Shopify Email , 1,325 reviews

Overall rating
4.3
Counts per rating level
  • 65% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 18% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its user-friendly interface, cost-effectiveness, and seamless integration with their stores. It's praised for its range of email templates and valuable analytics, including delivery, open, and click-through rates. The mass emailing feature is seen as a strong alternative to other services. However, some merchants suggest improvements such as advanced features, more template options, and font selections. A few have reported issues with email delivery. Its simplicity is viewed as both a strength and a limitation.

Edited May 29, 2020

This is a very good and fast way to send out marketing emails. Unfortunately, most of our clients are using spf and dmarc and our mail servers use those mechanism as well to block phishing emails, therefore, anything sent from here will be categorized as spam or sent to junk folder or rejected. Due to mail security reasons, Shopify and any similar app providers shall provide the users a way to use their own mail server to send out mails. Sendgrids and many other mass mailing servers are being abused by hackers to steal money from bigger corporations by faking the email from or misleading from and messages...etc.

Master Air Tool Ltd Co
United States
4 months using the app
Shopify replied June 3, 2020

Hey there,

Amy here from Shopify. I appreciate the feedback. I completely understand the concern of your messages being flagged by mail providers as junk or spam. You want your messages delivered! I'm going to send you an email and open up the lines of communication here so I can get all of your feedback off to my development team.

Amy l Shopify

September 28, 2020

Very easy to use. Was able to setup the email in just a few seconds. Can't wait to use this in the future to stay in contact with my customers.

La Belle Tiffy
United States
4 months using the app
Shopify replied September 29, 2020

Hey there!

Charlotte here from Shopify Support. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on the Shopify Email app. I would be happy to follow up with you and help you get started with using and getting the most out of this app! I will send you an email so that we can chat further. Also keep in mind, anytime you need support, you can click on the "Get Support" button in the top right corner of the Shopify Email app. This will send your request/question directly to our support team.

Charlotte | Shopify

April 24, 2020

I thought it was going to replace platforms like Klaviyo and Omnisend, but I can only send out an email campaign. No automation, no triggers, just campaigns. Like what Mailchimp was back in 2002...

Funky Moose Records
Canada
3 months using the app
Shopify replied April 27, 2020

Hey there!

Amy here from Shopify. I wanted to take a minute to follow up with you and thank you for your feedback. We love hearing from our Merchants with feedback that can help us to improve. I'm going to send you an email to open up the lines of communication and see how I can help.

Amy l Shopify

November 26, 2020

I can't completely rate the app until I actually use it. But i do like the fact that you can send mass emails all in one.

SavageBody
United States
3 months using the app
Shopify replied November 26, 2020

Hey there,

Charlotte here from Shopify Support. Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Shopify Email app with us. I am glad to hear you are liking the app so far!
I'm going to follow up with you in an email, to open up the lines of communication here so I can share some helpful resources to help get you started with email campaigns, and answer any questions you may have about the app.

Best,
Charlotte | Shopify

October 5, 2020

I really love that Shopify has added this app for us to use straight from our Shopify Admin. It is pretty easy to use and since it is new I don't expect it to have all the bells and whistles that the other email marketing apps offer. However, I don't use this app much because it does not offer email automation which is a huge need for my business. I find myself still using my other email apps for the automation process. If Shopify could add this feature, I would switch over for sure! I think the pricing is fair and the convenience is optimal.

Neptune Athletics
United States
3 months using the app
Shopify replied October 13, 2020

Hey there,

Claire here from Shopify. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our team are consistently working to improve the app and add functionality to suit our Merchants needs. I'm going to follow up with you with an email to open up the lines of communication here so I can provide your feedback to my team.

Claire l Shopify

July 4, 2020

Easy to set up but very limited options. I can't even exclude a tagged group from the list, such as 'wholesale' tag.
Hoping it would improve shortly.

Bento Ninja
New Zealand
2 months using the app
Shopify replied July 7, 2020

Hey there!

Amy here from Shopify, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I can see the benefit of being able to exclude certain customers/groups based on tag. I'll send this off to my developers. I'm also going to send you an email just to open up the communication with you and see if you have anything else to add.

Amy l Shopify

June 28, 2020

This is a great idea by Shopify and I have no doubt that Shopify will improve this app and hopefully quickly because Shopify has been a great experience for me so far.

iVogue Store
Mauritius
2 months using the app
Shopify replied July 7, 2020

Hey there!

Amy here from Shopify, I'm happy to hear your initial positive thoughts. I would love to hear more about how you think the app can be improved so I can pass that information along to my developers. I'm going to send you an email so we can get that conversation going!

Amy l Shopify

October 18, 2020

The app seems easy to use, however I'd love to see more basic features like the ability to resize the product sessions/images. And there doesn't seem to be a function to automate sending out emails, e.g. the welcome email upon subscription?

TINICOTERIE
United Kingdom
2 months using the app
Shopify replied October 21, 2020

Hi there, Amy here from Shopify. Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We love to hear from our Merchants, that is how we improve! Im going to send you an email so I can gather all of your thoughts and send it off to my developers.

Amy l Shopify

January 11, 2023

It doesn't support many languages, the templates are very simple but I get it, it's a free app after all. However, the inability to choose the customers to whom I want to send a specific email with an advertisement is a failure. You can only use customer segments (which are set automatically, cannot be edited and are pointless). Also the application may be free but very average. Lack of support - despite several months of use, I do not know how to contact support.

DOGONI
Poland
About 2 months using the app
Shopify replied February 27, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. To create new or custom segments, you can do so from your *Admin > Customers* section. Furthermore, since this app is developed by Shopify, our regular support channels can assist. Reach out on this page by choosing "Get Support" or use this direct link: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Olivia, Shopify Support

November 29, 2020

I love that this is now an option with my shopify subscription! I would love to see more templates and design options. It is pretty user friendly. My only complaint with the template that I used is that it wouldn't let me change the color on one of the designs.

Lavender Lemon Nails
United States
About 1 month using the app
Shopify replied December 7, 2020

Hey there,

Charlotte here from Shopify Support. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our team is consistently working to improve the app and add functionality to suit our merchants needs. I'm going to follow up with you with an email, to open up the lines of communication here, so I can provide your feedback to my team.

Best,
Charlotte | Shopify Support