Reviews (951)

Overall rating
4.6
Counts per rating level
  • 71% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 20% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this free app for its ability to translate online stores into multiple languages, potentially broadening their customer base. It offers both automatic and manual translation of words, URLs, Meta titles, and descriptions, and supports different images for each language for SEO. Many find it efficient in creating multilingual websites and praise the responsive support team. However, some merchants wish for more automatic translations and an increase in the auto-translating limit from 2 to 5 languages.

December 14, 2022

I think the result of auto-translation is quite acceptable. But not having the option to select multiple or all products to translate at once is painful, especially when you have 100+ products to translate into more than 1 languages..
And also not sure what happens when a product description or any content is updated?

the Atelier H
China
4 months using the app
Shopify replied December 14, 2022

Hi there, thanks for trying out the app. Stores can be translated entirely in one go, and unedited auto-translations will update if the default content is updated.

The Translate & Adapt Team

Edited March 8, 2023

I changed languages. But I cannot change default languages for automatic translation. After I discussed with app team. I can reset program but it still need progress of many parts.

EmpressKorea
South Korea
2 months using the app
Edited June 14, 2023

ONLY 2 LANGUAGES?? IS THERE ANY WAY TO TRANSLATE MORE LANGUAGES EVEN MANUALLY? THIS IS WAYYYYYY TOO LITTLE..

cutiesss.com
Italy
About 2 months using the app
Shopify replied June 14, 2023

You can manually translate up to 20 languages manually which is the Shopify limit for no. of languages. The limit of 2 languages is only related to the use of auto-translate.

Edited September 15, 2022

Good, but it lacks some important features:
1. Export/import specific content for CSV/Excel: for example the possibility to export/import ONLY the products or ONLY the collections or ONLY specific metafields or ONLY the theme sections, etc.
2. Add "Name" or "Namespace and key" in the metafield export file (it is impossible to filter specific metafields if you do not name them in the spreadsheet)
3. Move translations between themes (Theme Sections and Theme Assets)
4. Apps text translations

Ghidini 1849
Italy
About 2 months using the app
Shopify replied September 15, 2022

Hi there, thanks so much for trying the app and your feedback.
1. From Settings > Languages you can export and import a CSV. You can delete any rows you don't want to upload, so you can import a resource type at a time. Export by resource is coming.
2. This is helpful feedback. It's a limitation from outside our app, but improved metafield support is under development. In the short term the CSV can be used to translate all instances of a phrase using your spreadsheet tool's find and replace.
3. This is an additional limitation outside the app but one we are looking at closely. Standard theme content such as checkout and system messages are included in all Shopify themes in supported languages. As themes can differ, migrating edited content between themes has challenges. The CSV can also be used to match content between themes.
4. Shopify Translate & Adapt translates content available via the Translations API, which for 3rd party apps means it saves to metafields or the theme. However some 3rd party apps can translate other 3rd party app content on the storefront using Javascript. These can be used alongside Translate & Adapt.

Best wishes,

Shopify Translate & Adapt team

February 28, 2023

I think this is really good function wise. It does the translations super quick and its easy to read your original text to the translated text as well as to fix it. However, translations always seem to work better in google going from another language to English and not the other way around. I am translating to Swedish and my husband ( who is swedish) still has to rewrite almost everything to really localize it so it really sounds correct. I would really prefer an app that has that local touch. When amazon opened in sweden they did an AI translate for swedish and it landed in the news bc it they translated a necklace or something into the word for a male private part or something rediculous like that. I mean no one needs that to happen for their small business. So overall, its a good app with a good base but if you wanna be local you gotta go to local to get it right.

preservedstems
Sweden
20 days using the app
Shopify replied February 28, 2023

Thanks for the review and taking the time to work with the app. Translations themselves come from a Google Translate integration which means we don't control the text, but aim to give the opportunity to amend what comes back. I can relate - my store sells 'sloth necklaces' which translate as 'lazy necklaces'! As Google Translate continues to improve over time, the quality of auto-translations will continue to get better. Whilst it's taken longer than you'd hoped, the way you've done it - auto-translating and correcting, is a great way to go about things.

April 27, 2023

The auto translate feature is incredibly simple and intuitive to use, however it has a hard cap on just 2 languages which doesn't make much sense to me. I was hoping to offer a few languages for my EU customers. I don't understand why there is such a limit in place to only support two languages, I would gladly pay like $10 to translate the rest of my site to add German and French support... it feels pretty unfair to only offer Spanish and Italian in my opinion, not a good look for my store.

Gilded Lion Miniatures
United States
13 days using the app
October 6, 2022

It's great but 2 languages is definitely not enough so I had to remove the app. When will the paid plan be available for more automatic languages?

Free Spirit Shop
Canada
4 days using the app
January 5, 2023

Hello, I wish this App wouldn't be limited to just 2 languages. Any idea when it will allow all supported languages? Thanks.

Songbird Hut
United States
2 days using the app
April 9, 2024

ChicStore
China
14 days using the app
September 25, 2023

LM by Liliana Montaruli
Italy
9 months using the app