Point of Sale , 500 reviews

Overall rating
4.1
Counts per rating level
  • 50% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 23% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its user-friendly interface, seamless integration with online platforms, and efficient inventory management. They value its ability to handle large inventory SKUs, high transaction volumes, and multiple locations. Key features like "Save Cart", barcode scanning, and order history review are praised. The app's functionality in pop-up markets and its management of both items and services in-store and online are well-regarded. Merchants also commend its cash payment handling, data collection, customer service, inventory replenishment, and discount management capabilities.

March 20, 2020

Terrible app. The worst for us being that you cannot increase prices when selling in store and therefore have to give away money. Online prices are usually less due to the overheads. In store we need to charge more and the app doesn't allow you to increase the price thus we lose money on each instore sale. Could be fixed so easily by the guys in tech! SO for me, you get one star.

Waller BMX
United Kingdom
About 1 month using the app
Edited December 15, 2020

A core app for any retail except greedy Shopify wants you to pay a very basic feature: exchanges… Yes, you can’t create an exchange with the free version of this application. Another basic feature that they want you to pay for is to put your own logo on receipts. Also, the app won’t sync your products sometimes.

MODA Venice
United States
About 1 month using the app
November 2, 2019

The app updated on the 31st of October. Can no longer sync with my store on my Android. This is a horrible situation.

Furr Baby Luv
United States
About 1 month using the app
July 30, 2021

Greedy garbage. No features on purpose because they think that this will surely entice you to pay an exuberant monthly fee. You have to enter credit card numbers manually digit by digit (no camera) because in addition to the subscription fee, the monthly POS fee, AND Shopify dipping into your sales for CC processing... oh, they *JUST HAVE* to also get you on a $29 card reader, an unnecessary piece of hardware shipped by mail. It's like a test to see how far they can go in establishing an abusive relationship. Yuck, yuck yuck. No thanks

Perrystead Dairy
United States
About 1 month using the app
April 6, 2018

Online and POS might as well be from 2 different companies. Other than inventory and customer, they don't behave the same. Couldn't find any Apps from the app store that worked on POS (and if they do, there's no easy way to find the apps that work on both). Their online solution is ok when coupled with the 3rd party apps of the app store but they shouldn't promote themselves as being cross-channel...they're not even close.

Kc Chiefs Store
United States
29 days using the app
April 5, 2023

Do not use this app if:
You deal with a lot of customers a day, this will add minutes to every transaction just adding barcoded items to the cart because it doesn't do it automatically once a product is scanned.

You have lots of products with variants that you have to rely on checking the SKU a lot because they don't have barcodes, or the differences are not obvious in the title or photo. The SKU and barcode is not visible on the first screen when searching for a product. You have to click on each product variant to see the SKU number. Bummer if you don't pick the right one on the first or second try.

˜

Sadly, I really enjoy stocky so now I'm stuck with POSpro because they don't do them separately and now, I have to pay for another POS app on top of it. Sigh..

Note to the Shopify retail team: I suggest you pop into a couple of stores that use this app and process transactions for half a day at each, you will soon realise how frustrating it is.

Also, why is POS not available on a web browser? We all have computers already, why are you forcing people to have to buy another piece of hardware?!

Mollies Make And Create
New Zealand
28 days using the app
Shopify replied May 16, 2023

Dear Mollies Make And Create, thank you for leaving your feedback. We appreciate your concerns and would like to address them:

- We have received feedback from many merchants about the SKU not showing in the product detail. Our developers have added the SKU section to the product page in their latest update.

- We also received feedback about the barcode scanner and have sent it to our developers for consideration. If a product has multiple variants, the scanner will bring up a list so you can choose which variant you want to add.

- At the moment, Stocky is only available for the Pro Plan as part of the feature. However, Shopify now has a section to create POs from the admin without any additional fees.

- We appreciate your feedback about having our POS work on a computer. At the moment, our system can only be used on a device and cannot support working on a computer.

May 19, 2021

awful service. Downloaded as per advise from Shopify who hosts our website. 2 weeks later they have removed loads of simple features like daily takings report & asking £89 a month. So the classic is basically useless. Will be looking for a new website provider & pos system that isn't a rip off

relishlifestyle
United Kingdom
23 days using the app
February 18, 2021

The most basic functionality required for a serviceable POS system has been removed in the latest version, and is not even available on the Pro plan. Particularly baffling was the decision to remove the ability to create a new product from the POS app. This now has to be done by switching between different apps. When an item doesn't scan and you have a queue of customers waiting, you need to be able to process an ad hoc sale quickly. Shopify's solution is to perform a Custom Sale. Unfortunately, there's no way to allocate a cost to the Custom Sale, either at the time or after the fact, so the system assumes a 100% profit margin. Not good for reporting. If you have a physical shop, steer clear.

Alpsport
Australia
17 days using the app
November 30, 2019

We would switch our 4 locations to Shopify POS (we use Shopify for our online sales) but they still do not offer fractional quantities so we can sell items by weight. Many other iPad POS systems offer this feature. I have put in a feature request for several years but no offerings yet. There is a new add on App that will allow fractional quantities but it loads too slow to use it. The add on apps in Shopify POS are very slow to load. We need to check out our customers quicker.

Bow Hill Blueberries
United States
11 days using the app
January 16, 2021

First off is you run Android at all (like most of the world does) don't bother with this absolute trash system. The level of glitches and headache you will incur is on another level. At this point I'm looking to move from Shopify entirely as it's one of the worst at every aspect of E-Commerce or POS.

Soda Pop Bros
Canada
10 days using the app