Point of Sale , 500 reviews

Overall rating
4.1
Counts per rating level
  • 50% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 23% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its user-friendly interface, seamless integration with online platforms, and efficient inventory management. They value its ability to handle large inventory SKUs, high transaction volumes, and multiple locations. Key features like "Save Cart", barcode scanning, and order history review are praised. The app's functionality in pop-up markets and its management of both items and services in-store and online are well-regarded. Merchants also commend its cash payment handling, data collection, customer service, inventory replenishment, and discount management capabilities.

Edited August 8, 2023

Another Update: still awful and now the only card reader option is the tap & chip which disconnects constantly. Lots of typing in card numbers and restarting ipads going on on top of the horrible POS.

Update: Still awful. There is an update just about every day and it is even worse than it was to start with.

One year in, and I STILL HATE this POS. Clunky and hard to navigate through those stupid tiles, and no updates to the design at all. UPDATE: This is still a horribly designed POS system. The user experience clearly was not tested in the real world. And now they have changed the inventory management to be even worse. Of course you can always pay them more money to get some of those old very basic features back. SCAM This app used to be great. The new update is TERRIBLE!!! The "lite" version is missing basic every day functions- cant do exchanges anymore, employees cant log in, and they lay out is just bad and confusing. All this is here for now is to squeeze and extra $80 out of you. Real shame. Looking into alternatives to shopify now. Update: Months later and ZERO improvements have been made. Still horrible. Shopify is still ignoring all the negative feedback they are getting. More 1 star reviews than 5 and 4 star reviews combined, haha. Wake up!

The Rivertown Inkery
United States
Over 8 years using the app
April 27, 2021

WARNING FOR THOSE WHO ACCEPT INTERAC DEBIT! Shopify has now disabled support for the Moneris External PIN PAD, meaning those Canadian clients who accept INTERAC DEBIT can no longer provide PIN pad access (for entering PIN #s to their clients). PIN#s now have to be entered using the iPad or iPhone device, which in the time of COVID is a health risk, especially if the iPad is behind your counter (bye bye social distance). The only way an INTERAC user can complete their transaction is through the new CHIP and PIN reader, via TAP, but TAP transactions have $100 limits, meaning if you sell anything over $100 (like we do ALL the time), the client cannot pay for it with INTERAC. It is insane that a Canadian founded and Canadian based company, cannot integrate properly with a very popular Canadian payment method??? Added to this, Shopify has taken what used to be an included free feature (POS functionality), and made it an $80 USD paid feature per month, this is insane! And as you can see by all the 1 star reviews, that $80 USD per month is buying you a worse experience! Shopify has lost a lot of high executives over the past few weeks (they have all left), it seems they are losing their way with innovation and user experience as well, a shame to see what was a core strength with Shopify (Shopify POS), turn into what may lead to their downfall.

Lockdown Security
Canada
About 8 years using the app
June 27, 2023

Can't edit custom products once you add it to the order, you have to delete the custom product and add it again.
Needs a Windows or Web version. We need to use a desktop computer in our shop for different reasons and we have to run this app through Bluestacks (and it runs horrible) because there's no Windows native version. I cannot connect a card reader to it and neither a barcode scanner because Bluestacks doesn't support Bluetooth. What's so hard to make a Windows native app on the store? Many others would jump ship to Shopify POS if they wouldn't have to use space (maybe on a little desk) with an iPad next to their computer. It's so much more comfortable to use it with a keyboard and mouse when you have to type customer's name and custom products.

androidez
Spain
About 6 years using the app
Shopify replied July 21, 2023

Hello androidez, thank you for submitting your feedback on this. I understand you are looking to make edits to custom products and use your POS app on a desktop computer running Windows OS.

At the moment, this is definitely a limitation for our Point of Sale app. We would definitely recommend using one of our supported devices on iOS or Android. Our POS app is supported on iOS 13 or higher. Alternatively, you may use a device running Andorid OS 7.0 or higher.

In the meantime, I have gone ahead and submitted feedback to our team about this and I would recommend checking out the Shopify Changelog for any future updates.

