SC Product Options , 2,538 reviews

Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 87% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its extensive customization capabilities, particularly useful for stores with a wide range of products and variants. Key features such as unlimited options, conditional logic, and the Dynamic List are highlighted. The app is noted for its user-friendly interface and smooth integration with Shopify. The customer support team is praised for their quick and effective responses. Despite occasional issues and suggestions for improved intuitiveness, merchants are generally satisfied with the app's performance and the support received.

April 6, 2024

We used the Premium version of Bold Product Options and it worked great for over a year. After being acquired by SC, this app became unusable and extremely slow. It now takes more than 48 hours for a new option to show up on our store, if at all. Support is very helpful and quick to respond, but they claim custom coding is needed almost every time, which defeats the purpose of the app.
Very unfortunate to see this app fall apart after the acquisition and we've tried to make it work, but we're going with a different option that has a much better UI (and more than half the cost).

Home Safes USA
United States
About 1 year using the app
February 16, 2024

Used to be a good plugin until today. My product option on my website suddenly not working. It was all ok all the while and we have zero clue what happened. I didn't notice this app was no longer under Bold until this happened. My team and I were trying to contact their support via email, chat, and any way we could. They greet you but when asking about our problem, they do not reply at all. My site relies heavily on this app and they are highly unprofessional when dealing with customers. This is not a free plugin so I do expect someone can help me solve the problem not creating a headache for me. Not recommend for anyone.

https://artincard.com/
Malaysia
About 4 years using the app
December 3, 2023

HORRIBLE.
After using Bold Product Options for years it was bought by Shop Circle.
From the beginning, it was impossible to get them to answer emails and get customer support. Literally weeks of no answer to multiple requests.
then I changed themes on Shopify to common Dawn theme.
The liquid disappeared from the order reports despite being in the front end.
easy enough I thought, just request they add the liquid.
They said I need to upgrade to V2, so I did.
Then the shopify orders report shows a million codes and snippets...they say nothing can be done with that.
Then the formatting of options got all weird.
Then all my conditional logic disappeared.
Then dropdowns show auto select.
Then pricing color fonts just randomly changed colors.
Then dropdown box sizes were running across all the page.
etc etc.
ALL OF THIS WAS HAPPENING RANDOMLY....THE SITE WOULD APPEAR FINE THEN THESE WOULD HAPPEN.
SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD TO THROW AWAY 5 THEMES BECAUSE OF BAD FORMATTING AND NOW THE SITE RUNS 5 POINTS SLOWER.
EVERY TIME I HAD SOMEONE FROM THEM TOUCH MY SITE IT WAS A DISASTER.
STAY AWAY.

Sevilla Smith
United States
Almost 8 years using the app
Shop Circle replied December 4, 2023

We're truly sorry for the issues and frustration you've experienced with Bold Product Options and Shop Circle. It seems like there have been quite a few problems which have negatively impacted your site and for this, we extend our sincere apologies. We understand every bit of your concern – the smooth operation of your site is our priority too.

It’s concerning to hear about the lack of timely response to your emails and customer support requests. There seems to have been a handful of technical issues, which, we wholeheartedly agree, is far from meeting the quality of service we strive to provide.

We definitely want to rectify this for you. We will have our support team reach out to you to address and resolve each of these issues collectively. We’re committed to ensure you get a better experience moving forward.

Please remember, your feedback is crucial to us, it helps us identify, and improve on, areas where we're falling behind. We’re grateful for your candid review and are eager to turn your experience around.

With respect,
Shop Circle Team

November 29, 2023

I have been a loyal user of Bold Options for over 4 years, and during that time, it was a reliable and effective tool for my store. However, my recent experience with their service has left me extremely disappointed and frustrated.

The trouble began when I decided to refresh my store with a new theme. Contacting Shop Circle to help with the app installation on the new theme was where the problems started. It became apparent that the transition to Shop Circle has significantly impacted the competence and efficiency of their support team.

I reached out to the support team, specifically contacting Khushbu, Jeff, Nisha, and Nicholas, hoping for a prompt and effective resolution. However, the support I received was not only horrendously slow but also unhelpful , all of them said that they were working on it and will contact me when fix, but they never did.

The inability of the support team to address and resolve the issues I've encountered has left me with no choice but to explore alternative solutions for my store.

For those seeking a dependable solution, it might be worth considering alternatives that can offer the level of service and assistance needed to navigate the evolving landscape of e-commerce.

Champion Landscape Supplies
United States
Over 3 years using the app
November 20, 2023

For $50 a month...this app should be 100%. I've had nothing but trouble with this app, and the way you have to set it up is so painful...that you end up being stuck with it for a LONG time before you invest the time to switch to something else. Every time I make a product update...I have to contact support and they have to manually fix it. And I know what I'm doing, I'm quite tech savvy. This app is buggy. Their customer service team is fantastic, I'd give 5 stars for that aspect...they try their best to help you and are quick...but they can only help with so much when the app itself has consistent system errors.

circleandsquaredecor
United States
About 2 years using the app
September 20, 2023

It randomly gives products away for free.
A few weeks ago we were looking at some orders and noticed that Bold was not adding the up-charges to the order. It added the parts to the order fine and we fulfilled them but the customer was getting them for 0$. Since we have found over $5000 in free items Bold gave away. Customer service has been less than helpful. Downright idgaf attitude to trying to fix it. look at other apps.

Nine Lives Racing
United States
About 4 years using the app
Edited May 2, 2024

Unfortunately, I now have to get something off my chest. The app actually always worked perfectly! After a new theme update, the live theme was duplicated. In the backup, an attempt was now made to reinstall the app with the automatic installation. I was informed that the automatic installation did not work. In addition, the formatting of the Live Theme was completely destroyed. The backup theme was explicitly selected, but the live theme was also attacked. The support does not consider it necessary to fix this error, instead you are only put off that it will take a little more time. Who will pay for the damage caused by your mistake?

Tallsy
Germany
12 months using the app
Shop Circle replied June 21, 2023

Hi There,
We are sorry you've had a negative experience with our app :(...We have been trying to contact you by email, but without success.

We would be more than happy to help you with anything you need if you'd still like our assistance at help@shopcircle.co

All the best,
Customer Success Team I Shop Circle

May 26, 2023

Extremely disappointed to see this app that was once was very reliable and provided excellent support go down the drain now that they have transitioned to Shop Circle. I would warn any new merchant to stay away from this app now. We have been using it for years without issue, however within a short span we have run into numerous issues, including not charging our customers correctly at checkout, as well ass the app team taking it upon themselves to completely change our settings without notifying us so that our store was displaying (and charging) incorrect information. Not only this, the support has been horrendously slow, unhelpful and ultimately unable to resolve any of the issues we have been having in a timely manner. Quite a shame but we will have no choice but to look elsewhere for a more reliable solution.

Riff Raff Baby UK
Australia
11 months using the app
September 2, 2023

Worst client service ever. Does work very slow and not up to the requirements too. Totally wasted my 10 days of my time relying on them.

The Sleep Factory Store
United Kingdom
11 days using the app
March 14, 2023

Disaster. I have been a Product Options customer for 10 years. I started noticing a few options not being charged to customers recently and reached out to support. They informed me I need to install Version 2. After horrific communication that takes days for each message, they deployed something that completely torpedoed my entire site and it doesn't even seem like we can undo it. It appears like "Shop Circle" purchased this app from BOLD but kept the name. I am currently losing thousands in revenue a day with an unknown impact on long-term sales and no real resolution in sight that doesn't likely involve 50+ hours of work on my end.

MooringTech
United States
Over 8 years using the app