Route ‑ Shipping Protection

Route ‑ Shipping Protection

by RouteApp LLC

Fuel Growth with Order Protection, Package Tracking & More

4.1 of 5 stars(156 reviews)

Modern Package Tracking

Build trust and loyalty with Visual Tracking™ that shows shoppers where packages are in real time for the ultimate transparency.

Premium Order Protection

Reduce loss, boost your bottom line, and increase customer loyalty with best-in-class order protection.

Intuitive Engagement Tools

Encourage additional purchases by engaging your customers when buying intent is the highest.

About Route ‑ Shipping Protection

About Route

Route is the premier post-purchase experience solution for online retailers. Brands across the globe leverage Route to decrease costs, boost revenue and improve customer experience.

Best part? It’s free.

What is Route?

Route’s unique suite of products gives Shopify merchants unprecedented control over their entire post-purchase flow. Best-in-class brands leverage Route for order protection, real-time package tracking and modern customer communication and reengagement tools—all without coding or development skills needed.

  • Package tracking - Email, App, SMSOrder protection - Full suite of coverage options
  • Order resolution - One-click claim filing and reorders
  • Automated support - Instant resolutions and refunds
  • Customer reengagement - Promotional content

Route’s streamlined installation process makes it possible to get up and running on Shopify or Shopify+ in minutes.

Why you'll love Route

Our unique suite of products gives you unprecedented control over the entire post-purchase flow, which allows you to reap the benefits of a truly optimized and effective delivery experience.

  • We make it easy for you and your customers to protect their orders.
  • Order protection increases customer confidence at a pivotal point in the purchase process and encourages checkout.
  • Route covers the cost of all lost, stolen or broken items that have been insured which protects your bottom line.
  • Automate support and instant resolutions to keep your customers happy and build trust in your brand. *Route repurchases products directly from your site resulting in additional revenue.
  • Visual Tracking boosts transparency during delivery and decreases “where’s my order?” calls and emails.
  • Visual Tracking puts your brand front and center during delivery, drastically boosting brand impressions and overall awareness.
  • Engagement tools allow you to organically promote additional products during delivery and increase customer lifetime value.

What Route will do for your business

Decrease customer support costs

  • Unprecedented transparency during delivery, order protection, and effortless claim resolutions drastically reduce your customer support burden.

Increase margins and boost revenue

  • Order protection ensures every sale counts, by reducing shipping loss. Plus, with decreased support costs and additional purchases, you’ll take more revenue home.

Improve customer experience

  • Protected orders, real-time package tracking and improved communication all lead to a best-in-class experience that delights shoppers and brings them back time and time again.

See the app in action

Explore how the app works in an example store.

View example store

Media gallery




4.1 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    76% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

TokTok Beauty

They placed an order for our customer who lost her package WITHOUT paying. Customer service has no response when asked about the detail of the issue/payment. Feel frustrated about the service.

Developer reply

November 24, 2020

Hi there,

Thanks for your review. I’m so sorry your experience was less than perfect, but I’d love to help clarify. We have recently made an important automation update that slightly affects how Route-covered reorders and refunds are recorded.

This update - Resolve via Platform (RVP) - allows us to process replacement orders and refunds at the click of a button via Shopify for a much faster resolution time. These orders and refunds are still covered by Route, but credited weekly back to your Route bill. While the format of reimbursements has changed, Route still works as promised.

For more details on how RVP affects your billing, please read more here:

If you need anything else, feel free to reach out to and we will get you taken care of as soon as possible! I have notified our team to be on the lookout for any future emails.


