Digital Downloads , 414 reviews

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 33% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 23% of ratings are 1 stars
Edited November 20, 2023

Cannot be combined with bundles, which is very inconvenient.
Also, I added a digital file to a product, but then the file just vanished... In the product overview the app still says the product has a file attached, but when I click on the product it says there's no file attached. Very strange. I added the file again, we'll see if it stays there this time.

Sacred Sorcery
7 months using the app
Shopify replied November 17, 2023

Hi there! Thank you for your feedback. I want to assure you that you should be able to create bundles that include both digital and physical products. The digital portion of the order will be fulfilled without marking the entire order as 'fulfilled'. This way, you can easily keep track of which portion of the order still needs to be fulfilled.

We’d also be happy to continue assisting you through the available contact methods in our Help Center: If you see the chat assistant, you can ask to contact support and it'll guide you with your next steps on how to connect with a team member. -Mac, Shopify Support

October 12, 2023

While I appreciate 5gb of space, the downloads are extremely slow.

Ovani Sound
United States
4 months using the app
Shopify replied October 17, 2023

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we truly appreciate it. We can completely understand the benefit of having that as a feature for the app. I've gone ahead and shared your feedback with our developers to consider in future updates. - Blair, Shopify Support

August 5, 2023

I have used digital downloads for YEARS. For the past few months I’ve experienced numerous issues with my customers not being able to download their orders. I can’t get into products to attach files as well. Service has been not helpful. No explanation. No we will fix it etc. The last support email suggested I switch to a different provider. If only that was so easy when you have 1000+ digital files to MOVE. So upsetting.

Parker on the Porch
United States
Over 6 years using the app
Shopify replied August 8, 2023

Hi, there. Thanks for taking the time to leave your review here with us. I'm sorry to hear of the recent issues you're experiencing with our Digital Downloads app, along with the negative experience you've had with our internal support team.

I apologize if the Support Advisor you were speaking with initially didn't offer the proper support that you were looking for. While I know that your initial attempt at contacting our team wasn't ideal, we'd love to have another try at assisting you. To do this however, we would need you to reach out to our live support team so that we can authenticate you against the correct store, in order to securely access your account and help investigate the issues in more detail.

I understand that you may have reservations about contacting our live support team once more, though I can assure you that all of our team members intend to help as best as we can.

So from here, please login to your store on our Help Center: to start the contact process. Just a note that it'll be helpful if you can share specific examples or screenshots of the errors that both you and your customers are seeing, to help our live support team effectively proceed with the most appropriate troubleshooting on your account. Thanks! -Kimi, Shopify Support

June 6, 2023

I used digital downloads for the first few years my store was open and then switched to an app with more bells and whistles. I have tried out the new version and would like to switch back, but it cannot access orders placed when the app wasn't installed. There is no download link on their order status page and no downloads email. So any customer that needs to access their download again, I will have to send manual links to each product they purchased.

Seems like really terrible UX, especially when I got an email from Shopify telling me to switch back when the new version was released. Seems like you might want to support previous orders and not create a customer service headache.

Social Emotional Workshop
United States
About 4 years using the app
Shopify replied June 11, 2023

We appreciate your honest feedback regarding our Digital Downloads app and will work towards creating a better experience! We will pass this feedback on to our developers! - Nia, Shopify Support

August 1, 2023

I don't know what happened but all of a sudden everything fails to publish. even a small 10kb photo fails to publish. I have no way to sell products now. Really need this fixed

The Hero's Cape
United States
About 4 years using the app
Shopify replied August 8, 2023

Hi there, thank you for your review. Please contact our support team about this issue so we can authenticate you on the account and investigate this issue in more detail: -Victor, Shopify Support

August 2, 2023

The app installs, and with some jerry-rigging, I was able to get it to function. I never got the digital options on the product creation pages like the help pages and tech support used to try to guide me through. My store is still convinced that the single product is both a physical and a digital product, and provides double download links for each digital product. The app is functional, but it looks unprofessional to the customer. I am switching apps.
United States
2 months using the app
Shopify replied August 8, 2023

Thank you for writing your review and I am sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience using the Digital Downloads app. I hope that you have been able to get things working on your store with a different app or otherwise, but if you're interested in using Digital Downloads again please reach out to our support team for further help and we'd be happy to troubleshoot further: -Victor, Shopify Support

August 14, 2023


6 months using the app
Shopify replied August 18, 2023


Thanks for leaving your feedback.

If you're referring to setting a download limit, you can refer to our help center resource here: If you're referring to the maximum file size you can upload, it is currently 5 GB. For more information, check out our Digital Downloads FAQ page: -Victoria, Shopify Support.

October 26, 2023

Leider funktioniert die App nicht richtig.
Meine Kunden erhalten die Download-Mail
nur wenn ich Sie manuell auslöse.
Zudem fehlt in der Mail der Downloadlink.
Auch auf der Bestellübersichtsseite werden die Downloads nicht korrekt angezeigt.
Warum funktioniert diese App nicht? Ist grundsätzlich ja sehr simpel aufgebaut.
Support wäre hilfreich.

About 5 hours using the app
May 7, 2023

What happened to the update file option? How do a replace/update a file now?
On the documentation page you still have the update/replace option but not in the app...

About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied May 10, 2023

Hi, there. This page was recently updated, but you can still replace a file in the Digital Downloads app by clicking the product you want to edit, and dropping the new file into the drop zone. You can also click “Add files” and the file you select will replace the existing one. I appreciate you letting us know about our Help Center documentation and I've put in a request to get that page updated. Thank you for leaving this review! -Erin, Shopify Support

February 27, 2024

muito bom, mas está aparecendo para mim, que ficará imcopativel como faço para atualizar?

Agnaldo Felipe