Overall rating
4.5
Counts per rating level
  • 83% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its effective management of pre-orders and backorders, with features like SKU level customization, pre-order status updates, and user-friendly interface. Many commend its reliable performance over the years and compatibility with various themes. However, some reported issues with the app not blocking orders after reaching stock limits. It's recommended for managing waitlists, launching pre-sales, and altering the appearance of sales buttons.

September 19, 2020

It can let me filter by vendor, collection, product type, etc, however it can't edit the setting by the result in bulk, you can just select the result as shown, if more than 10 results, it take time to edit them page by page. Also it's doesn't support other apps to ask product in bundles.

AnnaShopaholic
Hong Kong SAR
6 days using the app
Amai replied October 19, 2020

Thank you for your feedback on this feature. I had posted your feedback onto our features request message board here:

https://amai.canny.io/admin/board/pre-order-manager/p/change-pre-order-settings-by-filter

December 11, 2019

A great looking app with some nice features (I really like the ability to set an end date for preorders) BUT this app will literally break your website load times if you have a large number of SKUs.

Guf
Australia
4 days using the app
Amai replied December 11, 2019

We're sorry to hear that you've faced difficulties using our app and would like to find a solution,
Please respond to our e-mail or contact us via live chat, so we could assist you asap.
Looking forward to your reply!

July 21, 2020

It was easy to set up and use, and worked for the 2 days I needed it. I uninstalled it, but it left 2 tags on every single product that customers can see in Filters (spo-default and spo-disabled). Now I'm having to clean up and remove all manually which is time consuming. Shopify should crack down on apps that don't fully remove code when uninstalling. Using tags is not a good way to accomplish pre-order status.

HempLily
United States
4 days using the app
Amai replied July 21, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. This is a known issue with Shopify that codes will be leftover in the Themes after uninstallation. We would also hope this issue could be fixed as this is a common issue that developers are facing. You may refer to the URL here for more clarification: https://community.shopify.com/c/Shopify-Apps/How-to-uninstall-apps-complete/td-p/665533

Hope this clarifies that the situation that you had mentioned is beyond our control and if you need further assistance with the removal, we are glad to help.

Edited August 7, 2020

I installed the app and non of my buttons changed to "pre-order". The app also added two tags to my shop which show up on every product and my side bar which I CANNOT REMOVE. Not useful for me.

BerdooWorld
United States
4 days using the app
Amai replied August 10, 2020

Hi, as mentioned in our FAQ, some themes require additional coding to ensure the Pre-Order button is shown as they are coded differently. The tags shown at your side bar could be hidden as well.

https://help.amai.com/knowledge/why-is-the-pre-order-button-not-showing

June 3, 2020

Great app, does exactly what it's meant to. Fantastic support too - there was a small styling issue with the button, but Kiryl helped me out very quickly. Love it!

Nooks
Canada
About 3 hours using the app
Amai replied June 5, 2020

Thanks so much! We really appreciate your feedback :)

April 27, 2022

Amazin App!! It is Everything that I have been looking for in terms of managing Pre-Order. Easy to set up and responsive customer services. I set up everything in less than 15 minutes and 10 minutes after installing I already had 2 pre-order orders $$$. Marketing and the cost of customer acquisition are so high if you are running out of stock even if for a few days, you NEED this app!!! Coming soon and Notify me are amazing bonuses of this app. The only downside at this point is that the Notify can't be linked to Klaviyo yet because still in Beta but it is promising.

The Shower Head Store
United States
About 2 hours using the app
Amai replied April 29, 2022

Thank you for the review and your recommendation. We are always ready to assist so don't hesitate to reach out
Good Luck to your business ;)

January 24, 2021

Would love to give this app 5 star, but the app does not work and support seems to be missing. Currently my pre order / add to cart is missing after activating it.

Bicycle Booth
Canada
2 days using the app
Amai replied January 25, 2021

Hi, thank you for the feedback. Based on our records, we had called you (but no answer) 5 hours after you had sent a ticket via the chat. We had sent an email shortly after.

April 18, 2020

Support was fabulous. Right there with us as we were were setting up. Already up and running. Highly recommended.

playhao - Toy Shop Singapore
Singapore
About 2 hours using the app
Amai replied April 21, 2020

Thank you so much! So good to know that client is satisfied with our service :)

February 28, 2017

Would give it 0 stars if i could, horrible app, even worse customer support. Could not get it to work on our theme. Customer service response took 24 hours. The "fix" that the customer support person did broke our site and made loading products take 30+ seconds. Disappointed with this app and service.

Slinkysofatable
Australia
2 days using the app
November 20, 2020

STAY AWAY!!!
Trash app, crashed and destroyed my shopify store!!!!
Had to pay a developer $500 to clean all my code and delete this trash app. DONT YOU DARE USING THIS!

99Jersey
United States
2 days using the app