Shopify Inbox , 4,560 reviews

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 77% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 14% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its real-time communication, seamless integration, and mobile convenience. They value the "Quick Replies" feature for efficient customer service and the ability to offer products or discounts directly through chat. The automated responses and instant answers are seen as time-saving tools. Merchants also commend the app's ability to consolidate customer interactions, provide customer behavior insights, and prioritize conversations. The feature to send tracking updates and responses to missed chats directly to customers is also beneficial. The app is praised for enhancing customer service, improving sales, and providing a user-friendly interface.

April 5, 2024

I meant to check bad: I am being inundated with messages from random strangers who want to, "talk about Shopify" but don't. I think they're bots and its starting to get annoying!

Alpine Bee Candles
United States
Over 4 years using the app
April 10, 2024

Not as immediate in chatting with customers as we would like. We were used to using Zendesk and having more data while chatting with customers.

Allred Contract
United States
5 months using the app
January 7, 2024

Caution - this app has some very serious omissions. It's absolutely NOT ready for prime time. It's missing some essential features. On the plus side, easy to install, use, and find integrated customer info. But the down sides are pretty major. If you ever run into a problem with a customer, and you need to be able to share a prior chat with that customer, you won't be able to. You can not export any chat. You can't email the chat to yourself or a customer. You cannot even copy/paste the chat transcript into a document. It just doesn't copy correctly. Further, your customer cannot log back in and see this chat. I'm pretty confused on why this app is getting so many 5 star reviews. I have used quite a few chat apps and I was suckered into this one because it's free and I generally think highly of shopify apps. However, this app just doesn't cut the mustard. I'm ditching it and getting something that has chat transcripts that can be sent to my primary customer service email address so that I can always share it with a customer. Very disappointing app.

Pandere Shoes
United States
2 months using the app
Shopify replied January 10, 2024

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we truly appreciate it. As we can completely understand the impact of this, I've gone ahead and shared your feedback with our developers to consider in future updates. - Blair, Shopify Support

March 12, 2024


United States
Over 2 years using the app
December 26, 2023

Live Chat allows people to preview what the customer is typing to help better anticipate their needs and give an almost immediate response. Watching dots ... is a waste of time when every second matters

Acoustic Sound Panels
United States
Almost 4 years using the app
Edited January 12, 2024

It's good but not very customizable. You can't move it to where you want it on the screen and I can't find where to change the instant answers.

Gentle Moose
About 1 year using the app
April 8, 2024


Icup - Agency
United States
2 months using the app
July 7, 2023

The inbox used to be easy but for some reason, it's not anymore. I haven't been able to respond to inquiries since June 11th and I have no idea why. I even checked the user permission to see if I gave email permissions to my colleague and there wasn't anything there.

So, I don't know what's going on but this has made me and my store look bad. If I can't provide customer support, what's the use of having this thing? I'm very disappointed right now. I won't cancel just yet but do expect this problem to be fixed ASAP.

I've never had issues with Shopify in the past and I am confident this problem will be fixed but for now, I have to be honest with my review. It's not a good one at this time. That will change once I see the problem fixed.

Pioneer Kitty Market
About 2 years using the app
Shopify replied August 8, 2023

Hi there, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you've experienced these issues and I'd ask that you email us at so that we can troubleshoot this further. Please address your email to Victor and provide more details of the issue and I'll see what I can do to help. -Victor, Shopify Support

July 14, 2023

Now that Facebook and Instagram are no longer integrated, we need to look for another app. This app had potential, but now sadly is slightly better than useless

Best Biltong - Your South African Shop
United Kingdom
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied August 8, 2023

Hi there! Thank you for sharing your feedback. Currently, the Facebook & Instagram Messenger Channel is no longer supported by Shopify Inbox. However, customers can still initiate conversations while browsing your online store and through the Shop chat on the Shop App. -Mac, Shopify Support

November 4, 2023

I need two features that are essential.
1. Remove conversation history
2. Unblock someone

BANG 행정사사무소
South Korea
3 months using the app