Overall rating
4.8
Counts per rating level
  • 94% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants find this app beneficial for providing timely alerts and warnings during the add-to-cart process, such as product details, geographical restrictions, and policy acknowledgements. It's also useful for managing pre-orders, promoting discounts, and updating customers on shipping or backorder statuses. Merchants appreciate its easy installation and efficient customer service. It's seen as a vital tool for running campaigns and informing customers about personalized products.

February 1, 2024

We use this app to alert our customers to certain criteria within their order, based upon geographical location, warnings specific to certain products, and to ensure our policies are noticed and acknowledged. We have had been using this app for a long time (4 years), but suddenly encountered an issue with product warnings no longer populating. I sent an email to their customer support, and received a prompt reply from Julia, stating that the problem had been diagnosed, a fix had been implemented, and the problem had been resolved. I really appreciate their development team's prompt action and resolution. This app helps our business immensely and I couldn't ask for better support!

Jenks Hatchery Inc.
United States
Over 4 years using the app
January 4, 2024

21st December, a few days before Christmas, we needed an urgent fix to one of our warnings for Christmas delivery. Julia got it working within a day. We got really prompt service at a very busy time of the year.
What a 10/10 experience!

Oceans North Seafood
New Zealand
8 months using the app
November 25, 2023

Great app. Very useful in a gamet of ways. From customer warnings to delivery updates to general expectations at checkout there is no limit to the custom message md you can leave for your unique customer….. whatever the product, service or application.
We have had it installed on our Shopify retail store for well over a year and the one service appeal that I sent in was addressed….almost immediately. Keep up the great work….Warnify for life!!!

Scottsdale Belt Company
United States
Almost 2 years using the app
November 29, 2023

Very useful app. Does exactly what it says, is customizable without being complicated, and was exactly what I needed to add warnings during the add to cart process.

I did have an issue with the popup not working with my PageFly pages, but the dev team at Elastic-soft had made the required modifications to my store within a few days to get things working. Excellent customer support.

Highly recommended!

Fortus Pilates
Canada
6 days using the app
November 18, 2023

I highly recommend this app. Their customer service team is exceptionally prompt in responding to your emails and efficiently assisting you.

Sol Thru Wear
Australia
Almost 2 years using the app
February 2, 2024

Great app. The client service team is responsive and helpful.

Doomlings
United States
9 days using the app
October 10, 2023

Very useful app, and by far, the only app i’ve encountered that does the job! Using the app for pre-order warnings, needed some customization, and the support team was quick to respond! Thank you so much for the help and for creating this app!

RADA COLLAB
Philippines
Over 3 years using the app
January 8, 2024

It's not working at all

FITKAZ
Hong Kong SAR
About 1 hour using the app
EC Apps Sp z o o replied January 10, 2024

Hello,
We tried to contact you and help with the setup, but haven't got any reply.
According to our records, you were trying to setup a geo-targeted warning for Taiwan. Please note that a physical customer location is checked by default. So if you are physically not on Taiwan, the warning won't be shown to you. That's most likely the reason of your problem.
Please also note that checkout page warnings are not available for the stores on Shopify Basic, which is exactly your case. The warning can be shown for example on the Checkout button click instead.
Hope this helps. Please feel free to reach us out so we could address all your questions and help you with the setup.

November 23, 2023

Wonderful app, extremely useful for our store. The support team is very kind, fast and respectful. Will keep using this app for a long time!

MindShift
Chile
1 day using the app
March 5, 2024

The app works well, the customer service is even better. We needed a small change with how the warning is displayed with our pre-order products, and Julia responded quickly and the change was made perfectly after just one email. Thank you.

Donostia Foods
United States