Overall rating
4.6
Counts per rating level
  • 79% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly value this app for its ease of use, versatility, and customization options, particularly for growing email lists and boosting conversions. Its targeting rules, integration with platforms like MailChimp and Klaviyo, flexible design interface, and detailed analytics are appreciated. The customer support team is frequently praised for their exceptional service. Features like Commerce AI and managed services are noted for enhancing conversion rates and engagement. Merchants report significant email list growth, increased revenue, and reduced cart abandonment rates. The app's cost-effective pricing is also appreciated.

January 25, 2024

The sales team (CHRIS) convinced me that our sales were hurting because we were lacking their services. As a solopreneur running a small business, I was very hesitant as we don’t advertise and, therefore have not a lot of monthly visitors, however, CHRIS convinced me I needed Justuno to increase conversion on my website. I paid for 3 months, of white-glove service- there was no other option for what they were selling me. The first round for Black Friday went well- the banners matched my website and branding and they got everything up in time. No conversions.

Then the white glove service told me they would start working on my Christmas banners and get them going for the first week of December. That week came and went and at the end of the second week, they finally had my banners up 2 weeks too late. Well, guess what? No conversions. I had a meeting arranged to discuss New Year’s strategy but a series of events occurred- my dog needed urgent vet care, then my daughter was admitted to the ICU, etc.

In January, when I emailed them about my disappointment from the last round but still expected my banners for January which I PAID FOR, they cancelled my account and robbed me of one month of services!

I am not one for writing negative reviews, but I feel compelled to share my terrible JUSTUNO experience with other small business owners. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. THIS TEAM DOES NOT CARE ABOUT YOUR SMALL BUSINESS. THEY ONLY WANT YOU TO SIGN UP FOR THEIR EXPENSIVE 3-MONTH TRIAL TO RIP YOU OFF.

This is the absolute worst company! They are thieves and only care about their big clients while stealing from small businesses! I will NEVER USE JUSTUNO AGAIN AND WILL BE SURE TO SHARE MY EXPERIENCE WITH ALL MY FELLOW BRANDS AT THE SHOWROOMS WE SHARE ACROSS THE US!

My Bougie Bottle
United States
2 months using the app
Justuno replied January 29, 2024

We understand you were unhappy with the service you received with Justuno. In reviewing your file we found there was some confusion on what Justuno provided and we attempted to clarify that with you and find where the miscommunication took place. If you would like to continue that conversation please reach out to our VP of support Kelsey who you’ve been emailing with.

You requested we downgrade your account, not cancel, which was done. In fact, your account is still installed and using our promotions on your website now.

We have refunded your last payment in understanding that you feel you did not receive the services you signed up for.

December 1, 2023

This app is so clunky and bad I dont know how they get away with it. Creating your pop-ups is super antiquated. You change a setting (i.e. font color) and it doesn't show the correct update when it's live on the website. You can move things around on the editor and when it's live, it never respects the updates you made. Such a bad application.

Orgullo Coffee Company
United States
Over 1 year using the app
Justuno replied December 4, 2023

Thank you for your feedback on the platform. Changes not reflecting on your live pop-ups or in the editor are not the experience we want our customers to have. This sounds like a bug and we’d like to hear more about this experience if you’d be willing to share at support@justuno.com.

December 10, 2023

Terrible App and dishonest customer service.
On record, this app was generating 0 impressions on our site for 8 months (costing thousands of dollars). When our team discovered not only this, but also that the app was charging us for "extras" we never opted into, the customer service team refused to refund us for the inactive months, offering only a refund for 1 month of unapproved "extras". Totally ineffective app, fraudulent company. Stay away.

JNCO Los Angeles
United States
Over 4 years using the app
November 29, 2023

Working with Justuno has been a fantastic experience, especially with Miranda leading the way. Initially planned as a 3-month trial for our website, we decided to quickly expand to our USA site within a month because it was so beneficial. The Commerce AI significantly boosted our conversion rates during sales, proving incredibly helpful. Tech support with Yuno has been fantastic – a true coding whiz who consistently delivers solutions. Despite challenging time zones (given our location in AUS), Miranda's dedication shines through as she consistently goes the extra mile, staying back, or jumping on a call whenever needed to assist whenever needed. Excited about the future with Justuno!

TOOLETRIES
United States
2 days using the app
November 7, 2023

Highly recommend this app! It's easy to use and successful, but what really shines is the support from all of the Justuno team members. We are so impressed with their response time, willingness to send video demos, and/or jump on a same day call to resolve any issues. Additionally we get valuable insights from their team on ways to optimize the integration, suggested activations and even Black Friday best practices. 10/10 recommend!

K.Bell
United States
About 2 months using the app
October 23, 2023

Great ongoing support and quick to help. Miranda is fantastic and Filli from support is too!

Smithey Ironware
United States
About 2 years using the app
June 5, 2023

We compared several vendors and JustUno has by far the most capabilities for popups email capture and targeting with very reasonable pricing. Miranda has been an absolute pleasure to work with and we have seen such impressive gains already in terms of metrics that we recently upgraded to the silver plan.

VEGAMOUR
United States
Over 1 year using the app
September 13, 2023

The app is versatile and provides me with many ways to connect with my website visitors and convert them into customers. I think using the app would be challenging if it weren't for my awesome dedicated support person, Nick. He is knowledgable, talented, and very patient. I am very happy with the app thanks to Nick.

Glad Dogs Nation | ALL Profits Donated
United States
2 months using the app
May 15, 2023

JustUno is a great addition to our Tech Stack. Since working with them, they have helped lower our cart abandonment rate and increased revenue.

Senior Customer Success Strategist, Miranda Galindo, is fantastic to work with! She always comes prepared to meetings with helpful insights and actionable strategies to optimize our store.

JEDCo
United States
Almost 2 years using the app
November 20, 2023

worst app ever, watch out for illegal charges. support was helpful, but the app in itself, not great.

TLC Sport
United Kingdom
14 days using the app
Justuno replied November 21, 2023

Thanks for your feedback on your experience with Justuno. Your account was registering more website traffic than your plan includes which led to the auto extras. We understand that this was frustrating given the traffic discrepancies between Shopify & your Justuno account. Those charges were refunded yesterday as well as a cancellation of your account to prevent future charges.