Shopify Email , 1,313 reviews

Overall rating
4.3
Counts per rating level
  • 65% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 18% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its user-friendly interface, cost-effectiveness, and seamless integration with their stores. It's praised for its range of email templates and valuable analytics, including delivery, open, and click-through rates. The mass emailing feature is seen as a strong alternative to other services. However, some merchants suggest improvements such as advanced features, more template options, and font selections. A few have reported issues with email delivery. Its simplicity is viewed as both a strength and a limitation.

March 8, 2021

J'ai utilisé cette application pour faire la promotion de ma nouvelle collection. Je vais voir si ça porte c'est fruits.

NeedyMindSet™
France
About 3 years using the app
Edited September 11, 2020

3* because it works well, simple and quick but needs more templates to make it stand out and compete with the big apps for email marketing.
Hopefully this will come soon.

Expressive Shades
United Kingdom
Almost 3 years using the app
Shopify replied September 14, 2020

Hey there!

Amy here From Shopify. Thanks for taking the time to leave us this feedback! I would love to hear more about what you are looking for in a template so I can pass it along to my developers. I'll send you an email so we can open up communication!

Amy l Shopify

Edited October 5, 2020

I had a hard time using. For exemple there is no way to found how to automate a personalised name for each client of my list. I had also some trouble importing from my list from a .csv file even when using shopify .csv template.

MyRoyalFriend
Belgium
Over 2 years using the app
Shopify replied October 13, 2020

Hey there!

Claire here from Shopify Support. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm really sorry to hear of the struggles you were facing with getting the Shopify email app working for you.

I would love to talk to you further and better understand the issues you were facing to see what we can do on our end. I will send you an email to open up that line of communication!

Claire - Shopify

February 19, 2021

App is good, Working perfectly for me, but need more attractive email templates. Currently very few templates are availabe. Expecting better templates as per recent trends

AromaTreasures.com
India
About 2 years using the app
Shopify replied February 24, 2021

Hey there,

Claire here from Shopify. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I'm going to follow up with you in an email to open up the lines of communication here so I can see if I can help you any further with getting the app set up and working for your store and pass your feedback onto our developer team.

Claire l Shopify

October 1, 2020

First of all, hats off to you guys for seeing the need for shop owners having mass email capabilities. I like the templates and how they automatically sync to my shop's colors and that the product images are all there. I'd like to see this app be more robust though. I've been using and still have a ConvertKit subscription. I'm use to a few more bells and whistles, like the ability to add the tag that personalizes each email with the customer's name, the ability to segment my subscriber list easily and tailor my content to my customer's preferences, etc. The app is off to a great start. It just needs more enhancing.

The Natural Skincare Queen
United States
About 2 years using the app
Shopify replied October 2, 2020

Hey there,

Charlotte here from Shopify Support. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! Our team is consistently working to improve the app and add functionality to suit our merchants needs. I think the features you have mentioned are really great suggestions. I'm going to follow up with you over email to open up the lines of communication, and so I can provide your feedback to my team

Best,
Charlotte | Shopify Support

June 21, 2022

Very easy to use email builder. Horrible customer segmentation. Can't email people based on collection they did/did not purchase. Also can't email multiple segments at the same time.

Wildlife Tree
United States
Almost 2 years using the app
Shopify replied July 15, 2022

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you find the email builder to be easy to use, and appreciate your other pieces of feedback here. I'll be sure to pass those on to the app's developers for you. Thank you! - Brie, Shopify Support

December 30, 2022

It is really basic. Does not offer proper statis. Does not allow to remail to unopened and very few templates.

Fine Art by Ane
United States
Over 1 year using the app
Edited July 16, 2021

This app on the front in is very easy to create a nice customer email. But, on the back the analytics are not there -- delivered, opened, clicked is not what I would call analytics. Customer tracking of opens, not opens should be logged in the customer database so that you know who you should pay attention and who you should weed out. It doesn't even tell you which customer opened or clicked. Needs some work i.e. First Name fields should be available to insert to personalize.

GOVintage Jewelry and Collectibles
United States
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied July 30, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and for detailing your experience with Shopify Email thus far, and what improvements you'd like to see made. I can certainly appreciate that with email marketing campaigns, receiving data that pertains to the success of the campaign is key and that there is more that could be done here to make Shopify Email a better app from this stand point.

Shopify Email is still a relatively new app and I'm sure it will evolve over time as improvements are made. Merchant feedback has been welcomed by our development team since it launched and I will be sure to pass your comments and suggestions over to them. Thanks again for getting in touch. -Victor, Shopify Support

Edited February 1, 2023

The email builder can feel a bit wonky. For example it often gets no result when searching for a collection to add to a link and when you try to add a section using the "+" button next to a section it always gets added at the bottom of the page so you then need to reposition it. There's also a glitch that kicks you out of the editor and back to the main app page which happens pretty often. There's been no new updates since I original posted a review in May 2022 and the issues are still there. I'm reducing the star rating because it looks like Shopify won't be updating regularly. Would also be good to be able to have a "Show email in browser" button in emails.

Frames Footwear
New Zealand
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied June 13, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I'm glad to hear that you've made use of Shopify Email to connect with your customers. We appreciate the feedback that you've shared with us here and I will be sure to communicate your comments to our development team. -Victor, Shopify Support

October 7, 2020

Good help but... you can't edit and use again an already sent out campaign. Sometimes a campaign has great results and you can't replicate it (you have to design from 0). It could use some more templates.

La Tienda Cervecera
United States
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied October 13, 2020

Hey there,

Claire here from Shopify. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our team are consistently working to improve the app and add functionality to suit our Merchants needs. I'm going to follow up with you with an email to open up the lines of communication here so I can provide your feedback to my team.

Claire l Shopify