Xero

Xero

From $11/month. 30-day free trial.
Rating (1.3)
Reviews
Developer
Xero
17 reviews
17 reviews
Overall rating
1.3
Counts per rating level
  • 6% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 88% of ratings are 1 stars
17 reviews
November 5, 2022

Not adding the items or the customer data, also the invoices is recorded with the payment getaway deduction that the business not the customer pays for I did not make use of it and have to search for another app

DailyLavish.co.uk
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: 4 days
Xero replied November 21, 2022

Hi there,

Sorry to hear that the functionality did not meet your needs. The integration is designed to make it quick and easy for you to reconcile your Shopify sales against your payouts. For this reason, the integration brings across a daily summary of all sales per payment gateway - ensuring Xero has only the information it needs to support your reconciliation.

We understand that being able to use the integration for generating customer invoices would be helpful and will be sure to take your feedback on board as we continually improve the integration for all our customers.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

September 8, 2022

No support at all. Very poor. Can't contact support from the app, they don't reply. Been trying for days and no replies. Very poor app!

DermaTecc
Australia
Time spent using app: 8 months
Xero replied November 21, 2022

Hi there,

We're sorry to hear about your experience and we'd like to put this right for you. If you haven’t already, please contact our support team by clicking ‘Contact Xero support’ over at https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify.

We've been working hard to make sure the integration works beautifully for all our customers and we take your feedback seriously. That's why we've improved the integration's sales tax functionality for customers in NZ, AU and UK.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/au/app/shopify#overview

If you have further questions or need help getting setup, please head over to our support content at https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

July 4, 2022

I am being charged for this app consistently even though I deleted/cancelled the service straight away as it is effectively useless

Perth Trade Direct
Australia
Time spent using app: 5 months
Xero replied November 21, 2022

Hi there,

We’re sorry to hear about your experience. If you haven’t already, please contact our support team by clicking ‘Contact Xero support’ over at https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify.

We’ve recently improved the integration’s sales tax functionality in NZ, AU and UK - making it easier for businesses like yours to manage your tax obligations.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/au/app/shopify#overview

We have also improved our support content, so if you have further questions, please head over to Xero Central: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify - we’d be happy to help ensure you have a great set up experience.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

June 27, 2022

Do not install this app, this app doesn't work, there are huge gaps. Worst of all, deleting the app doesn't stop the charges, and it is impossible to stop them. Logging into your Xero account doesn't even give you any options to stop the subscription and therefore the billing. And when you contact support... you get none. A seriously bad look for Xero. C'mon Shopify... it isn't a good look for you either! There are enough reviews saying the same thing here surely for action either by Xero or Shopify!

Zero Natural
New Zealand
Time spent using app: 4 months
Xero replied June 28, 2022

Hi there,

We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We’ve recently released improvements to the integration that should make it easier for you to reconcile Shopify sales against payouts, while also supporting you to meet your sales tax obligations.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/nz/app/shopify#overview

We have also improved our support content, so if you have further questions, please head over to Xero Central: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

May 24, 2022

Terrible app - do not use. Will continue to charge long after you have deleted the app from shopify and xero. I can not find a way to stop the payments :(

eandbco
New Zealand
Time spent using app: About 1 month
Xero replied June 19, 2022

Hi there,

We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We’ve recently released improvements to the integration that should make it easier for you to reconcile Shopify sales against payouts, while also supporting you to meet your sales tax obligations.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/nz/app/shopify#overview

We have also improved our support content, so if you have further questions, please head over to Xero Central: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify - we’d be happy to help ensure you have a great set up experience.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team