Reviews (725)

Overall rating
4.1
Counts per rating level
  • 72% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 12% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its easy-to-use interface, seamless integration, and swift product creation. They value the extensive range of customizable products and high-quality prints. The app's customer service is noted for its responsiveness and efficiency, with fast fulfillment and shipping times also commended. Merchants also highlight the competitive pricing and sustainability efforts. A key feature is the customer design tool.

May 23, 2024

Please save ur time. I did try to order a sample order. Returned to sender, no email, no refund. If they don’t reply I will dispute it with my bank. Phone number never reachable, customer service that replies after 3 days like what is this? I prefer to spend more but to get a better service

Blvck Toxxine Official Merchandise
United Kingdom
About 1 month using the app
SPOD - Spreadshirt Print On Demand replied May 27, 2024

Hello Blvck Toxxine Official Merchandise,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any delay in replies from our customer service team. Please note that our customer service is available to address your concerns from Monday to Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m (EST).
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we appreciate your patience.

Best,
Sabrina
SPOD Team
Integration Manger

January 14, 2024

I have used Spreadshirt in the past. Generally very happy with them. I thought I'd try their Shopify app.

Ouch. Setting up shipping is ridiculously complex! You have to manually copy and paste hundreds of prices to cover all the rates, options, order totals etc for all the countries - maybe setting up to a thousand options to cover global distribution. And also every time the prices change, redo them all manually. That is beyond belief!

"Keep it simple with SPOD" is their tag: I almost feel like this is an April Fool's joke when I see that comment.

All the pricing for shipping should be maintained by SPOD as part of the app/Shopify integration, not foisted on users. I also use Bookvault and they do it automatically - I didn't have to do anything except connect the app to Shopify. All the shipping is maintained, calculated and updated by Bookvault, as it should be. It is always up to date. They don't expect users to create hundreds of options (and continually update them). Really, SPOD needs to set the app up properly, because this is unwieldy, over-complex, and shifting a task onto every Shopify-SPOD user rather than just doing it once centrally.

I'm surprised this doesn't get mentioned more.

Oh, also - when settign up you have to choose EU printing or US. You can't have both, and orders don't ship from the nearest place to the customer - only from the one you pick at the start. So global coverage means high shipping prices for half your customers. Again, they could have done it properly like BookVault (it prints in US for US customers and nearby, UK for UK and Europe - all done automatically).

I'll uninstall SPOD and close my account, this has been a waste of time.

Karl Drinkwater
United Kingdom
14 days using the app
SPOD - Spreadshirt Print On Demand replied January 19, 2024

Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback. For SPOD with Shopify, the shipping set up is done directly through your Shopify settings. With the Shopify settings you can set up free shipping on your store, you can create your own shipping rates, or you can match our 3 shipping rates as well. SPOD offers Standard, Premium and Express shipping options for simplicity. For merchants who choose to match our shipping rates we do provide a shipping calculator and related articles with instructions on setting up your shipping as well. You can find our article 'How do I configure my shipping rates for Shopify?' here: https://faq.spod.com/hc/en-us/articles/360020928319-How-can-I-configure-my-shipping-rates-for-Shopify

March 31, 2022

I've been using this app for about a year and for the most part it was a good experience. I have 3 different businesses and have 3 different accounts, including one attached to a Shopify store. We've ordered around 100 tees, totes, and other products. We've had some inconsistent print quality issues with totes and shirts. But the most frustrating thing is that since their latest update their site won't take any of my credit cards or debit cards for payment. Citibank, Capital One, US Bank , Paypal - I've tried nine different cards and nothing is working in any of my accounts. This problem has been going on for over a week and I have several t-shirt orders waiting to be placed and this problem has not been rectified in spite of several conversations with customer service. I've enjoyed how easy SPOD is to use and hate that I am going to have to find another service to use due to the payment issues I'm suddenly having.

Bentonville Copy and Ship
United States
Over 2 years using the app
SPOD - Spreadshirt Print On Demand replied April 5, 2022

Hello,

Thank you for this complete and detailed review. I'm sorry to hear about your problems with your credit card validation. Indeed, the world of eCommerce is experiencing a growing number of frauds and to protect both ourselves and those who work with us, we have had to increase our level of security. The validation of payment methods is therefore much stricter.
Concerning your situation, I was able to find your merchant file with this email address as the main reference: print@copyandship.net
To help you authenticate your payment method, can you send an email from this address to msta@spreadshirt.net mentioning your issue as well as your profile info and confirming that it is indeed the email address that you use for your print on demand business. We might be able to unlock the situation then.

Sincerely yours,
Your SPOD Team

Edited May 15, 2023

EDIT: Customer service unresponsive to email. If you call, they'll answer, but they'll tell you they're unable to take care of pretty much anything over the phone and that you should email. It's a never ending loop of not being able to access the services they promise to provide.

I've been using SPOD for a little over a year. In the last month, their production times have increased significantly (orders will sit for a week before printing) and their customer service response time has dropped as well (one of my inquiries never even got a response). Seems like something on the back end isn't working. I'll be looking for a new POD provider asap. :/

Arrows Aim Greenhouse & Supply Co.
United States
Over 2 years using the app
SPOD - Spreadshirt Print On Demand replied April 27, 2022

Hi Arrows Aim Greenhouse & Supply Co.

Thank you for that honest feedback. This is definitely not the kind of experience we want you to have with us. Our production time hasn't increased since a year ago, but the problem could be related to something else in your account or with the order itself.
I would love to help you out personally, to make sure we can resolve any issues there may be. I will contact you per email.

Sincerely
Jean-Michel from SPOD

February 12, 2021

Great prices, but everything is CONSTANTLY going out of stock, especially in the top selling Large and XL sizes. I don't understand why SPOD is always short on qtys for the most common sizes.

