Locksmith

Locksmith

Built for Shopify

Reviews (487)

Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 89% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this app for its ability to manage access to various site areas, including hiding prices and products until approval. It's ideal for businesses with exclusive pricing or digital content. The setup is easy, performance reliable, and customer service quick and helpful. Merchants appreciate the pay-what-you-feel-fair pricing model, seamless integration with user registration, and automatic access cancellation. The app can also hide out-of-stock products in different countries and for private launches.

Edited January 25, 2019

Useful app for when you need granular control of certain Shopify features.
Most useful feature I observed was manual locking where you can use their liquid snippets in your liquid templates to hide/display features.

Strive Direct Co
United States
2 months using the app
March 14, 2018

Absolutely Amazing!! I have quite a few of my own websites and ones I've created for others. I use Locksmith in all of them.

I tried a couple other apps temporarily until customer support was crap and rude. Made me go back to Locksmith with great customer support including a bonus of excellent personalities.

Mota Ab
Canada
2 days using the app
May 24, 2018

Fantastic app! Not sure what I did without it. Seems like the possibilities only end with your imagination. Thank you Isaac!

Stockholm Rose Designs
Sweden
2 days using the app
December 12, 2019

I've not actually used the app but the pricing structure is rediculous, why should customers on higher shopify plans be penalised?

TYF
United Kingdom
About 1 month using the app
Lightward replied January 14, 2020

Hey there! We could have communicated our pricing policy better at the time; thanks for letting me know how you feel about it. I've updated our listing to be clearer. For the record: our pricing is a conversation, and we start with a suggested price that's based on what you pay for Shopify. Different merchants get very different value from the product, and because that value is impossible to fully predict, we begin with that estimate. If that price doesn't work for you, we ask you to let us know what price *does* feel good for you – and we proceed from there, letting you know what works for us, until we reach a price that works for us both. You can find the whole policy at uselocksmith.com/pricing.

December 14, 2022

Great app, worked perfectly for what I needed (hiding prices from the site) and their support team helped me implement the code so promptly!

RG Cosmetics Professional
United States
1 day using the app
August 7, 2022

The app worked very well but when the trial expired, all my products got locked and were not accessible by any customers, even the products that were not locked. I had to pay a subscription fee to go back in the app and disable the locks. I was under the impression that all the locks would be disabled when the trial expired, which would be the logical next step. So I did not go into the app and disable it. After a few days, I realized all my products were locked and the app had disappeared. Cold sweat!!!! I did receive a warning email but it was not clear. The logical process would be to disable locksmith when the trial ends and let all products be visible again. They hold us hostage instead of letting us try the product and disable it when the trial is over. Not impressed by that.
No amount of: "we told you by email" will make this process better. It feels like a scam to me.

Milpali
United States
About 1 month using the app
Lightward replied August 9, 2022

Hey there! There’s no need to subscribe to Locksmith to unlock your content. Locksmith can be disabled from the settings page in the app, using the “Disable Locksmith” button.

I can definitely appreciate why finding that your products are still locked when you didn’t expect them to be would be an unpleasant surprise! For this reason we mention specifically in the emails that are automatically sent out, that a subscription doesn’t need to be started, and that customer access to your locked content will be disabled when a trial lapses. We do not hold stores hostage.

​I understand why you might expect Locksmith to automatically disable your locks. The reason we've chosen not to automatically disable all of a store's locks is because some shops may let their trials lapse before subscribing, or they may simply need to update their billing information with Shopify, causing the payment to not be processed.

​If that happens, we want to make sure the locks are still in place, since shops rely heavily on us to protect content. We're first and foremost an access control application, and so disabling locks could open up shops to showing content or selling products to folks who shouldn't have access.

Thank you for your feedback. These are important points that we want merchants to be informed about. Again, I know that situation wasn't ideal, to say the least, and I'm sorry for the confusion and issue.

We are now looking into how we can improve messaging in the app to make it clearer that a subscription isn’t needed to disable or uninstall Locksmith, and that a subscription is only required to keep using Locksmith.

All the best!

- Tristan

August 17, 2021

Trying to set up a lock to my store and the app doesn't do that. I've tried several different combinations to make it work and it doesn't. There isn't a number to call to talk to someone which means this will take hours or days to resolve, rather than a few minutes. Was told this was a good app and will continue to try and make it work.

Kitchener OutGROW OutPLAY
Canada
About 1 month using the app
Lightward replied August 26, 2021

Hey there! Looking at followup emails, it does sound like you were able to create the Locksmith setup you needed – locking storefronts *is* something Locksmith does well, and it looks like you're all squared away.

To the rest of your note: thanks for letting this know how this went for you. All of our support *is* offered via email, with a turnaround time up to 24 hours, and often much less. (A note to this effect is included in the auto-response we send to all new support messages.)

This works well in most circumstances – but not all, and that's absolutely legitimate, and those stories are important too. It's our intent to be as straightforward as possible about what we do and do not offer, so that you can choose the tool that works best for what you need – whether that's Locksmith, or another tool with a different support structure.

If you do choose to keep using Locksmith, you know where to find us. :) We'll always do our best to help.

Cheers,

-Isaac

March 19, 2022

The trial did what it was supposed to with some issues, but I was shocked they expected me to pay $30/month for this functionality. Feels like a scam. Also have problems where some of my pages aren't working right so now I have to spend a day cleaning up the code even though the app was uninstalled. Proceed with caution.

Hype Color
United States
About 1 month using the app
Lightward replied March 20, 2022

❤️ ❤️ Our pricing is Pay What Feels Good – see lightward.com/pricing for details. It sounds like the suggested price you saw *didn't* feel good to you, which is great – per the policy, it just means that this is the part where we talk about what price *does* feel good to you instead. :) If you want to keep using Locksmith, drop us a line at team@uselocksmith.com to talk pricing. That conversation is always open, to everyone, at all times. We work hard to make sure that every dollar that moves here is moved in good faith, and good feeling.

About the uninstall issue you mentioned: Locksmith only ever auto-adds code that it is capable of auto-removing. That's a hard constraint built into the system itself, but it *does* mean that removal needs to happen through the app. (Shopify removes Locksmith's ability to clean up after itself the moment that Locksmith is removed from the apps list.) Locksmith *does* auto-remove its own code if you disable or delete all your locks, or if you disable Locksmith entirely from within the app. But, with the app removed from the apps list, it sounds like you were left in a bit of a bind – to get out of that, start here: https://docs.uselocksmith.com/article/221-removing-locksmith

And, as always, if there are ever issue *during* the trial period, we're an email away. ❤️

I hope this note gets to you; we'll also drop you a line via direct email to make sure you've got what you need. We'll always do our best to help. :)

All the best,

-Isaac

March 13, 2014

Seems to work ok.. but it has zero support and I have an issue with my wholesale items being searchable in my shop. I emailed them weeks ago and never heard back.

Andrea Bonelli Jewelry
United States
About 1 month using the app
January 23, 2022

So, I haven't actually finished fully integrating the app into my store, however, from what I can tell, the potential of what this app can do is far beyond the competition. I contacted the support team and Tristan gave me the most intelligent and effortful guidance. The only downside of this situation is my limited tech IQ. Anyone with a decent enough tech background would be off to the races with this app. I can write another review once I see this through and make my full attempt at integrating this app, but if there's one thing I appreciate it's intelligence, and the team at Locksmith seem to have it in spades. I probably need to look at their stock options.

PT Rehab Doc
United States
About 24 hours using the app