Pre‑order Now ‑ PreOrder

Pre‑order Now ‑ PreOrder

by Website On-Demand

Sell Pre-order, Out-of-Stock, Sold Out & Coming Soon Products

4.6 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    85% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 2 stars
    (4)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

61 - 70 of 502 reviews

BRUCE+BOLT

Very easy and quick to set up 30 minutes. Got my first Pre Order order 5 minutes after setting it up

Developer reply

August 10, 2020

Hello to our friends from BRUCE+BOLT!

We sincerely appreciate you leaving this 5-star review! Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you require any further assistance! Happy selling :-)

Melissa & The Pre-order Now Support Team

The Vault Queen

App is extremely buggy and has caused a number of errors on my site. When I asked the dev for help it sounded like they knew what my issue was but they told me to get help from another app developer that I had trialed another pre-order software from. Kind of a lousy attitude to have since I'm giving the Pre-Order Now developers money, but whatever. Customer service isn't for everyone. As soon as I find a replacement I'm uninstalling this app.

Developer reply

August 10, 2020

Hello!
This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager with Pre Order Now. Thanks for leaving this review... looks like instead of asking you to contact the other app's support to remove their residual code, we should have offered to comb through and remove it ourselves.

I am very sorry about that. How can we make that up to you? We pride ourselves in giving super-awesome support every time, but I see how this could have been done better, and I'm coaching our team on that now.

Please reply and let me know? I'd like to make 100% sure you are taken care of from here...

Sean & The Pre Order Now Support Team

Momma's Shop

I love this app. It makes preordering so much easier while also maintaining a good ROI with facebook ads. Usually our ROAS would drop significantly on backorders

Developer reply

August 10, 2020

Hello to our friends from Momma's Shop!

Many thanks to you for leaving this great review! We appreciate you using our app, we're extremely happy it has been useful to you! Don't hesitate to reach out to us if you require any further assistance! :-)

Melissa & The Pre-order Now Support Team

Scoreholio

Works as expected and super easy to use. Clicks right on when inventory gets to 0 and I can set new products to pre-order. Easy Peasy

Developer reply

August 7, 2020

Hello to our friends from Scoreholio!

Thank you for leaving this great review! We appreciate you using our app! Don't hesitate to reach out to us if you require further assistance! :-)

Melissa & The Pre-order Now Support Team

Ride and Go Electrics

This is a good app, it does what I wanted it to do. I would like it better if I could batch apply changes to multiple products and their variants at one time so their could be improvements done with it yet. I experienced one glitch with it that may have cost me a sale but as soon as I brought it to the attention of the app support team they were very responsive and had the problem fixed right away. I would not want to lose this app but I do hope they improve it over time. It is very user friendly.

Developer reply

August 6, 2020

Hello to our friends fromRide and Go Electrics!

Super cool of you to leave us this positive review! We appreciate you using our app! Is there any way we can serve you better to earn that fifth star? Do let us know - it is truly helpful! We hope Ride and Go Electrics is super successful online!

Melissa & The Pre-order Now Support Team

Good Wave

5-stars from me! Really helpful support staff, and saves a ton of time to set expectations on the store throughout the checkout process, from the homage, to product page, and lastly through the cart and post-sale, for products that are not in stock. My only criticism would be to expand the pricing to allow more than 5 & 10 products on the lower tiers.. this seems a bit rudimentary as the additional tiers do not offer significantly more value, simply the number of products you can use for the app. Otherwise, a great purchase.

Developer reply

August 6, 2020

Hello friends at Good Wave

Thanks for leaving this FANTASTIC review, we're glad that our app has been useful to you! :-) Thanks for your feedback as well, we really appreciate it and we will definitely take what you have said into consideration for future updates. We wish Good Wave huge success online!

Melissa & The Pre-Order Now Support Team

Biz-3 Delivery eBike

I'm trying this app for my eBike store. Setup so far is easy and straight-forward. We will tell you about the overall experience soon!

Developer reply

August 5, 2020

Hello friends at Biz-3 Delivery eBike

Thanks for leaving this awesome review, we're glad that our app has been useful to you! :-) Don't hesitate to reach out to us with any questions you may have.

Melissa & The Pre-Order Now Support Team

Pepper + Vetiver

BEWARE!!!! This app does not connect properly with shopify. We set up the pre-order button and it appeared to be fine for several days before the Pre-Order button disappeared and changed to "Add to Cart" making it appear that the product was in stock (since the app requires you to set the product to "continue selling when out of stock). Over 100 orders were placed before we noticed this and they offered NO solution to communicate with the customers that were not aware the item was backordered!!!! No help whatsoever! BEWARE of this app. It will not notify you if there is a glitch and upset A LOT of our customers. This is very damaging to our brand and we would NOT recommend this app.

Sweet Sweat Canada

I used this app to generate more revenue with sold out products and it works well. The only thing I would suggest is making the ribbon on the product a little larger...other than that, the app works well to launch pre-orders.

Developer reply

August 5, 2020

Hello to our friends from Sweet Sweat Canada!

Super cool of you to leave us this positive review! We appreciate you using our app! Thank you for your feedback we will definitely take this into consideration for future updates. We hope Sweet Sweat Canada is super successful online!

Melissa & The Pre-order Now Support Team

Terrace Cult

Avoid the app, we trialled it for 3 days. Automatically changed our sizings when customers chose a different size. People orders XXXL and it was changing it to S. Seen a few reviews which are the same. Cost us quite a bit over the past 3 days. Avoid. Plenty of returns now have to be made

Developer reply

August 3, 2020

Hello - this is Sean, the Customer Success Manager with Pre Order Now.

Thanks SO much for leaving this message for us. Sounds like there was a conflict with your theme or with another app that you have on your store. Either way we could have fixed that for you in short order... If you had emailed us we would have had it solved within a few hours. Im very sorry that you had this issue, and that it caused you to have incorrect orders. :(

Would you be willing to give us another chance? I'd be happy to give you extended free access to our app if you'd like to give us another try. And our technical gurus here can fix that conflict either way for you...

Let me know? We'd love the chance to help you with this - some rare themes do conflict with smaller areas of our code. But we can fix it quite easily.

Here to help,
Sean H & The Pre Order Now Support Team