Digital Downloads , 438 reviews

Overall rating
2.8
Counts per rating level
  • 33% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 24% of ratings are 1 stars
May 3, 2020

I have a lot of complaints about exceeded downloads that were not actually downloaded, I have issues with files somehow disappearing after being uploaded successfully without notification, I have issues of orders not being completely fulfilled causing me to manually fulfill them. Currently, they are trying to help find out the issue, I will give it at least 3 stars right now as they are trying to find the issues and the app is not totally a waste of space. But once they get MAJOR issues of sending fixed I think it would easily be a 5 star app if it stays with consistency.

J9 Designs, Inc.
United States
Over 5 years using the app
December 20, 2022

Useful app for my site - but there was a recent change where download file purchases can no longer be automatically flagged as Fulfilled. Is it possible to provide this option again?

PastPros
Canada
About 5 years using the app
Shopify replied January 11, 2023

Hey, there! This update only applies for bundled digital and physical products - you should still be able to automatically flag single file purchases as fulfilled. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to reach out to our support team and let us know! - Brie

Edited September 11, 2021

Generally, the app works. However, there are some issues that would have been nice to deal with. Shopify does not support this app properly. Shopify does not update the app. It's extremely disappointing how Shopify treats users of the app. 1) There is no search by order number, this implies that you have to manually flip through pages of customers, which takes , to get into one particular customers' details. 2) Shopify has not updated an app and around a year ago, it stopped opening in Safari. I am sure if Shopify looks at the stats - a lot of ecommerce store owners use Mac computers. None of my requests through Shopify support lead to any changes. Shopify does not care and does not listen. Which is a bad practice in my opinion. 3) Yes, sure, it's a basic app and on average works well, but download speed can be slow sometimes. Maybe it would make sense to add a feature, where for extra $x download speeds could be improved. But this is a secondary question.

C D
United States
Almost 5 years using the app
Shopify replied September 16, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and for sharing your experience using the app here, and I'm sorry to hear that you've come across these issues. I can appreciate your frustration with these limitations and that they have not been addressed sooner. Our development team still ask that we provide feedback on the app from merchants to them so that they can be reviewed and considered, so I will be sure to submit your comments to them. Thanks again for reaching out. -Victor, Shopify Support

Edited January 8, 2017

Well, It's free but it's also essential to use shopify for digital products. They need to do so much work on this app though. We need to be able to see when a customer has downloaded and from which IP address with order details. I can't delete files for the digital products that have been removed, they are still in the list!

The stat's page needs a complete redesign. Need a global setting for download limit. The list goes on.

It does do the job, but needs some love to make it great!

Updated review: After about 3 months of use - there are problems with large downloads not completing and the downloads are very, very slow, unacceptably slow in fact.

This app is probably OK for small files but for anything over 250 MB I would look else where. Also, the email address that the download links come from often gets rejected as spam resulting in the customer not getting the link and YOU have to manually create a link and send it to them - not good if you have 100's of orders a month!

I will have to move to a PAID app, but that is probably why this free one is so restricted isn't it Shopify?

New Loops
United Kingdom
Over 4 years using the app
April 2, 2013

Works pretty well!

Except for the fact that the download email ends up in the spam of some customers...

Urbania
Canada
About 4 years using the app
Edited February 1, 2023

Since last update I cannot access upload from within my product in shopify. "add digital file), error "no such page". But instead have to go the Apps new dashboard, search again for the product and only then can upload. THIS IS A MUCH WORSENED WORKFLOW!!
Will you do something about it?

Christians Sheet Music
Germany
Almost 4 years using the app
Shopify replied February 28, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We would like to help you look into this further. Please contact us directly using this link: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. We look forward to supporting you. -Olivia

October 31, 2018

I want to love this app. And for awhile, I did. I've been using it for a few years now. But recently, somehow my digital products are having the "this is a physical product" field mysteriously checked in the admin product pages. I am NOT making this change. It's some glitch.

And you know what happens when that field gets checked? The Digital Downloads app deletes your file- without you knowing. Until, that is, your customers complain that that they never received the download link for the product that was blatantly described as an "instant download." To them, it feels like a bait and switch. And I have no doubt that this glitch is affecting my conversion rates, because once a customer goes to checkout, if the file has been deleted by the app, it tells them that their "download" product will be delivered in 6-8 business days! Hello, abandoned carts.

I continue to work with support to get this issue resolved. So far, nothing has worked. Am I the only one experiencing this glitch?

Wild Truth Design Co
United States
Over 3 years using the app
October 9, 2021

1) App does not open in Safari at all. Developers do not care
2) Impossible to search for a specific order, which is needed when proving chargeback cases, i.e. that a customer has downloaded the product
3) Does not work properly in chrome. When you press add a download, it will go to all downloads and then you have to click back to actually upload a digital file that you wanted to add to a product. Conclusion: it's clear that the app has not been updated for ages.

Photodobe
United Kingdom
Over 3 years using the app
Shopify replied October 11, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share this feedback. We can't be sure why it's not working on Safari, as it could be related to the browser settings. However, there are some great suggestions here, such as being able to search for specific orders or improve the functionality on Chrome, and we'd be happy to share your feedback with our developers. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

May 31, 2022

It badly misses the ability for users to re-download their files from their account page. It is such a hassle to keep having customers email because they can't access the links or lost the emails. If that would be added the app is definitely more than worthy of 5 stars!

Dragons' Garden
Netherlands
About 3 years using the app
Shopify replied June 21, 2022

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here. I can appreciate why customers being able to more easily re-download their files would be beneficial for both them and you, and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our development team. -Victor, Shopify Support

July 5, 2020

DOES NOT WORK ON MOBILE - have to direct customers to download from a computer constantly. Make this work on mobile and it would be great, make it possible to attach multiple files and it would be fantastic.

Debt Free Charts
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Shopify replied September 1, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your feedback. I think there may be some workarounds we can explore together so I've gone ahead and sent you an email to discuss this further. Hope to continue the conversation on this there! - Oliver, Shopify Support