Shopify Email , 1,267 reviews

Overall rating
4.3
Counts per rating level
  • 64% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 18% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this free, user-friendly app for its seamless integration with Shopify stores and valuable analytics. They value the ability to customize email templates and insert products into emails, reporting increased conversion rates. However, some have faced issues with email delivery and glitches when sending to large lists. The app lacks advanced customization and doesn't support segmentation over 1,000. Merchants suggest improvements like more font options, in-app photo editing, and social media integration.

May 12, 2023

Après avoir travailler plusieurs heures sur plusieurs email, je me suis rendu compte qu'on ne pouvait pas traduire ... Très déçue !

Bulle et Ballon
Canada
About 5 hours using the app
January 12, 2023

Simple app that is fairly user-friendly, but is quite glitchy. It jumbles up letters while I am typing, and the screen sometimes gets stuck and I can't scroll down - have to reload the page.

Honest Toys
South Africa
Over 3 years using the app
Shopify replied February 27, 2023

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. This is something we would like to investigate further with you and attempt some troubleshooting steps. Please connect with us using this direct link: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Olivia, Shopify Support

February 19, 2021

App is good, Working perfectly for me, but need more attractive email templates. Currently very few templates are availabe. Expecting better templates as per recent trends

AromaTreasures.com
India
About 3 years using the app
Shopify replied February 24, 2021

Hey there,

Claire here from Shopify. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I'm going to follow up with you in an email to open up the lines of communication here so I can see if I can help you any further with getting the app set up and working for your store and pass your feedback onto our developer team.

Claire l Shopify

March 8, 2021

J'ai utilisé cette application pour faire la promotion de ma nouvelle collection. Je vais voir si ça porte c'est fruits.

NeedyMindSet™
France
About 3 years using the app
Edited September 11, 2020

3* because it works well, simple and quick but needs more templates to make it stand out and compete with the big apps for email marketing.
Hopefully this will come soon.

Expressive Shades
United Kingdom
Almost 3 years using the app
Shopify replied September 14, 2020

Hey there!

Amy here From Shopify. Thanks for taking the time to leave us this feedback! I would love to hear more about what you are looking for in a template so I can pass it along to my developers. I'll send you an email so we can open up communication!

Amy l Shopify

October 7, 2020

Good help but... you can't edit and use again an already sent out campaign. Sometimes a campaign has great results and you can't replicate it (you have to design from 0). It could use some more templates.

La Tienda Cervecera
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Shopify replied October 13, 2020

Hey there,

Claire here from Shopify. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our team are consistently working to improve the app and add functionality to suit our Merchants needs. I'm going to follow up with you with an email to open up the lines of communication here so I can provide your feedback to my team.

Claire l Shopify

Edited October 5, 2020

I had a hard time using. For exemple there is no way to found how to automate a personalised name for each client of my list. I had also some trouble importing from my list from a .csv file even when using shopify .csv template.

MyRoyalFriend
Belgium
Over 2 years using the app
Shopify replied October 13, 2020

Hey there!

Claire here from Shopify Support. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm really sorry to hear of the struggles you were facing with getting the Shopify email app working for you.

I would love to talk to you further and better understand the issues you were facing to see what we can do on our end. I will send you an email to open up that line of communication!

Claire - Shopify

October 1, 2020

First of all, hats off to you guys for seeing the need for shop owners having mass email capabilities. I like the templates and how they automatically sync to my shop's colors and that the product images are all there. I'd like to see this app be more robust though. I've been using and still have a ConvertKit subscription. I'm use to a few more bells and whistles, like the ability to add the tag that personalizes each email with the customer's name, the ability to segment my subscriber list easily and tailor my content to my customer's preferences, etc. The app is off to a great start. It just needs more enhancing.

The Natural Skincare Queen
United States
About 2 years using the app
Shopify replied October 2, 2020

Hey there,

Charlotte here from Shopify Support. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! Our team is consistently working to improve the app and add functionality to suit our merchants needs. I think the features you have mentioned are really great suggestions. I'm going to follow up with you over email to open up the lines of communication, and so I can provide your feedback to my team

Best,
Charlotte | Shopify Support

December 30, 2022

It is really basic. Does not offer proper statis. Does not allow to remail to unopened and very few templates.

Fine Art by Ane
United States
Over 1 year using the app
October 24, 2020

I like it bit wish there was more options for email templates and that the emails didnt show so narrow.

Finn & Everly LLC
United States
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied October 27, 2020

Hey there,

Charlotte here from Shopify Support. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our team is consistently working to improve the app and add functionality to suit our merchants needs. I'm going to follow up with you with an email, to open up the lines of communication here, so I can provide your feedback to my team.

Best,
Charlotte | Shopify Support