Overall rating
4.8
Counts per rating level
  • 88% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its effective customer engagement and sales-boosting features. They value its automation, intuitive interface, and performance-based pricing. Unique features like conditional splits in the welcome flow and the "packs" feature are praised for their efficiency. The email capture function on the checkout page is effective in increasing abandoned cart emails and revenue. Support is quick and helpful, offering valuable strategies. The app is recognized for improving signup conversions, increasing sales conversion rates, and recovering abandoned carts.

Edited October 7, 2018

Recart really helps to transfer abandoned carts DIRECTLY to customers. I used it to create default templates when replying to my customers. This is so useful to reattract customers. kuvavakids.com benefitted so much from this, and Recart is helping us grow with the marketing budget and delivering an overall customer experience.

10/10 would recommend.

kuvava
Malaysia
About 2 hours using the app
October 16, 2017

Super ;)

Gadgetinnovation
France
About 2 hours using the app
April 19, 2018

Thank you very much for this amazing app! Highly recommended

Pearsstore
Israel
About 2 hours using the app
November 9, 2018

Recart is a great app that let you do many things and give you the power of choice and send msg to your customers in facebook messenger. very useful.

Dilphon
Pakistan
About 2 hours using the app
January 7, 2018

Just started and it looks good. and I am exploring yet

4urstyles
Canada
2 days using the app
December 27, 2018

Misleading app. Doesn't work as described.
Very disappointed in the service or Recart Messenger Marketing.

BRKLY.nl
Netherlands
2 days using the app
Recart replied March 21, 2019

Thank you for your review. We have contacted you via email but we haven’t heard back from you. 
It seems to be caused by a misunderstanding that we'd love to help you sort out. Please get back to us so that we can get to the bottom of your issue and so that you can have the user experience you were hoping for.
Looking forward to hearing from you.

August 31, 2018

try it out and see for yourself. It does what it says.

Exclusive Style Ro
Romania
About 2 hours using the app
Edited February 1, 2018

Such a shame! it looks like a great app with great potential but i just can't trust it work properly! I change something in the settings or on a campaign, it will either change back to its original settings or do nothing at all. nothing seems to work properly.

REALLY DISAPPOINTED

Vipuppies
United Kingdom
2 days using the app
Recart replied March 21, 2019

Thanks for the review, we always appreciate the feedback. :)

Is it possible that you've experienced this issue within a relatively small timeframe? It sounds like this was during a major update during which some users could've experienced minor down-time of their dashboard.

If you would like to give Recart another try, please don't hesitate in reaching out to us via email or via the Recart dashboard's chat and we'd be happy to reset your trial as well as answer any further questions you may have.

July 10, 2018

Works very good! If you have the budget i highly recommend this app, way better than email marketing

The Gadget Land
Netherlands
1 day using the app
October 28, 2018

Great application it help us to growth and go further with our business, we are very happy to use it, Thanks to all the team ;)

MaxDiscounts
United States
About 2 hours using the app