November 30, 2020

All the features on the POS PRO (Upper-tier subscription service) are completely unnecessary for the POS system and can be accessed through the Shopify back-end on a laptop or desktop computer.
However, Exchanges are completely necessary and are not included in the free version. Wouldn't mind, but you can also only preform an exchange on a transaction once - if a customer tries to exchange an item they've already exchanged they are unable to do so. The price for this subscription should be at best $30 CAD a month. $120 CAD a month is an absolute robbery. Does Shopify not have enough money already?

Old Faithful Shop
Canada
About 7 years using the app
September 24, 2019

Don't bother with Shopify or it's point of sale. If something breaks they send you through hoops and redundant test that haven't worked the three other times they had you do it. They avoid replacing their guaranteed products. You are then stuck with a store that can't take credit cards or buy a new one. They were good a years ago, but have fallen. Find another online avenue and find another pos. HORRIBLE. They will just stop answering your emails when they can't fix something. Won't get back to you. Facebook app is a joke. Read before buying into shopify.

Blueberí Lane
United States
About 7 years using the app
July 14, 2022

This app went from bad to worse after the recent update a few weeks ago. We waste so much time getting the card reader to connect, and when it does connect, it only works for a few minutes at a time making us waste time doing manual entry. Also, I wish this app had more useful features for vendors in general. We are a clothing store so we don't use the "Enable Tips" feature. However, I wish that was replaced with a more useful feature where I can add marketing reminders for staff to remember when doing checkout for example "Don't forget to ask for customer's phone #" or "Ask for a Google review" etc...

MY ROYAL CLOSET
United States
Over 6 years using the app
Shopify replied February 6, 2023

Hello MY ROYAL CLOSET, I am sorry to hear you had an issue with your card reader and I hope you were able to get it resolved. Regarding the "enable tip" feature, I am happy to mention that the POS have a way to collect tips now, you can read more about this feature in this link- [Collecting tips with the Shopify POS](https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/sell-in-person/shopify-pos/tips?utm_source=gurucopy&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=Gurus#undefined). As for the notification tab, I'll let our Reviews Team here know about your review. They look into feedback from merchants and consider it for use on our platform.

July 23, 2023

Malheureusement la version gratuite est très maigre. Pourtant elle est partie intégrante de l'abonnement (pas gratuit du tout )

CréaRomans
France
Almost 4 years using the app
April 20, 2021

Shopify is incorrectly charging 3x the correct sales tax rate and refuses to fix it after three weeks. Shopify is fraudulently collecting extra fees.

Olympic Outdoor Center
United States
About 6 years using the app
November 4, 2020

Shopify PRO has been the worst update I have seen for any product. Important features like Add/Remove funds in the cash reguster has stopped working. Paying extra money to get something worse. Pathetic

Umm Al Salsal Trading Flowers & Indoor Plants
United Arab Emirates
Almost 6 years using the app
Edited February 18, 2016

Do not use this as your POS at any cost. It does not work to run a business at ALL! they do not record COG sales, you can not run a sales report by vendor for consignment, you cannot do an exchange!! I mean an exchange? This is retail 101. If you issue a store credit it does not track it...so it just goes into the universe with nothing attached to it. Their suggestion was to write store credits down in a book for our reference. Why in 2015 can you not attach a store credit to the customer that it belongs to???

It does not create sku's and yu cannot print stickers directly from the POS. You have to use a 3rd party app....which is just as difficult and slow.

Tracking and adjusting inventory is archaic and difficult. And does not give you a cost adjustment of LOS.

It's as if no-one that works at shopify has EVER worked in retail.

DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I MADE. DO NOT USE THIS FOR YOUR STORE POS. FOR ONLINE ITS FINE.

1/15/16**** FOR TWO WEEKS I WAS UNABLE TO PRINT TAGS BECUASE THE SOFTWARE WENT DOWN

2/15/16****THE CREDIT CARD JACK I PURCHASED FROM THEM---ONLY LASTED 4 MONTHS- THEY WOULD NOT REPLACE - AND THEY ARE BACK ORDERED FOR A MONTH- SO NOW I HAVE TO WAIT A MONTH TO GET A NEW CREDIT CARD PROCESSOR....AND HAVE TO HAND KEY IN EVERY TRANSACTION.

Belljar3 0
United States
11 months using the app