Support A Local Trail
United States
Over 1 year using the app
SPOD - Spreadshirt Print On Demand replied February 18, 2021

Hi, Support A Local Trail.

Thank you for reviewing our App.

I'm not certain which product you are referring to, but we are doing our best to keep our inventory full. As we just came out of the peak season, January & February are always a bit more tricky, since we have to replenish everything that was sold in November and December. However, most items should be back in stock by the end of the month.

Thank you again and have a great day!

December 2, 2021

While this was my most reliable POD app with amazing customer service and super fast processing, I can see they've fallen apart as of late, and it's costing me business. My payment method that was saved had been compromised, so I had to cancel the card. I have been unable to add a new card for days now, and the best their customer care has is "You need to wait 24 hours before adding another card." 1) This has never been the case in the past and 2) no business has 24 hours of stoppage to give in the holiday season (and at this point, it's actually going to be 4 or 5 days). Their processing times have slowed significantly, and I have an order I've been waiting for for some time that had a label created the 29th and still hasn't shipped. Reliability-wise, I implore you to trust another POD for your holiday orders, as I've already had to refund 2 and I have a LOT sitting in queue that I'm not sure how to handle. They were honestly the fastest, most reliable service I had ever used, but I cannot overlook the inaccuracies in some of my orders, nor the slow down in processing. I certainly cannot wait days for their system to accept a payment. The fact you can't just add your payment at checkout like a normal site when issues are occurring with saving one is baffling to me.

Laser is as Laser Does
United States
Over 1 year using the app
SPOD - Spreadshirt Print On Demand replied December 3, 2021

Hi Laser is as Laser Does,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you had problems with the payment method and processing time. I am in the process of investigating and checking further into the situation to fix it as soon as possible. We will stay in touch to make sure you are up and running.

Sincerely,
Your SPOD Team

December 28, 2021

Normally, I have no issues with my SPOD store, but today was different. I could not access anything on my store at all from Shopify. I called and the person who took my call assured me that the "technical" issue will be addressed and fixed shortly. It is now 11:16 pm EST and there has been no change and no follow-up. I am disappointed at this point. I don't know if my customers can place orders. ...very disappointed.

S&S Empowerment Apparel
United States
Over 1 year using the app
SPOD - Spreadshirt Print On Demand replied January 3, 2022

Hi S&S Empowerment Apparel ,

Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for the technical issue we faced on the 28th of December. We worked as hard as we could to fix it as quickly as possible. It was resolved shortly after you posted your review. I hope everything is running smoothly again for you.

If it isn't, please don't hesitate to contact us again so we can work with you into finding a solution.

Sincerely,
Your SPOD Team

Edited September 28, 2019

So far I can only review the product design process for my store. I would like to use SPOD but product setup will be too much effort. A White T with Black writing has to be created in one product and then a Black T with the same writing in White has to be another product. It is a too big a job to then manually consolidate into variants in Shopify especially with many products. This is a simple 101 facility that other companies have as standard. Unfortunately the latest released design edit facility appears to do something different. Robert, regarding your reply, the simple solution is to make the feature available so that shops can either use it or not, depending on their needs

Jellyi ... Sweetest Deals
Australia
Over 1 year using the app
SPOD - Spreadshirt Print On Demand replied September 23, 2019

Thank you very much for your input. We are working continuously on improving our service and are aware of the problem. So far, we did not find a solution that works for shops that want to have the design color switched and shops that do not want to have this.
It will take some time to find a solution that is beneficial for all scenarios.

Kind regards
Robert

June 12, 2020

I have gotten three samples from SPOD and on one, the color was faint and streaky, like a printer running out of ink. Another sample I ordered was very poor print quality and the colors were dull. My image was not sharp. The reason I gave them two stars instead of one is because the third sample came out decent and potentially sellable. I'm not sure if it's because production is currently being sent to other printing companies to keep up with their fulfillment demand during the COVID-19 pandemic, but the results have not been to my liking. I ended up choosing a local printer to fulfill my demand and they came out AMAZING. I will try a different drop shipper to fulfill orders in the future.

Modish Life x Style
United States
About 1 year using the app
SPOD - Spreadshirt Print On Demand replied June 12, 2020

Hello Modish Life x Style,

We are sorry to hear that the prints did not come out as expected, if you contact support@spod.com with the images of the products we would be more than happy to refund the orders.
With the nature of print-on-demand and DTG printing, it can be that a very small number of prints do not come out as expected, still this should be not be the case.
It is great to hear you are now supporting a local business, and we wish you all the luck for your business in the future.

April 22, 2020

spod has so much potential, love the idea of the customizer tool unfortunately the mobile version of it is beyond horrific. spod made recent changes to it and totally ruined a good thing, new version is impossible to navigate as said by customers and experts. when i reached out to spod on this it took them 2 weeks to finally give me an answer that its not intended for mobile (despite this being 65% of ecomm sales). there initial version of the mobile customizer was great, its a shame they wont restore that version for me despite me asking repeatedly, might be better off with a different pod supplier and third party customizer app

Meme Wears
Canada
12 months using the app
SPOD - Spreadshirt Print On Demand replied April 22, 2020

Hi Meme Wears,

Yes we spoke about length about this via e-mail. Our conclusion was to not make individual changes for your specific use case, this contradicts what other people like about the mobile version of the tool, and we are looking to find a solution for everyone.
We decided once we have completed our expansion to Europe, we will be conducting a full review of the mobile version of the Customizer to try and find a version that benefits as many use cases as possible.
We hope that if you check back in the future there will be a version that suits the needs for all SPOD users.