XERO SYNC by Bold , 213 reviews

Overall rating
2.9
Counts per rating level
  • 32% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 45% of ratings are 1 stars
March 18, 2019

I am very disappointed at the introduction of these extortionate new pricing plans. Like a lot of small businesses, we rely on our Shopify/Xero integration and the ability to integrate the two apps was a major factor in our decision to use them both.

Our store is extremely small with just 2 employees. We process on average 600+ orders a month. By the definition of your apps pricing plans we are an "Enterprise" – tell that to our bank account! – and as a result are expected to pay $59.99 on top of our Shopify and Xero plans for something we were previously getting for free. No improvements. No additional features. No alternatives offered. Nothing.

I would consider paying for a fully featured integration that properly handled inventory management, purchase orders, channels, proper sales categorisation etc. But expecting small businesses to pay so much for such a basic and buggy app is ridiculous.

Most of Shopify's competitors offer accounting software integrations as standard. We will definitely be exploring alternatives to Shopify going forward. Of course, as Bold is well aware, we have invested a fair amount of resources in our Shopify store. However I would advise anyone considering signing up to Shopify to take another look at the alternatives.

Village
United Kingdom
Almost 4 years using the app
Edited February 18, 2019

Notice how all the 5 star reviews are from before they started charging ridiculous fees for the app. Seems exorbitant for the service they're providing, which is mediocre at best.

The Waterford Puzzle Company
United States
Over 3 years using the app
Edited June 30, 2019

I was happy with the free shopify app and they past it to these guys to mess it up! It was working fine for years until these guys had it and i went over 30 orders :-( No warning, just crapped out! Makes me think its time I parted company with Shopify!

The Cotswold Cheese Company Ltd
United Kingdom
Over 3 years using the app
July 28, 2020

I would seriously warn people from using this app. The integration has never worked properly, and I am currently 2 months into a non-sync issue and Bold go dark for weeks with no resolution. I would suggest from my experience that this is reason enough to select another package from Xero. However good Xero is, this integration is reason enough to select something else. And worse than that once your embedded you are stuck with exhorbitent fees for a product that doesnt work... DO YOUR RESEARCH AND READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE YOU GO THIS WAY. I deeply regret it

Diabeticsupply.co.uk
United Kingdom
Over 3 years using the app
Edited February 26, 2019

absolute garbage. xero and shopify both market this to be a native integration. then bold gets involved to start charging for writing a bit of janky code - almost $250US / yr to export 200 orders / month! BOLD should be directed to remove the misleading marketing video at the top of this post immediately.

BETA5 Chocolates
Canada
Over 3 years using the app
June 25, 2019

Just going to reinforce what many of the other reviews are saying here. Since going from a free app to the extortionate pricing plan earlier this year this app is shocking value. I don't necessarily object to paying at all but our integration of Shopify and Xero now costs more than the Xero subscription itself which is ridiculous.

I'm surprised that Bold have been so short-sighted really. You might think that they would be aware that their market here is business owners who will constantly have overhead costs under review and understand what represents value perhaps better than the general consumer.

After a couple of years using this app we are now removing it from our store and going with an alternative app (recently released). This will save us more than 50% on what Bold have been charging us to get exactly the same integration.

Weft Blown
United Kingdom
Over 3 years using the app
November 23, 2020

Bold has a well-earned reputation for providing some of the worst support and customer service...and this app is certainly no exception. Now the latest glitch is that their app isn't comparable with the latest version of Apple's Safari browser. Although the beta versions have been available for months and the final version available for weeks, Bold apparently has no plans to fix their broken code.

techtonic®
United States
Over 3 years using the app
November 11, 2019

This app is a disgrace. Cannot export anything today. Fails everytime with zero support from Bold. SHOPIFY you need to address this asap as I will be leaving otherwise. The app has been a disaster since Bold took it. And that's putting the ludicrous pricing to one side. Undermines the Shopify product.

Yull
United Kingdom
Over 3 years using the app
November 4, 2019

Wrong Tax Rates applying (creating issues with tax payments BAS each quarter) and the feed is creating an auto payment to the invoice, which doesn't reconcile. All this means each and every invoice needs the payment removed, the invoice edited to the correct tax rate and then reconciled to the correct payment within xero. Payments always need to be reconciled within xero and an auto payment should never be applied. I think I'm going to have to try something else.

Crew Brothers
Australia
Over 3 years using the app
March 24, 2023

This app has made a huge difference to my book keeping, as it sends all my Shopify invoices into Xero at the end of each day and itemises all the items sold, so really easy to keep track of sales types and best sellers etc. Love it.

Jenny Duff
United Kingdom
About 7 years using the app
BOLD replied March 27, 2023

Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad to hear that Xero helps make running your business easier. Thanks for choosing Bold!