course a virus, but rather it is clarified as an adware.

Eyeota is an audience technology platform that enables the intelligent use of data. We work with marketers, data owners, and research companies

5. is run by AppNexus, a company that provides technology, data and analytics to help companies buy and sell online display advertising

Read article below:
Also adware.

I was on the free plan, but I suspect that even the paid users would be in the same boat, since the app is essentially the same, and you only pay if you get more than 'x' page views.

I have since uninstalled the app and will look for alternatives. Although Privy offers good features, I'd rather not have anything at all than have to explain to my customers that their data is being passed around for advertising purposes.

German IT Academy

it just crashed while setting have to find another app in shopify app marketplace..sorry

Coastal Sea Treasures

way to expensive and algorithm is flawed. with shopify not counting pageviews I have 0 way of knowing how accurate your algorithm is that you use and have to trust you blindly. Not a smart business practice. With not even 4k visitors for this month you claim I have to be on the 50k page view plan I find it impossible to believe I reach 50k pageviews. Not to mention you cant honestly say if your algorithm counts you yourself viewing your own page thus penalizing you and using your algorithm means it counts viewers who may just enjoy looking at your products and never intending to buy thus penalizing you again . A very flawed system with so many competitor apps out there charging far less and working just as well and better. Customer service couldn't provide proof of pageviews when I brought up this concern and just linked articles about how they count it which doesnt help prove that you're an honest company. They did offer a 30% discount for 3 months which still makes the app too expensive for the traffic I truly get and number of sales I get. I will be contacting shopify to see if they can provide any proof of pageviews to compare it to your data you claim to have.


I started using Privy at around the point they changed their pricing scheme, so I was able to view their previous pricing model and the newest model.

I think their core service of popups is pretty good. But I was disappointed to find that 2 completely separate stores I run, that are not related to each other, were merged together for the monthly views. So I am at the point where the Privy app is disabled on both stores unless I pay their fees. So if one store has lots of views, but another doesn't have much at all, both stores Privy popups won't work.

I have already done a live call with one of their staff where they hoped to show me the additional value Privy offers if I were to use their subscription service. But I do not think that minor features like more audience targeting is what I need. And I don't think it's worth paying $20-40+ monthly subscriptions for.

Will be looking for other popup services in the meantime and transitioning away from Privy. I'd come back if they changed their pricing model back to what it was before.

Developer reply

September 27, 2019

Thank you for the feedback, and I'm sorry you were disappointed by our recent price change. We believe our new pricing puts us more in line with the needs of the market and the majority of our customers who are getting more features for a better value. If you're an existing customer and your price was negatively impacted by this change, we'd be happy to work with you! Just shoot us an email at and we'll put you in touch with the right people.

1 2 5 6 7 9 11 12 13 37 38
1 2 5 6 7 9 11 12 13 37 38