Digital Downloads , 390 reviews

Overall rating
2.8
Counts per rating level
  • 34% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 22% of ratings are 1 stars
December 31, 2021

Not working properly, can't add new products, server issues when I go to the app in the admin page.

South of Indigo Photography
United States
4 months using the app
Shopify replied January 3, 2022

I'm sorry to hear that you've experienced issues with the Digital Downloads app and we appreciate you notifying us here. If you have not done so already, you can try accessing the app through another web browser to see if the issue is present there, and if so, you can also try uninstalling the app before then installing it again.

If after doing this the issue is still ongoing, please contact our support team directly so we can offer further assistance and hopefully resolve the problem: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

August 30, 2021

Why doesn't Digital Downloads recognize that ive added new products to my store ?????? It only show my first product along with the two variants associated.

Tre Fwavy
United States
8 months using the app
Shopify replied September 1, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for reaching out. In order to add new Digital products, you must first create the product within your Shopify admin and then add the digital component, have you done this first? If you are creating Digital products as our video tutorial shows here (https://bit.ly/3yy4h1T) and the products are not showing in your store, this would be something we could certainly investigate with you.

So If you're running into issues with Digital Downloads, please get in touch with our Support team by visiting the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/3cJkx8V) and logging into your account. Take care! -Marty, Shopify Support

February 4, 2021

It worked well for over a year, but now it hardly works. My store sells digital tutorials, now customers are complaining that they can't get the file. I am posting this manually but it does so many times. I now need to explain to everyone why they cannot download their files ... I see that many have encountered this problem and it has not been resolved. I used the Shopify store because they promised that I could use digital downloads. now I can't use it ... I found other apps, they are paid and now I have to pay almost 50 dollars a month for this ... I'm very disappointed ...

LadyLunarCat
Ukraine
Almost 2 years using the app
Shopify replied February 5, 2021

Hey, there! I'm sorry to hear you're having these issues with the app - this is certainly something that we'd like to look into for you. Please contact our support team and provide some screenshots or examples of the issues, so that they can have our technical team take a look for you: https://help.shopify.com/en/questions. Cheers. - Brie, Shopify Support

April 2, 2021

It is not bad, but when using this application, my product is processed immediately, which is not good because the customer will receive a processing message. I would like to ask for help to solve this

DuarteBFitnessCo
Portugal
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied April 13, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and for outlining your issue with the Digital Downloads app here. You are able to choose between automatic and manual fulfilment within the app's settings, and choosing the latter means that the download link for the file will not be sent to the customer until you manually mark the order as fulfilled. They will still receive an order confirmation but they will not be able to access the digital product until you have manually fulfilled the order from the Shopify admin. More can be read on this here: https://bit.ly/3e2fjEf. -Victor, Shopify Support

November 4, 2020

App stopped working due to cookies updates. (It needs to be updated to support the SameSite cookie security changes made to Chrome 80.) Sent multiple emails to the developer. No response. Super frustrating.

Snarky Crafter Designs
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Shopify replied November 5, 2020

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us, and for letting us know about your experiences with the app. An update to Chrome earlier in the year changed the way it handles cookies, requiring a parameter named SameSite. All Shopify apps have been fixed to include this. If you're still receiving errors in regards to this it likely means an update is required for your Chrome browser or you'll need to clear the browser's cache. All the best! - Oliver, Shopify Support

April 5, 2022

Am Anfang hat die App noch funktioniert. Jetzt kann ich nichts mehr uploaden und aus der Link Ansicht der PDF's komm ich auch nicht mehr raus. Schade, aber die APP fliegt raus.

DaniChou-Store
Germany
25 days using the app
December 12, 2020

Usually the app is doing what it should. If there was not the big BUT:
But I have serious problems getting uploads done. It works only in a maximum of 25% of the cases. Sometime yes, sometimes no. Have to wait for a couple of days and then like a miracle it works... Maybe. Of course this is nothing I would call a fully functional app and it is crippling workflow and sales seriously. Would be nice if someone from the support team could help me with this.

Awake Arts
Germany
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied December 15, 2020

Hi, there! Thanks for reaching out about this; I'm sorry to hear you're having issues with uploading your files to the app. I'd like to find out more about your issue to see if there's anything we can do to help and make sure your feedback is passed on to our developers. I'll send you an email shortly for more information and we can do some troubleshooting together. Cheers. - Brie, Shopify Support

September 14, 2020

I have so many customers writing me that they are unable to download their files. Iphone and Ipad. And Safari browser is an issue as well. I've reached out to Shopify Support - but they couldn't solve the problem.

MY FAVOURITE THINGS • KNITWEAR
Denmark
About 2 years using the app
Shopify replied September 18, 2020

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm sorry to hear that your customers have been experiencing trouble downloading their files. I do see that we've responded to your emails, have you received those responses?

I wasn't able to replicate the issue on my end here. Nevertheless, I'd love to take a closer look into this for you to see what we can find out. I've gone ahead and sent you another email requesting some more information to get to the bottom of this. Please let me know here if you have don't receive it - otherwise, I look forward to continuing our conversation through there. Hope to hear from you soon! - Ryder, Shopify Support

March 10, 2022

Really hoping this app will get some more features. The ability to upload multiple files, uploads different files per variant, these are my top 2 most desired features. The app works fine, it's just so limited.

Oxreen
United States
21 days using the app
Shopify replied March 23, 2022

Hey, there! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback and for providing these valuable suggestions. I can definitely understand how those abilities would be useful, and I'll be sure to pass that feedback on to the app's developers for you. Cheers. - Brie, Shopify Support

January 25, 2021

Very slow. My clients keep complaining that it takes ages to download a file after a purchase. Overall, easy to use.

tarsi
Lithuania
About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied January 26, 2021

Thank you for this feedback - I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing a delay with the app. Your customers should be able to download their attachment immediately from the order confirmation page, as well as from the email they receive once the order is fulfilled. I'd like to find out more about the issue you're having and see what we can do to fix that for you. I'll reach out to you via email shortly and we can take a look at it together. Cheers! - Brie, Shopify Support