Digital Downloads , 390 reviews

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 34% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 22% of ratings are 1 stars
June 6, 2023

I used digital downloads for the first few years my store was open and then switched to an app with more bells and whistles. I have tried out the new version and would like to switch back, but it cannot access orders placed when the app wasn't installed. There is no download link on their order status page and no downloads email. So any customer that needs to access their download again, I will have to send manual links to each product they purchased.

Seems like really terrible UX, especially when I got an email from Shopify telling me to switch back when the new version was released. Seems like you might want to support previous orders and not create a customer service headache.

Social Emotional Workshop
United States
About 4 years using the app
Shopify replied June 11, 2023

We appreciate your honest feedback regarding our Digital Downloads app and will work towards creating a better experience! We will pass this feedback on to our developers! - Nia, Shopify Support

January 19, 2023

Honestly, this app worked beautifully from 2017 - 2022.
Then they updated it, now it takes forever to upload anything, Then near the end says upload failed, constantly crashes, doesn't deliver my files to the customers, and has me pulling my hair out in frustration. I am only now reviewing it because it worked fine before! Come on guys, please fix this! And don't say, oh its fine from our end. It's not acceptable. I am only giving it 2 stars because it worked well for a few years. Now it drives me insane! Is it because it's free? I am happy to pay for an app that actually works! Please fix this!

ATP Textures
Over 3 years using the app
Shopify replied February 28, 2023

Hey there, ATP Textures. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to hear about the difficulties you've experienced with the app recently. We'd love to see how we can help you get the app functioning as it once was for you. Please, reach out to our Live Team using this link ( so they can get you authenticated and dive in to collect your feedback and action some suggestions. -Imogen, Shopify Support

February 28, 2023

It would be really nice if Shopify had integrated digital downloads in their system because I feel like every app they design just falls to the wayside. I couldn't even get an MP3 file to download properly. Just took me to a new page where you had to Right Click, Save As but I couldn't even save the file correctly. It just wanted to save the audio file as a Browser html file. That was on a desktop, by the way. Can't imagine the headache of a mobile download.

Why bother having these apps at all if no one is maintaining or checking to see if there are incompatibilities?

Fatty Pancake
United States
6 days using the app
Shopify replied March 8, 2023

Hey, there. Thank you for leaving us a review for Digital Downloads, and providing us your feedback on how we handle our apps. Our Developers are passionate about the quality of the products they release, and maintaining and improving those products over time. If you have any suggestions for us to pass to them on how to improve Digital Downloads, we're happy to pass it along to time.

For your download issues, please reach out to our Live Team ( so they can dive into your account and investigate these issues and help you find a resolution. -Imogen, Shopify Support

October 5, 2022

There doesn't appear to be any way of automatically fulfilling digital pre-orders. I will soon have several hundred paid pre-orders, but the digital file will not be ready for another 2 weeks, and I don't want to have to go in and manually fulfill every single one by hand. I would happily pay for an app that added this functionality and worked 100% reliably! Also note that in the last year about 5% of my digital product customers were never sent a link to their paid order. NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Tracks of the NYC Subway
United States
About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied November 1, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know how you feel that the Digital Downloads app could be improved. I can certainly see why being able to automate this process would be helpful with pre-orders, and I'll be sure to pass your feedback onto our app development team. -Victor, Shopify Support

January 3, 2023

Unfortunately this app doesn't work for us as we have 15 variants per product and need to send the same digital download to anyone purchasing a specific product regardless of the variant they've purchased.

This means we have to tediously add the same download file to each of the 15 variants, for over 80 products! And potentially more as our site grows.

Ideally, we should be able to upload a digital file and have the choice whether it should apply to all the variants of that product, or certain variants.

A simple checkbox mechanism could achieve this with the question: should this digital download apply to all {x} variants? If checked then we upload our file. If unchecked then we add our files to the respective variants, or different download files to specific variants as is the case with the app currently.

United Kingdom
2 months using the app
Shopify replied January 23, 2023

Hey, there. Thanks so much for taking the time and sharing this feedback. We can see how being able to apply a single file when working with many variants can improve the workflow in your use-case, and we'd be happy to share your feedback as a feature request with our development team. Cheers. -Elias, Shopify Support

August 5, 2023

I have used digital downloads for YEARS. For the past few months I’ve experienced numerous issues with my customers not being able to download their orders. I can’t get into products to attach files as well. Service has been not helpful. No explanation. No we will fix it etc. The last support email suggested I switch to a different provider. If only that was so easy when you have 1000+ digital files to MOVE. So upsetting.

Parker on the Porch
United States
Over 6 years using the app
Shopify replied August 8, 2023

Hi, there. Thanks for taking the time to leave your review here with us. I'm sorry to hear of the recent issues you're experiencing with our Digital Downloads app, along with the negative experience you've had with our internal support team.

I apologize if the Support Advisor you were speaking with initially didn't offer the proper support that you were looking for. While I know that your initial attempt at contacting our team wasn't ideal, we'd love to have another try at assisting you. To do this however, we would need you to reach out to our live support team so that we can authenticate you against the correct store, in order to securely access your account and help investigate the issues in more detail.

I understand that you may have reservations about contacting our live support team once more, though I can assure you that all of our team members intend to help as best as we can.

So from here, please login to your store on our Help Center: to start the contact process. Just a note that it'll be helpful if you can share specific examples or screenshots of the errors that both you and your customers are seeing, to help our live support team effectively proceed with the most appropriate troubleshooting on your account. Thanks! -Kimi, Shopify Support

August 2, 2023

The app installs, and with some jerry-rigging, I was able to get it to function. I never got the digital options on the product creation pages like the help pages and tech support used to try to guide me through. My store is still convinced that the single product is both a physical and a digital product, and provides double download links for each digital product. The app is functional, but it looks unprofessional to the customer. I am switching apps.
United States
2 months using the app
Shopify replied August 8, 2023

Thank you for writing your review and I am sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience using the Digital Downloads app. I hope that you have been able to get things working on your store with a different app or otherwise, but if you're interested in using Digital Downloads again please reach out to our support team for further help and we'd be happy to troubleshoot further: -Victor, Shopify Support

January 23, 2023

I don't understand what the new app accomplishes. I can no longer get unique download links for customers who need to re-download the program. What does this revision do?

Peak Performance Sports, LLC
United States
Over 3 years using the app
Shopify replied February 28, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. App updates are meant to address bug fixes and performance increases. If your app is no longer working as expected, we definitely want to troubleshoot this further with you. Please connect with us using this direct link: -Olivia

February 19, 2023

Doesn't work well for products that have multiple page downloads. Most of my products have 2-5 pages to download so I can't offer these as a product at the moment.

Celtic Craft Shop
United States
7 months using the app
Shopify replied March 6, 2023

Hi, there. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review for Digital Downloads. We're sorry to hear that the app doesn't provide you with all of the tools you need at the moment. I'm happy to let you know that I've gone ahead and passed your feedback along to our Product Team to consider for a future update. I also wanted to pass a suggestion on to you. Have you tried using a zip file for your product, so all of the files required can be passed along to your customers? -Imogen, Shopify Support

May 7, 2023

What happened to the update file option? How do a replace/update a file now?
On the documentation page you still have the update/replace option but not in the app...

About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied May 10, 2023

Hi, there. This page was recently updated, but you can still replace a file in the Digital Downloads app by clicking the product you want to edit, and dropping the new file into the drop zone. You can also click “Add files” and the file you select will replace the existing one. I appreciate you letting us know about our Help Center documentation and I've put in a request to get that page updated. Thank you for leaving this review! -Erin, Shopify Support