Shopify Inbox , 2,717 reviews

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 73% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this tool for its efficient customer communication capabilities. It's praised for its user-friendly interface, seamless store integration, and consolidation of all customer interactions in one dashboard. Features like live chat, customizable autoresponders, mobile order management, direct tracking updates, and tailored responses based on customer profiles are appreciated. Merchants credit it with improving response times, enhancing customer service, increasing sales conversion rates, and reducing abandoned carts.

May 23, 2023

As long as there is chat, the program keeps sending emails, one for each line of conversation.
Even if you cancel all notification options in the settings, it will still be the same.
Frustrating, no technicians to fix or advise.

Vestar Skateboards
United States
Almost 2 years using the app
Shopify replied May 24, 2023

Thank you for taking the time and bringing this to our attention. It looks we'll need to take access your account in order to get a closer look at the issue and collect some logs for our development team. Please visit the Shopify Help Center ( and we'd be happy to assist you through live chats or emails. Cheers. -Elias, Shopify Support

June 17, 2023

it is a spam magnet!! get it if you want to be inundated with nigerian digial marketers every hour of the rest of your life

4 months using the app
Shopify replied June 20, 2023

Hi, there. We appreciate you reaching out and sharing your experience. Earlier last month, our development team enabled hCaptcha to Shopify Inbox to help reduce spam and blocking conversations one by one. If you'd like, you can give the app another try to test out this new feature. We hope this helps! - Moira, Shopify Support.

Edited April 5, 2023

I recently tried using Shopify Inbox, but unfortunately, my experience with the app was terrible. The app has potential to be useful for managing customer messages, but the frequent spam messages from Nigeria made it nearly impossible to use effectively.

I reached out to tech support multiple times for a resolution, but was disappointed to learn that there was no solution available. The only options I was given were to uninstall the app, block the spam messages, or go to another website that's not on Shopify.

In addition to the spam messages, I also noticed that the app significantly slowed down my website, which further impacted my customer experience.

Overall, I cannot recommend using Shopify Inbox due to these issues. Until these problems are addressed, I would advise anyone to steer clear of this app.

Expressive DeZien
United States
About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied April 2, 2023

Hi, there. Thanks for leaving us a review for Shopify Inbox. We appreciate that you took the time to provide us with some feedback. At this time, there is no way to block folk from sending you a message, but you can block a user once they've contacted you by clicking the ! in the top right corner. This will prevent this person from reaching out to you any further. While not a complete solution, we hope you take advantage of this feature. I'm happy to share your feedback regarding a better method to prevent this sort of spam with the Team. -Imogen, Shopify Support

May 26, 2023

Shopify inbox is all spam. It’s a waste of time and detracts from actual customer engagement. Wish it were more reliable and could filter the bots out.

United States
11 months using the app
Shopify replied May 31, 2023

Hi, there. I understand how frustrating it can be to receive spam messages, and that your time is much better spent helping customers. You do have the option to block a conversation, though I know this can also be time consuming if you're receiving spam from multiple users. While we can't block spam entirely, we'll continue to look for ways to reduce it. Thanks for taking the time to share your review! -Sophia, Shopify Support

April 14, 2023

Every time there is a message it emails ALL admin personel.
Sure you can turn it off for everyone but you can't pick who gets the messages. So all or nothing. Chat support has yet to get back to me.

United States
About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied April 14, 2023

Hi, there. Thank you so much for your valuable feedback! I do want to clarify that each staff member can adjust their own notifications for Shopify Inbox. Simply login and head to Inbox > Notifications and adjust as needed! - Skye, Shopify Support

Edited March 1, 2023

How come none of the 1 star reviews are pin-pointing the worse part about this app? The app creates customer profiles on its own, so when the customer goes to create an account, it says "this email is already in use".

But the email has no password and information so its rendered useless and has to be deleted by an admin before the customer can create their account. Who knows how many customers we have lost due to this.

UPDATE: I see your response but it does not make sense. Please try to understand that a customer cannot access their account page if they do not have a profile to go to. So how does a customer update their password when a password was never created? We have contacted Shopify support and escalated the case and are still not clear how this is effecting our customers.

Based on your reply, you assume the customers have an account page once they start a conversation. But they do not. They start a conversation and a customer profile is created with no password and no access. The customer, from what i can see, cannot update anything without our help now.
7 months using the app
Shopify replied March 1, 2023

Thank you for taking the time and sharing this feedback. If the customer enters their email (using the online store chat) and an account is created without a password, then they can create a password by resetting their password directly on the customer accounts page. That being said, depending on the type of customer accounts that you're using, you may also be able to send a password reset ( to your customers. If you need more assistance on this topic, then please get in touch with us via the Shopify Help Center ( Cheers. -Elias, Shopify Support

January 4, 2023


Overall, the integration is great. We shopify business owners really need this, and since all the app developers are gouging us on their monthly fees, I really enjoy the abilities this app offers. However, there are things that are a necessity to add to the app to make it functional to everyone.

1. Add the ability to have multiple stores connected to the inbox so we can see all of our chats in one place.

2. Translations - Let people see what we write in their own language, and vice versa.

Its a great app but I find myself looking for other solutions that have these features.

Nasa Depot
United States
12 months using the app
Shopify replied February 27, 2023

Hello, there. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I have passed your comments along to our product development team for future consideration. We thank you for taking the time to write to us in order to help us better our services. -Olivia, Shopify Support

January 17, 2023

I am having this error for more than 2 months.
"An error occured: Could not login to Inbox, please try again later (1000)"

Asked for support and haven't had any support.
Yesterday, I deleted the sale channel but it is back on my sale channel list. (How!!!)

Can anyone help me use or delete this thing?

Kira the Cat
Over 2 years using the app
Shopify replied February 28, 2023

Hey there, Kira the Cat. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review for Shopify Inbox. That error you're receiving there is definitely something we want to assist you with. I know that you mentioned that you spoke to our Team for support, but I recommend that you reach back out to us using this link: We absolutely want to get you authenticated so we can jump in and help resolve this. It is odd that the app seemed to appear in your app list again after you had deleted it. If you decide that you'd like to delete Inbox, please follow the instructions that can be found on this help page: -Imogen, Shopify Support

July 12, 2023

Je n'ai que de la publicité de développeurs des US, Ouganda ...etc C'est désagréable et ca ne peut pas se parametrer. Donc j'arrête

About 2 months using the app
Edited April 10, 2023

It blocks the whole page and does not let the visitor exit. If they reload the page, it loads back up. This is a horrible experience.
got told by support to change the colour and icon when this is not the issue, (tried anyway)

United Kingdom
About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied April 14, 2023

Hi, there. Thank you for providing this feedback. It sounds like there could be a technical issue occurring here. We recommend testing this is out on a freshly downloaded version of your theme. If it doesn't occur in this theme, it is a theme error in your live theme. Please reach out to our live support for more assistance!