Bold Memberships , 296 reviews

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 76% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 12% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its ability to create a customizable membership model, effectively manage memberships, and integrate smoothly with Shopify, Stripe, and PayPal. Many find it user-friendly and easy to set up, leading to increased revenue and simplified operations. The customer service team is frequently praised for their exceptional support. The app has proven successful in various business models, including VIP programs and digital magazines, enhancing customer retention and sales.

July 12, 2018

Don't fall into the description trap this app says. You install the app and Step 5 (Subscription boxes) aren't listed. When I emailed support I was informed they no longer have a subscription box option in the app. They bait and switch. They tell me their Recurring Orders app has this feature. I don't need the option for customers to build their own subscription box. The whole point of going with this app was for the subscription box feature that is planned on our business side and not for the customer to build a monthly box with items they want. The recurring orders app charges a 1% feee for each box also.

Vector Quilts
United States
About 1 month using the app
October 16, 2022

Worst experience ever! The apps stopped working and generated damage on my website, then they sent a message saying that they had a problem and would probably display the wrong prices for the customers.

United States
29 days using the app
BOLD replied October 17, 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry for the experience you had. Our team is looking into the issues you have experienced. We thank you your patience. Please keep an eye out for further communication from our team.

April 25, 2018

If I could leave zero stars, I would. Absolutely nothing worked after they installed the app. When contacting support, I would only receive links to videos and articles (which I had already watched & read). I called twice, you don’t reach anyone but are told to leave a message. I have not been called back once. I have two open tickets on my help. I’m uninstalling and going tonfind a different app. So frustrating!

United States
21 days using the app
Edited June 14, 2019

Expectations not met. After being passed around like a trash that not one person wants to deal with we have got no further with this company. It has been over 10 days and we haven't had any progress. Dealing with a new person on every email we reply to is just ridiculous. This company should not have so many apps but just focus on doing one thing well. All it would take would be one person just to spend some time with us so we can resolve our issues. Little faith in working together long term.

Cali Tiger
17 days using the app
October 16, 2022

Would give 0 stars if I could. Terrible app, terrible support, they have made a mess of my store and cost me so much $. Their "developers" are clowns and their customer support is a joke they will only tell you pre-scripted answers. DO NOT USE ANY APP FROM BOLD. The apps will never work and when they don't they will just blame it on your theme, other apps, the weather, or any other random stupid excuse they can think of

United States
16 days using the app
BOLD replied October 17, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have had a less than positive experience so far. Our goal is to help you succeed. I have checked in with our support team and can confirm our team is actively working with you to find a solution that works for your store’s needs. We thank you so much for all of your patience.

March 22, 2017

If you have Bold Membership do the install be VERY CAUTIOUS! I failed to create a backup prior to their install and deeply regret it. After the install the app did not function as advertised - no members only area was created and could not get any help as to where or how to create it. The install also created cascading effects on my theme causing the pricing to completely disappear off my site, other formatting issues occurred.

As far as support goes, expect anywhere from 24-48hrs for email response time. Every time I replied to an email a different staff person from the Bold team would respond so I'd end up having to explain again. Needless to say I worked with four people from the Bold Membership team and got nowhere. I worked with Pixel Union to help sort out the pricing issue and they responded and said Bold was overriding the pricing display and could not help.

My store had to be closed for over a week to try and hunt down the errors that the Bold Membership had caused.

Alaskan Rose Boutique
United States
12 days using the app
March 19, 2019

Tried to get help, but never replied my message. Will never deal with these guys anymore. Thank you.

12 days using the app
BOLD replied March 20, 2019

Hello! We are so sorry to hear that you are having some trouble with our Memberships app. One of our support gurus sent you a message yesterday. Please respond when you are able to, and we will be sure to work on getting to the bottom of any issues you're having!

October 19, 2019

Your app is tough to understand. I've makes some tests and nothing works. And I don't talk about the installation. Dude, we are not coders or experts. Make your app more simple. I will not use it anymore.

KitchClever&co | Kitchen tools & Home improvement
11 days using the app
BOLD replied October 22, 2019

Hi there. We appreciate the feedback, and are very sorry to hear you find our Memberships app difficult to understand! We'd love to help you get the app up and running and help you understand it better.

We also understand that Liquid code can be difficult to understand, which is why we offer FREE installations of our Bold Memberships app! If you'd like to give the app another shot, we'd love to help you out with the installation, and setting up some memberships. Please respond to our most recent email if you're interested; we'd love to get it up and running for you.

July 31, 2018

HORRIBLE, never worked! This is app couldn't even download. It's been a nightmare

The Winning Brand
United States
10 days using the app
Edited December 13, 2015

I'm giving this a one star review because their customer service is non-existent. Completely unprofessional. Don't bother signing up for a time slot either, they won't call. Disappointing app for the most part too. The widget is very ugly when it's on your website. Also, when they installed their code, they broke my website. I had to go back to an older theme to get it fixed. Somehow they made it so my add to cart buttons wouldn't work. I really don't recommend this app at all. There are much better ones out there that don't require any special coding.

Elite Fitness Products
United States
8 days using the app