Reviews (153)

Overall rating
3.6
Counts per rating level
  • 82% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 12% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 1 stars
July 5, 2024

Katana was great until they increased the price by 60% and took away features at the same time. Had been offered a discount which never came. Won't ever deal with this company ever again.

Gourmet Brownie
United Kingdom
About 3 years using the app
April 12, 2024

Nice features overall but a lot are behind expensive add-ons and pricing can change all of a sudden substantially. We got blindsided at the beginning of this year and are looking for other solutions.

We started using Katana just over two years ago and have been happy with the software. There are some bugs and some features that can be improved but overall it has been a big help.

We had the starter subscription at $99 with the Shop floor add-on at $199 per month. In February Katana ramped up the subscription fees and forced us into the higher subscription to be able to continue using the Shop floor add-on. We went from $349/month to now $598/month.

If you want to mark the location of a pallet with a bin number that is now another $199/month on top the other cost.

We have a lot of products invested a huge amount of time getting it setup so I really don't want to move. We are in the busy time of year so I don't have the time to invest in switching apps but I am definitely keeping my eye out for another options.

Rev Dynamics
United States
About 2 years using the app
Katana Cloud Inventory replied April 26, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We truly value the feedback from our long-standing users like you and understand that the recent changes in our pricing model have caused significant concern. Your review has gone around and been seen our management team.
We're sorry to hear that the updated pricing has put you in a difficult position, especially during a busy time for your business. It’s always our intention to enhance our service without causing undue stress or inconvenience to our customers.
The decision to adjust our pricing was made after careful consideration and analysis, aimed to support the continual growth of our features and services, so we provide increasing value long-term.

We realize, however, that changes like these can be challenging. We are here to support you every step of the way whether that be staying with us or transitioning away to another software as you mention you might.

Feel free to reach out directly to us at support@katanamrp.com, or of course via in-app chat.
Kurt @ Katana

March 29, 2024

We were a customer for 2 years then they blindsided us with a 4x price increase to our yearly subscription in January. When I questioned them about this sudden increase, Katana told us it was to bring their pricing in line with other MRPs. It certainly wasn't because the platform got 4x better. It's not as feature rich as other MRPs at the same price point. And this little stunt allowed us to reevaluate our situation. We've since moved to another MRP -I refuse to support a business that doesn't respect its customers.

Popov Leather®
Canada
Over 3 years using the app
Katana Cloud Inventory replied April 5, 2024

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We understand your concern and appreciate your business.
The decision to change our subscription offerings was made after careful consideration and necessary to continue to deliver excellent service and product/feature development to our customers.
We do our best to give our customers ample advanced warning of any subscription changes and always offer support via our in-app Support Chat. Furthermore, we offer the option to schedule a call with a dedicated Success Manager to discuss subscription plan optimization and the individualized effects of plan changes on our customers.
Regardless, we understand that price and plan changes are never easy and that ultimately they do not work out for everyone. We’re here to help in your move away from Katana but also happy to discuss your needs and feedback further, should you like to continue to use Katana.
All the best,
Christopher @ Katana

March 24, 2024

Katana is overpriced, glitchy, and lacking features. The price I originally signed up to was quickly tripled or quadrupled and I was unsubscribed to the plan I had signed up to - by katana. There are companies charging the same price as katana is now charging that have much more functionality for the same price. CIN7 and some others.

You should be completely disgraced by unsubscribing your existing customers and forcing them on to your new plan at an exorbitant amount extra.

10 / 10 I would not recommend katana to an enemy.

Common Rail Cowboys
Australia
5 months using the app
Katana Cloud Inventory replied March 27, 2024

Hi. We understand that for some customers the recent pricing changes have been difficult, sorry to see you go!
All updates to our pricing model were based evaluating our customers' needs first, and the new pricing is designed to reflect the value we’ve built and continue to build, as well as the comprehensive support we provide day in, day out.

February 10, 2024

Was great when starting, but now with the new price a $600 monthly price jump to keep the API access we had to jump ship and write our own system.

