Digital Downloads

Sell digital products in your store

  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Price: Free

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: low impact to your online store

Reviews

3.0 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    38% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    15% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    14% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    20% of ratings are 1 stars
1 - 10 of 50 reviews

Dragons' Garden

Location Netherlands

It badly misses the ability for users to re-download their files from their account page. It is such a hassle to keep having customers email because they can't access the links or lost the emails. If that would be added the app is definitely more than worthy of 5 stars!

Developer reply

June 21, 2022

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here. I can appreciate why customers being able to more easily re-download their files would be beneficial for both them and you, and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our development team. -Victor, Shopify Support

LambdaFive

Location United States

The app certainly does do the job and is relatively easy to use. However, I cannot give it 5 stars without the ability for users to re-download their files from their account page. Having to direct confused customers to hunt down an email they may or may not have anymore is a poor user experience. That's a glaring problem, and I'll likely need to find another solution for digital products if I can't sort out a way to modify the template myself.

Developer reply

June 8, 2022

Hi there, LambdaFive. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Digital Downloads. The ability for customer's to re-download perviously purchased files from their account is definitely something that we've had requested to be added in the past. I've gone ahead and passed this review along to our Product Teams so they can consider adding this functionality in a future update. Thanks again! -Imogen, Shopify Support

Generic Chaos 2.0

Great that it allows downloadable content to get up and running quickly, but the interface feels outdated

Developer reply

April 11, 2022

Hey there, Generic Chaos 2.0. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review for Digital Downloads. We really appreciate the feedback regarding the user interface. I'll go ahead and bring this feedback to our Product Development Team so they can consider upgrading the interface in the future. I can't comment on any timelines, but I can assure you that it will be brought to the team for them to look into. If you have any additional feedback for us, feel free to share it with us! -Imogen, Shopify Support

Sarah Soward

So far, my customers are getting their downloads. I reached out to customer service regarding a server error I am getting on Safari and Firefox and that the app does not function properly on either of those browsers. They did ask for screenshots of the error message, which I just sent them. However, I don't believe they're going to fix the problem on either of those browsers based their responses so far.

Developer reply

October 25, 2021

Hi there. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review and provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear you are experiencing this issue, however. I hope that our live support team is able to take a closer look once they receive the screenshots you took.

That said, something else you can try is re-installing the app to see if you are still getting the same issue upon re-installation. I also suggest clearing all your browser history, cookies and cache before doing so. Thanks again for your review! -Marty, Shopify Support.

Photodobe

1) App does not open in Safari at all. Developers do not care
2) Impossible to search for a specific order, which is needed when proving chargeback cases, i.e. that a customer has downloaded the product
3) Does not work properly in chrome. When you press add a download, it will go to all downloads and then you have to click back to actually upload a digital file that you wanted to add to a product. Conclusion: it's clear that the app has not been updated for ages.

Developer reply

October 11, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share this feedback. We can't be sure why it's not working on Safari, as it could be related to the browser settings. However, there are some great suggestions here, such as being able to search for specific orders or improve the functionality on Chrome, and we'd be happy to share your feedback with our developers. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

GRAUX | Inspiring Guitar Loops

Hi. I have been using your app to run my business since Feb. 2021 and it looks like my clients does not always receive their digital goods. It seems like the browser they use does not matter. Is there a quick way to make sure my clients always gets what they pay for using your app ?

Developer reply

October 11, 2021

Hi, there. Thank you for reaching out and bringing this to our attention. It looks like we'll need to take a closer look at your account in order to resolve this issue. Please visit the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/2Vt7Et5) and we'd be happy to assist you through live chat, email, or callback. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

C D

Generally, the app works. However, there are some issues that would have been nice to deal with. Shopify does not support this app properly. Shopify does not update the app. It's extremely disappointing how Shopify treats users of the app. 1) There is no search by order number, this implies that you have to manually flip through pages of customers, which takes , to get into one particular customers' details. 2) Shopify has not updated an app and around a year ago, it stopped opening in Safari. I am sure if Shopify looks at the stats - a lot of ecommerce store owners use Mac computers. None of my requests through Shopify support lead to any changes. Shopify does not care and does not listen. Which is a bad practice in my opinion. 3) Yes, sure, it's a basic app and on average works well, but download speed can be slow sometimes. Maybe it would make sense to add a feature, where for extra $x download speeds could be improved. But this is a secondary question.

Developer reply

September 16, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and for sharing your experience using the app here, and I'm sorry to hear that you've come across these issues. I can appreciate your frustration with these limitations and that they have not been addressed sooner. Our development team still ask that we provide feedback on the app from merchants to them so that they can be reviewed and considered, so I will be sure to submit your comments to them. Thanks again for reaching out. -Victor, Shopify Support

Beehive Wool Shop

This works well to add a single file to a product. However, it is exceedingly irritating to have to make adjustments on the variant level instead of product level. Ex, to change the fulfillment settings from automatic to manual. Or to add files - you have to individually add each file to each variant. I feel like there should be a tick box, or something in the general settings, to choose to make these changes on the product level. If digital downloads are a core piece of your business and you have a wide inventory, I would look at using another app!

Developer reply

July 29, 2021

Thank you for providing your feedback to us here and I can appreciate why the suggestions you have made would make the Digital Downloads app a more intuitive and useful app to use for your Shopify store. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our development team as merchant feedback is heavily considered when upgrading and improving the platform and our apps. -Victor, Shopify Support

Future in Hands

MAJOR BUG It has one major problem which needs to be corrected to improve the quality. It is not synced with the Shopify Products Admin. When we delete any product from Shopify admin, it doesn't get deleted from the digital download app. Even we cannot delete it manually afterwards. One more major issue is in my case that its showing duplicate attachments in my digital download dashboard. Means it is showing 2 rows for the same product in the Dashboard Page. When I try to delete one the one is still showing. Its very confusing... it must be rectified as its a bug..

Developer reply

July 27, 2021

I am sorry to hear that you've experienced these issues with the Digital Downloads app but thank you for providing us with your feedback here. I can see why these bugs would be an annoyance and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our development team. Merchant feedback plays a big part in how the Shopify platform and our apps develop over time so we appreciate you getting in touch here. -Victor, Shopify Support

IICONOICON

Digital Downloadersを使ってみて
結論でいえばDigitalコンテンツの販売がこのアプリを使うと簡単に実現します。とても便利でオススメします。
ただし問題点も多く混在します。まず商品リストの商品名を変更するとアプリのリストに反映されない!つまり商品名は永遠に訂正できない!
アップロードしたアタッチメントデータを削除しないで商品を削除すると、アプリのリストに削除した商品名が永遠に記載され続ける!
商品全て削除削除し、新規作成しない限り訂正手段がない!その場合、順番も変えれないのでチェックリストとして機能しない!
など、考えられないバグが存在します。このような問題があるので使用に際して、気楽に商品名を入力するとあとで訂正するのに大変な労力が必要なので使用する方は、この点を十分注意してください。
この点がなければ、とても機能的に優れてアプリなので早急の改善望みます。

Previous 1 3 4 5
Previous 1 3 4 5