Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 79% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its customizable and user-friendly return management features. It offers various return options like refunds, store credits, exchanges, and replacements, enhancing the customer return experience. Merchants commend the app's tracking and store credit management capabilities, affordable pricing, and absence of hidden fees. The customer service is praised for its prompt and efficient support via chat and email. The app is suitable for businesses of all sizes and is known for its continuous improvements based on feedback.

June 1, 2020

Been using the app for some years now and it was doing an amazing job. But recently they have brought a lot of changes in it and nothing is working like before. I am not even able to access the app altogether. It keeps asking to make new profile and pay them again and again! Im furious!! Totally unreliable! My customers are filling the return forms but my team can't access them! The customers are shouting at us for delaying the returns!

About 3 years using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied June 2, 2020

Dear AfterShip Returns Center user,

We are so sorry if you feel that way. We apologize for the inconvenience that you’ve been facing lately.

We understand your frustration, as every little detail matters for your business. But we want to kindly remind you that the multi-membership could be the crux that causes your concern.

Returns Center has introduced multi-membership that allow you to run your store with less hassle. You can invite some teammates to your organization and each member is able to log in with their own account and get access to your organization. This is where your disruption might come from. If you try to log in with different email addresses, our system may reckon that there are from different new member to your organization. And that’s why you’re asked to set up new profile for several times.

You can subscribe a plan for multi-membership that best fits for your business. And if you don’t want any subscription, you could also allow all your teammates to log in Returns Center with the same email address. But please be aware that only one single login is allowed at the same time.

As our distinguished customer, we will try our best to improve your experience with us. Our support team has already reached out to you to help you set up quickly, so you can have your business running up well.

Edited August 11, 2020

Unreliable unfortunately.. Impossible to log in at various times. The app gets stuck in a continuous loop with the log-in page permanently attempting to load, reload etc. We've been unable to add additional users ("Members") to our account which means one single person has to handle the account. Support attempted to help initially however their repeated suggestions don't work. Additionally, the various apps which are produced by the developer are all too similarly branded. Each Homepage has identical colour scheme etc and it's never obvious which app you are trying to use.

United Kingdom
About 3 years using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied August 28, 2020

Thanks for the review, please be assured there are no such concerns anymore.
Please reply on the email thread and we can discuss this further on the email thread.

Edited April 19, 2018

Updated review after their change to the new app:
I used to like this app very much, but their decision to change to the new app is just absurd. Starting with ridiculous price of 40$ per month (really??), then followed by taking the app outside of Shopify dashboard (very uncomfortable) and ending in the new so-called new design of the returns page (tiny store logo, hero image non-responsive really, and most of all - no place or formatting options for the important returns policy information for the customers).... I´ll have to look for something else now, very disappointed...

My old review: Great app, incredible that it is free! Works perfectly for my shop www.lemiche.com till now and its very practical for the customers and the workflow, I´d definitely recommend it!

Almost 3 years using the app
Edited March 6, 2023

Useless Customer Support cannot provide any help with the issue. This doesn't allow us to provide the customer with the return label for 2 months. I even talked to their supervisor over the phone and got nothing! Our business struggles just because Aftership doesn't care about their long-term customers. They also ignore me in chat for the whole months already. We will switch to another tool.

United States
Almost 3 years using the app
Edited August 16, 2022

I'm changing my review to one star. Not because the app doesn't work, but because the support sucks so bad. It took ONE HOUR for someone to tell me where to update the merge tag contact info. Learn how to use your own app or train your support. This happens literally every time I reach out to support. I end up in a foul mood because something that should be easy and fast isn't. Love how this app helps me automate and organize my store returns. It's easy to set up and use. I spend zero time searching my emails or updating a spreadsheet thanks to this app. One day I hope to use the app to its fullest potential.

Dirty Jane
Almost 3 years using the app
June 4, 2018

Really good app but not available in French so unfortunately I can't use it at all while I already use the regular Aftership order tracking app...
Will change my rating when I will able to use it and test it.

