Overall rating
4.4
Counts per rating level
  • 82% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its effective management of pre-orders and backorders, maintaining sales and customer satisfaction. They praise its user-friendly interface, easy setup, and customization options. Features like automatic pre-order status for out-of-stock items and variant level pre-order handling are particularly useful. The app's dashboard provides valuable analytics and integrates seamlessly with other apps and themes. The support team is known for quick and efficient problem-solving. Some merchants report increased sales and improved customer service.

Edited November 13, 2023

App would be decent if it actually stayed consistent. The support staff is not helpful nor are they responsive. They rolled out an update on Nov 2nd without notifying and it erased all our backorder data and we've had to redo everything. To top it off, the add to cart button no longer works and customers are unable to add anything to their cart. Sometimes the button does work but there is no confirmation when you do add the item to your cart. It doesn't show up until you open up your checkout - and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Overall the team there does not seem to have the support infrastucture to accommodate it's clients. We've been having this issue for over a week and their support team/develpors have been unable to help. Currently seeking alternative app.

**Update 11/13 - finally received an email response from the Amai team claiming to have fixed the issue but #1 the issue was still not fixed and #2 the change they did make affected our entire store and disabled our "add to cart" button so we lost sales for over 16hrs causing a customer service nightmare and over $6k in lost sales. Did they not even check their finished work??! Probably the worst app i've ever downloaded in the 8 yrs of running this store.

FITScrubs® Inc
United States
Over 7 years using the app
November 15, 2023

Amai always answers any questions we have so promptly. They make sure that the issue is resolved and we are comfortable with how to navigate the problem is it pops up again. Thank you!

Barbara's Needlepoint
United States
Almost 3 years using the app
September 8, 2023

App has been great so far, UI is easier to understand over most apps on the Shopify store. And the support team are responsive and quick to fulfill any requests you have with modifying the assets to your needs. Cannot Recommend enough!

Flaman Fitness
Canada
2 months using the app
October 24, 2023

Thank you for fast problem solving. Communication was easy an all problems have been fixed.

Wigiwama
Latvia
11 months using the app
September 4, 2023

Awesome app with awesome customer service. I have been using the app for years now and no complaints whatsoever. Whenever there's a glitch, customer service resolves the problem immediately. Five stars!

Wildash London
United Kingdom
About 3 years using the app
October 24, 2023

Great customer service, solved an issue within my theme in just a few hours.

Primalash
United Kingdom
28 days using the app
August 9, 2023

We are amazed by this app! The level of customer service provided is truly exceptional - the response time is impressively swift. The array of features they provide appears to be virtually boundless, and we are excited to continue uncovering its potential. Our experience thus far has been nothing short of remarkable!

Flaschenpost Gin
Germany
8 months using the app
August 18, 2023

amazing app & service! had a small issue with plugin integration with one of my pre-existing apps, but Jasper was quick to respond and give me a solution. A+

Harper and Lo
United States
About 2 months using the app
August 30, 2023

Expensive for what it is. When I uninstalled it, it sent notifications to my customers without me knowing! Brutal.

OSHENCO
Canada
11 months using the app
Amai replied September 5, 2023

Thank you for your feedback. We had checked our outgoing email logs, the last email sent was 30 August 2023 19:09:59 (UTC). Based on Shopify's uninstall logs, you had uninstalled from the admin panel at 30 August 2023 19:22:00 (UTC). There are no further email sent after the uninstallation.

If you have a copy of the sent email, please send it to us at support@amai.com. Please note that once the app is removed at the Shopify Admin > Apps, our app will no longer have any access to send emails. However, we would hope you can send us a copy of the email so we can further check on this.

September 3, 2023

Customer service is really helpful. Fixed the issues I had promptly.

HARU
Nigeria
Almost 3 years using the app