Reviews (213)

Overall rating
2.9
Counts per rating level
  • 32% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 45% of ratings are 1 stars
April 8, 2019

Terrible. Like so many others we used this as it was part of the shopify/xero set up. Both shopify and Xero still use the integration as a selling point without point out that it's now a paid for add on. And it doesn't work that well. A blatant attempt to hold their customers over a barrel. We left as soon as the charge came.

The BIB Wine Company
United Kingdom
About 6 years using the app
January 17, 2019

It has been one glitch after the other since Bold took over this app. Currently dealing with multiple broken bank feeds and missing transactions. Export message says only one item had an error, and yet I'm missing over a dozen transactions. Previous interactions with customer service do not give me faith they will be able to help. The new pricing structure just adds insult to injury. They're attempting to charge for something that works half of the time

Primal 7
United States
Almost 6 years using the app
February 16, 2023

was great for a while but then sync didn't work anymore so after 3 months of trying to fix and still having to pay for it. I uninstalled.

Trader Trove
Australia
Over 5 years using the app
BOLD replied February 22, 2023

Thanks for writing in with your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you encountered some problems with the app. Our team has reached out to see if they can help make things right. Please keep an eye out for an email from our team. We are always happy to help our merchants when facing any roadblocks!

Edited December 20, 2020

TLDR - Avoid like the plague - Downgraded from a 2 to a 1 - App stopped working - support terrible with days turnaround - (had to wait 3 days for a reply as the support agent had some time off!) - All they could suggest was disconnect /reconnect and then they blamed xero and suggest I contact them directly - Makes me wonder what the $60 a month was for - Add in the total lack of improvements over a number of years this feels like abandonware - Now using an alternative at half the price that works better

CGC Emporium
United Kingdom
About 5 years using the app
November 15, 2020

It hasn't worked correctly for the past 3 months. It just stopped working and after several attempts from support I get nothing except the dev team is working it. Having to start 2020 export and reconciliation all over again due to issues with this application. I had find another app to sync my orders from Shopify to Xero. I don't recommend this application because of the stability issues and lack of support.

White Rock Soap Gallery
United States
Almost 5 years using the app
Edited June 5, 2019

**UPDATE**
Bold contacted me after leaving the review and offered to extend my trial (which I do appreciate). They said they were listening to the feedback and would possibly re-consider their pricing. Unfortunately it looks like they are sticking with the extremely high price they proposed. As I said in my original review (and when I spoke to them on the phone) $20/mo is way to high and they need to reconsider.
**

I can certainly understand that Bold need to charge for the integration, but the pricing is much higher than it should be for a relatively straightforward integration. $5/month for a few hundred orders would be much more reasonable than the $20 that they are asking. Bold, please re-consider your pricing!

Line-us
United Kingdom
Over 4 years using the app
Edited April 8, 2019

I already wrote a 1 star review but now I am updating it to continue alerting new users what they are getting into. Not only are we having to pay $60 a month now for these services... But the customer service is HORRIBLE and takes over a week to get ANY assistance (I am still waiting). Meanwhile, I am still waiting for someone to resolve the issues with invoices not being transferred into Xero from Shopify. And my financials are at a standstill because of this. I am going to be looking into changing to another provider ASAP because this is just dumb. And I've been with Xero for 5 years!

Raw Feeding Miami
United States
Over 4 years using the app
April 25, 2019

Suddenly I noticed my integration is failing. All this while it was free. There is no announcement or update from Bold to advise that we now need to pay to use this apps. There should be proper communication prior to any changes. I am very unhappy with this.

akudankraf
Malaysia
Over 4 years using the app
BOLD replied April 25, 2019

Hi there. I just wanted to say I'm so sorry to hear about the issues that you are having with Xero. We would love to get in touch regarding this to see how we can help, so we will be reaching out via email right away! Let us know if we can organize a call time, as we would love the chance to help you out.

Edited March 16, 2022

This is my first review on Shopify and I am really disappointed. As a business owner I wear many hats, so expect that a Shopify to Xero App would do all the heavy lifting for me. Unfortunately this is not the case. 60% of my data is showing an "error" message and I am unable to manually pull the data across. My bookkeepers and I have been through to ensure the mapping is correct. Then went back through my emails to support to realise that this was not an isolated issue.., and that's when this App was free. Now that I have been paying for this App for a while now it seems the same issues are there but we're paying for it.

Hear for Less
Australia
Over 4 years using the app
Edited May 30, 2020

Update on my original review:
I do not recommend this app. I think the only way to improve this app is to scrap the coding and start again. I have errors on approximately 60% of imports. Just quickly - I run stringharvest .com .au - we are a genuine shopify store and small Australian family business, turning over 250-500k per annum so I don't want you to think I'm writing a cranky anonymous review for some dropship nonsense estore. This app is rubbish and I'm so over it, I'd rather go back to manual spreadsheet importing because that would actually have a better success rate and I'd be less angry. This app has never not been buggy and at around 80AUD a month is an absolute RORT. I went over my plan last month so I got charged 8.4USD to import SIX - yes 6 - transactions. In other words 2.11AUD per excess import. What is the rationale, Bold? What have I missed?

That's outright theft when half the time it doesn't import all transactions! It loves to fail on your biggest days so when you're busy with sales, there's nothing more joyful than the 11.15pm email saying, again, your Xero import failed. For the third day in a row. oh! and just when the BAS is due. YAY! I repeat - this app is a last resort.
---
INITIAL REVIEW from mid 2019: this app has lost me countless hours. it stopped working 27th June last year and since then I get patches where it works but most days fails to export. What a shambles of an 'integration' - and now Shopify and Xero want to charge for it? I am appalled that there seems to be no solid integration between the two - and at this stage of e-commerce this is literally costing businesses thousands of collective hours of bookkeeping misery. You cannot start charging for this service! I'm left with no choice but to spend hours fixing spreadsheets and doing things the old fashioned way. In the meantime I'll face ATO penalties all because I don't have enough hours in the day to fix the mess this BOLDAPPS software has wreacked on my xero. Far out.

String Harvest
Australia
Over 4 years using the app