Almost 3 years using the app
August 21, 2020

Worst customer support ever.
They are not able to answer simple questions. Furthermore,
they are not able to answer all questions.

Additionally, they are sending out random wrong emails to our customers even though the email notifications are not ENABLED!!!

We pay a shit load of money for this app for an overwhelming bad service as well as not working automation.

We are in the search of a new tool.
I can only recommend to not use it. In my 6 month with this app I hadn't any good experience.

Before I forget. The "HTML" Email is not able to process main styling. That means that if you design an Email in an HTML Builder you have to go manually into the code to fix the email.

aava swim - ocean’s favorite
Almost 3 years using the app
Edited August 8, 2022

We had the free version of the app for the longest time (about 2 years), and the free version had the ability to allow customers to request a refund so many days after the package was delivered to the customer. Today, we get an email from a customer saying they wanted to exchange a pair of shoes for another size, but they could not because the returns center portal said that the order is not within our return policy even though the package was delivered 2 days ago and was well within the return policy. I messaged the Aftership support team about this, and they replied saying they decided to switch my return policy settings to exclude refund requests so many days after the customer has placed the order - not when the package has been delivered without telling us at all that they switched the abilities of the free plan recently. So here we are, unable to process a refund because the app itself switched our settings. The reason? Because they wanted to paywall the feature and make you download their substandard Aftership tracking app as well. Now, that simple free setting of allowing a person to request a refund after so many days of delivery has been paywalled to a feature exclusively found in the Premium Plan of Aftership at a $239 USD a month and forces you to have the Aftership tracking app installed. The repercussions? Negative store reviews directed towards our business and negative word of mouth. This app is not worth your time nor effort as their staff is incompetent - clearly demonstrated with mediocre responses such as "we understand" and "sorry for the inconvenience". Obviously, this app does not comprehend the concept of delivery times. You cannot have a store operate with a refund setting that initiates directly after the customer has ordered the product, as you cannot predict how long that product is going to take to get to their residence. Some packages take days to be delivered and some take weeks depending on the customer's location. Our advice for a return center is to look elsewhere, unless you want to pay $239 USD a month for an essential refund setting.

United States
Almost 3 years using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied August 8, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had. However, this is not the experience we want to provide to our users.

Your feedback has been registered. You are our valued user, and we are committed to providing the best support at all times.
I would also like to inform you that we didn't make any changes for our existing users. As per investigation we found that your subscription was cancelled earlier due to card was declined and you resumed the services again recently as per new pricing plan and that's the reason you are not getting the feature to set the return window on the basis of Delivery Date.

However, one of our support team member sent you an email to fix this for you. We are looking forward to hear you on email.

Ankush Kumar
Team AfterShip

February 1, 2021

So complex app. Miss leading support pages and caused so many bugs before and after I tried to use on 2 different stores

United States
Over 2 years using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied February 1, 2021


Apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Give us a last opportunity to get all your issues resolved and make you a happy customer!

One of the experts will reach you in order to assist with your queries.

Kind regards,

October 14, 2022

VIOLATES YOUR AND YOUR CUSTOMER'S PRIVACY LAWS. BEWARE - If you are using this app you are breaking US and EU laws. This app stores all you customers email data, as confirmed by their service rep (I dont know what other details). To verify this claim, you will see that even if you change the email associated with the order, the App will use the old email id from "their database" to verify the return. This is scary, shocking and should not be allowed by Shopify.

Makemake Organics
United States
Over 2 years using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied October 14, 2022

Thank you for your Feedback.

It is unfortunate to know that you didn't have the best experience using our app regarding create a return request after updated an email. For that we've shared the steps so that you can update the contact information in Shopify and it will be updated on Returns Center as well automatically .

Also, I would like to inform you that we are really concerned about security & privacy of our merchants and their customers. All data are stored on the cloud through Amazon Web Services and Google Cloud Platform only for few days.

We really work hard to make our app user-friendly and provide a great support experience. We are also waiting for your revert on an email for a quick fix of this issue.

Team Returns Center