Jordan, Customer Service

Knock Pods

TL;DR "Route has been marking orders on my store as "paid" when they have paid me nothing, causing me to ship items to customers for free. This happened twice and they've been emailed about it many times and they've totally ignored the issue. Emailed 3 seperate staff members and no reply. Absolutely pathetic." I've been using Route across various businesses for 6-9 months so far. I will stop using Route by the end of this week as I have discovered Route has been acting *FRAUDULENTLY* regarding at least my business. In theory Route sounds great. Customers pay a small amount to have their shipment insured, if something goes wrong Route handles it. Great right?
Well in theory yes it worked that way for a while. However I've had a few issues I needed to manually resolve with Route and after emailing them about 4 times to 3-4 different people there over the course of 1 entire month and not receiving ANY reply I must say their professionalism is completely lacking. What makes it more deeply concerning is I have found 2 orders in my store where Route has "placed an order" on my store for a customer who filed a "lost shipment claim". This is normal.......however what is not normal is Route placing that order for the customer and NOT PAYING FOR IT. Route is supposed to work in a simple way. Customer logs a claim for lost shipment and Route places an order on your store (and pays for that order) out of their own pocket because the customer paid for the Route must buy them a new product if its been lost.
I found on two occasions Route marked the new order as "paid" but actually it was just dashboard panel "paid" and no money actually exchanged hands. This basically means that Route was placing orders on my store and getting me to send products to customers FOR FREE (because route is supposed to pay us/me/the merchant) for the replacement order.
Thats exactly how insurance works. Something gets lost the insurance company pays. Route has been marking orders on my store as "paid" when they have paid me nothing, causing me to ship items to customers for free. This happened twice and they've been emailed about it many times and they've totally ignored the issue. Emailed 3 seperate staff members and no reply. Absolutely pathetic.

Developer reply

November 20, 2020

Hi there,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. I’m so sorry for any confusion caused, but I’d be happy to clarify. We have recently made an important automation update and that is likely why you’re noticing changes with how certain reorders are catalogued.

This update - Resolve via Platform (RVP) - eliminates the time, effort, and cost required to resolve customer issues with a replacement order or refund when the customer encounters order issues with lost, damaged, or stolen packages.

In terms of billing under this new system, Route still pays for qualifying refunds and reorders, and merchants will be credited/paid weekly by Route for all refunds and reorders. Although we've changed how we format reimbursements, Route still works as promised.

For more details on what RVP will mean for billing, read more here:

I hope this information helps, but please feel free to reach out to us with any other questions at and we’ll be happy to assist! I have notified our team to be on the lookout for any future emails.


Jordan, Customer Support


It's a good idea and I guess it gives customers confidence. Although I'm not sure how the claim process works since my customers didn't have to make a claim. My problem with Route is that they claim that the service is free, while it's not. The way it works is the customer adds to cart "Route package protection" as an insurance and basically adds that cost to the order. Then, Route charges me for that same cost, the merchant is just the middle man, in theory. But in reality, they don't take into account fees associated with the sale (shopify fee, paypal fee etc...). Which is a few cents per order. It might not seem a lot for 1 order but on thousands of orders it starts to add up. Moreover, it's not free as they advertise it, and they know it. When confronting support about it they tried to circumvent the problem saying it's "paypal's fault, contact paypal, it's your store's fault etc..." But it's not, it's the way the app works. At one point after all the evidence I brought and when they couldn't deny anymore, they just stopped responding, I deleted the app. The concept is good, but shady practices and poor customer service doesn't make me want to continue with them. Moreover after reading the last reviews, I'm happy I don't have to deal with them anymore. You shouldn't either.

Developer reply

November 20, 2020

Hi there,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback. My sincerest apologies for any frustration caused - I would feel very similarly.

In regards to the claims process, customers can report issues on any lost, stolen, or damaged Route-protected packages by following the link in their Route confirmation email or through the Route app. Step-by-step reporting instructions for your customers can be found here: If you ever need to file on behalf of your customers, please see this article:

In accordance with our policies, Route Package Protection is free for merchants and is available for purchase to customers on the cart page. However, please note that if you use any 3rd party platforms such as Shopify or PayPal, they may incur their own separate fees.

I hope this helps clarify your concerns. If you have received any questionable charges from us, or have any additional questions, please contact our as we’d love to assist and look into that further. I have flagged your feedback to our team who will be on the lookout for any future questions.


Jordan, Customer Support