Katana was simple and had great support, but it is not mature enough of a product to demand $1000 a month. Especially when you are not getting any new features with the price jump, the 30 requests per minute on the api was also very limiting when adding onto the platform. Shopify direct API has about a 1000 requests for the same time frame.

I was hoping to keep my company on katana but we cant afford the new pricing models.

Maybe they can add some more features to make it more of a seasoned product but its not ready yet.

DirtBound Offroad
United States
10 months using the app
Katana Cloud Inventory replied February 21, 2024

Thanks for the review and feedback, we appreciate it!
On our API, we are investigating what the top rate limit that we can offer safely without negatively affecting the API experience can be today. We're aware it's currently on the conservative side, and that helps us ensure the reliability for all customers currently using it. It will likely increase significantly and will perhaps be on more plan levels too, probably not soon enough for your team though, unfortunately it seems.
On the pricing side of things, we've made the updates based on evaluating our customers' needs first, as our top priority is continuing to deliver top-notch services and unparalleled value and support. The new pricing allows us to deliver that value.

January 16, 2024

I installed the app which didn't work for me, as it over complicated things. I uninstalled within the 14 day window and they still charged me $US129. It resulted in my shop being frozen for 2 days because the charge wasn't paid and I lost sales. Now I have to chase them to try to get my money back as I had to pay the charge to get my shop reopen. Not impressed.

Zero Refill
New Zealand
11 days using the app
Katana Cloud Inventory replied January 29, 2024

Thanks for being with us and trying out Katana, your refund should be with you in full.
We welcome you back if you need an inventory management solution in the future! :)

March 12, 2024

I installed this app and in a matter of minutes the app changed and modified all my inventory in all the locations in my store with no sense, manual adjustments up and down in all the products for no reason, I had to correct the inventory manually after uninstalling the app.

Para Paquetes
Mexico
12 minutes using the app
Katana Cloud Inventory replied March 15, 2024

Hi, sorry to hear you had troubles with the inventory sync!

The default settings when setting up the integration is for the sync to work only one way, from Shopify to Katana and therefore for your situation to have zero chance of happening, with data only flowing to Katana not from it.

There is an option to turn on the sync two-way, which must have been selected during the installation.
We recommend to only select this option after fully understanding the integration, and when you are confident in your Katana data (which must also be present for a two-way sync) as the integration is powerful and does sync both ways, once enabled.

If you'd like to reach out in-app or to support@katanamrp.com we will be happy to see how we help, or alternatively follow the steps found here:
https://support.katanamrp.com/en/articles/5968283-connecting-shopify

January 9, 2024

Every time I install they jumble up all of my inventory, in some cases add 20+ items to 300 different skus! what a headache.

Really Cool Living
United States
About 21 hours using the app
Katana Cloud Inventory replied January 29, 2024

Sorry to hear about your experience setting up the integration, it's no doubt frustrating to have all your inventory jumbled up!

We're not sure what exactly happened in your case. On initial integration, please follow the guide shown here:
https://support.katanamrp.com/en/articles/5968286-shopify-integration-overview
The integration is powerful and can make syncs both ways, so be sure on what you select/deselect on initial integration — you can always empower more options later!

Our support team would also love to help out troubleshooting too, reach out to us in-app or via support@katanamrp.com

Edited September 5, 2019

Great App! I love how simple it is to use. It has helped my business become way more efficiente! I higly recomend this app for any small manufacturing operation!

Flor de Venus
Mexico
Almost 5 years using the app
Katana Cloud Inventory replied September 9, 2019

Happy to hear that! Thank you for the support! 😊

June 18, 2020

Katana has been a tremendous help for our business. Specifically, It has made Bundling our products and managing their inventory much easier. Another feature that has really helped out with inventory is reorder minimums. Since implementing we always know we have enough stock to produce what we need without guessing or counting each time.

Almanac Supply Company
United States
About 4 years using the app
Katana Cloud Inventory replied July 21, 2020

Thank you for growing with us!