Digital Downloads , 435 reviews

Overall rating
2.8
Counts per rating level
  • 33% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 24% of ratings are 1 stars
February 22, 2024

The app is now showing up as "Unsupported" with a warning message in the settings page that says the following.

"This app may not work as expected. Digital Downloads needs to be updated by the app developer. Contact them for support or uninstall the app."

I contacted Shopify Support and their response was to uninstall and reinstall which I'm not comfortable in doing with 300+ products with downloads. Then they said I should contact the developer...

Incase you missed that. Digital Downloads IS a Shopify App and I contacted Shopify to have them tell me to contact Shopify...

RingDivas.com
United States
Over 5 years using the app
Edited March 7, 2024

The App works as advertised BUT if you have a product with say 100 variants and you want to add a file to the order completion for download Even though all the variants use the same file you have to upload a file for every variant when there is only 1 file you want to use, so shopify again want you to upload hundreds/Thousands of the same file to there servers????????????
Adding a single product without variants is not an option as recommended by Shopify. That's will not work and if it did it's just a band aid for a botched piece of coding

Laserworksuk
United Kingdom
About 2 months using the app
Shopify replied March 7, 2024

Hi, there! Thank you for sharing your feedback. You do need to upload separate files for each variant, since in most cases you would be uploading a different file for each. If you're using the same file for all your variants, I recommend creating one product without variants. You can check out this help document (https://shopify.link/BWzd) for more information! - Greta, Shopify Support

March 12, 2024

Keep getting message that says this app may not work as expected, it needs to be updated by App Developer.

which is Shopify.
you would think since I'm using shopify they would make sure they keep up with their Apps, so peoples sites work properly.

Rainbow Krew Co.
United States
27 days using the app
Shopify replied March 20, 2024

Thank you for your review. You are free to continue using the Digital Downloads as long as it continues to work for you, and can ignore this banner if this is the case. We appreciate your feedback on this. -Victor, Shopify Support

December 26, 2023

In the past few months, this app has become very bad and untrustable. Always fail to deliver digital products. 10/5 times I received complaints from the customers that they didn't receive their download link. In this way, I have to send them manually the files which takes a lot of time... I contacted Shopify support but they told me that I have a problem with my stripe but it's not true. This app was good in the past years, but in the last few months, it's very poor...

Innovation Sounds
Slovakia
Over 3 years using the app
Shopify replied January 2, 2024

Hi there, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you've had this issue and that the Digital Downloads app hasn't been performing as you'd hoped in recent months. I would suggest contacting our support team again with examples of this issue so we can take another look, but if the error persists you can look into other apps that allow for digital files to be sent to customers. -Victor, Shopify Support

February 6, 2024

This app is awful, if you have markets you cannot even set a different email per language. The sender domain is the Shopify domain and not my own domain. There is no option to migrate files, all our downloads had to be done manually. Terrible!

Elektor
Netherlands
5 months using the app
Shopify replied February 8, 2024

Hi there, thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback for the Digital Downloads app and how it can be improved. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our development team for their consideration. Victor, Shopify Support

February 28, 2024

This app does not work! Neither does the download link on the confirmed purchase page work, not does the link received via the email work. Pathetic app.

Unived
India
About 1 month using the app
Shopify replied March 7, 2024

Hi, there. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Digital Downloads. I am sorry to hear about this situation. We would expect the links to work, so it sounds like something isn't quite right here. We have some great information here on our help center that you can check out: https://shopify.link/vaWl. If that doesn't help you to resolve this issue, then please feel free to contact our team directly so we can take a closer look at this situation: https://shopify.link/WJna. -Rick, Shopify Support

March 26, 2024

**THIS APP IS NOT BEING UPDATED BY THE DEVELOPER DO NOT USE**

DrDamon.co
United States
10 months using the app
Shopify replied March 28, 2024

Thanks for your review! While it is true that our Digital Downloads app is in maintenance mode, we will still implement critical security fixes or fix widespread bugs. -Olivia, Shopify Support

March 11, 2024

The app shows unsupported and dropped all of our download files?

Nebraska Quilt Company
United States
About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied March 19, 2024

Hi there, thanks for reaching out. If your files have disappeared and the app is now showing as unsupported, please contact our support team directly so we can look into this for you: https://shopify.link/vRnL. -Victor, Shopify Support

January 20, 2024

Horrible. I did a test pilot twice using different payment methods and the product never downloaded. Do not recommend. I guess it is true, you get what you pay for. Pay nothing, get nothing.

birdbree
United States
5 days using the app
Shopify replied January 22, 2024

Hi, there! Thank you for taking the time try out the app. I understand that you experienced some issues with the products being downloaded after a purchase. We would love to investigate this further by accessing your account. As such, please reach out to our live Support Team via the Help Center (https://shopify.link/WJna) and our team can troubleshoot the situation. -Mac, Shopify Support

November 15, 2023

App doesn't work and fails to send the file download link to customers. Selling digital files is NOT a niche market and should be part of Shopify's core subscription price. We should not be forced into paying another $10+ for a third-party app that actually works.
I was assured that this issue would be passed onto the technical team but given that there have been multiple reviews about the same problem over the passed few months, it would appear that not much is being done to sort it out.

JayMarie Digital
France
5 months using the app
Shopify replied November 17, 2023

Hi there! Thank you for sharing your experience. I understand that you have been experiencing some issues and were assured that we would investigate these concerns. In this case, please reach out to our support team and reference the previous ticket number to request a follow-up. We will be more than happy to take a closer look at your situation and provide further assistance. We appreciate your patience and understanding. -Mac, Shopify Support