SendOwl , 159 reviews

Overall rating
4.4
Counts per rating level
  • 84% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its seamless Shopify integration and automation of digital product delivery. It's praised for its reliability, performance, and product bundling capabilities. Features like PDF stamping, download limit options, and free order sending are valued. Merchants also like the customization of the download page and email templates. The customer support is often commended for its responsiveness. The app's pricing is deemed reasonable and its analytics and reporting features are well-received. Merchants report that it has made selling digital products more efficient and stress-free.

April 21, 2023

Works smoothly and allows us to bundle products together easily for specific variants on Shopify. I also love that:
- You can delivery in various formats, from redirect link to file upload to drip, to a service.
- through SendOwl we can send product updates to all our customers.
- when you process a refund on Shopify it automatically locks file access as well on SendOwl (but you can undo that if customer still needs access)
- able to set up a link to the downloads page from all the customer touch points, like thank you page, order page, and order confirmation email.

Frump Fighters
United States
About 4 years using the app
SendOwl replied April 23, 2023

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and experience with SendOwl, it means a lot to all of us. We are really glad to hear the integration is smooth and easy for your business needs. Thanks again!

March 23, 2023

I've been using SendOwl on my Shopify store for years, and it's honestly made selling digital products so much easier. The setup was simple, and I appreciate how it automates deliveries while still giving me control over download links. It's great to see my customers have a smooth experience, and I'm happy I can rely on SendOwl to keep things running smoothly. The whole process has become efficient and stress-free, which is exactly what I need!

Vuetify
United States
About 3 years using the app
SendOwl replied March 23, 2023

Wow, thank you for such a glowing review, we are very happy to know that everything is working well for you. But of course, if something does arise, please reach out to us. We are always happy to help. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with SendOwl!

June 26, 2023

I have very much enjoyed using SendOwl. It's been an app that has given me 0 issues. I understand with technology sometimes servers are going to go do for whatever reason, and SendOwl is always incredibly quick to get things working again the few times it has happened over the last 4 years. Very happy with this app, their customer service, and pricing. I will continue to use this app for my website!

Monogram Moments
United States
About 4 years using the app
SendOwl replied June 26, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. I'm so glad we're able to meet your needs! Cheers, SendOwl.

June 20, 2023

We have used SendOwl to deliver our digital products since spring of 2020. Creating and uploading products is a breeze. The ability to create and sell product bundles was a game changer for our business. We have always been impressed by the ease of use on the Shopify platform. Their customer support team has always been a pleasure to deal with and has resolved any issue quickly.

BleachPrayLove
Canada
About 3 years using the app
SendOwl replied June 26, 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience! It makes a huge difference to us. Let us know if you need anything. Cheers, SendOwl.

November 13, 2022

I don't ever leave reviews, but I am very disappointed in the app and even more disappointed in the customer service. There is a page within the app that states there are unlimited downloads. I based my whole store around this and paid my assistant to set up my store using this app. Well come to find out, they don't actually offer unlimited downloads. When I contacted customer service I was given the run around and told that no where on their site do they advertise this (essentially implying that because it's not advertised this way, the incorrect wording within the app shouldn't matter). Super disappointed, but even more upset by the response. Sorry, but don't say you have something and then treat your customers in a dismissive way when they ask where the feature is. Will be removing every bit of my store because I'm not giving money to an app that falsely advertises and then tells me it's my fault for actually reading about the features they falsely claim to have.

Cowie's Kinders Shop
United States
About 1 month using the app
SendOwl replied November 14, 2022

Hi Erin,
Sorry for the confusion. As I shared in the support ticket, we do not support unlimited downloads as we operate differently and everything is tailored towards the individual purchase and not the mass distribution of a file. At this time, we offer the choice of 3, 5 and 10 download attempts for each order. You can also reset the download attempts for your buyers at any time. We will update the download settings page in our app to ensure the copy is up to date and I'm sorry you've had this experience. We value your business and your feedback, so thank you for sharing your experience. If we can help with anything else, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us, we'll be happy to help. Again, thank you for your time, your thoughts and comments are valued. Wishing you the best.
Chelsea

October 4, 2022

I used to use SendOwl years ago and have recently returned. Coming back has made me wonder why I ever left! They make things easy and the service is fantastic!

Thermobexta
Australia
5 days using the app
SendOwl replied October 4, 2022

Hi, thanks for the wonderful review and recommendation, and, of course, welcome back! Please reach out if we can help with anything. Cheers, Paul.

February 28, 2023

Sendowl offers the flexibility we need, along with great customer support. They are always quick to reply and super friendly. Thank you for all you do!

Card Cavern Trading Cards, LLC
United States
Over 5 years using the app
SendOwl replied February 28, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with SendOwl, we greatly appreciate your review. Of course, reach out to us in support if we can help with anything! Thanks again.

February 21, 2022

Overall it's a good app. Customer support is great if you ever need to reach out. Uploading is easy and smooth. If you are attaching your videos into your shopify products you first create the product in shopify and then link the product to the uploaded video in sendowl. The "button codes" don't apply to shopify. With sendowl you get paid within a couple of days unlike vimeo who only pays out once per month via paypal. There are also no additional fees, only the monthly subscription. The reason for the four stars is that your monthly GB usage does not roll over or start fresh. It's an overall accumulation. I do videos daily so I never stay within the monthly GB usage. I do believe Paul told me it's an additional 20 cents for every T overage. I can't remember exactly the amount so you want to ask before your trial is over. One last note if you choose not to link your video to your shopify store, sendowl's area to place a description of your videos does not do paragraphs or breaks in between the information. You need to use html format for the separations. I will stay with this app because it's a good app. I like the ease of uploading, can use it without adding to my shopify store, can add an image and a description, and the quick payouts.

Awaken The Oracle
United States
7 months using the app
SendOwl replied February 21, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We greatly appreciate you taking the time and we are pleased to hear that SendOwl is working for you.

Whilst we try to keep all accounts priced simply we do occasionally ask merchants who sell large-sized files to go on a Fair Usage Bandwidth plan. So if you exceed the bandwidth limit that is allocated in your plan then the additional bandwidth used is charged at $0.20/GB.

EDIT: Removed a comment as I was referencing the wrong thing! I was discussing bandwidth and not storage. Sorry for any confusion there!

Again, thank you for sharing your experience. Reach out if we can help with anything.

April 5, 2021

I used this app to help me deliver my ebooks and it works but it comes with a few kinks and intricate complications. For instance, when customers go to download from their email, they should be able to immediately download and not receive another long link to download from. The process for the customer to receive their product should be seamless but it isn't so much so. I wasn't aware of this process until I acted as a customer of my own store to see how the process was going. It wasn't that great to me.

Forth Rivers
United States
About 1 year using the app
SendOwl replied April 5, 2021

Thanks for your review and feedback!

You are correct that we generate an order download page for every customer and they need to go to their unique order page to download their purchase(s).

We do it that way for a couple of reasons.

The first is that some orders contains dozens of files and adding each of those links to the Shopify order email would make the order email difficult to read.

The second reason is for download security as each link is designed to expire after a set number of uses. This helps prevent file sharing and secures the download. You can control access to the links in the buyer's order page from the SendOwl dashboard. The same level of link protection and security would not be possible if the links were shown in the email.

Having said that, I hear you and understand your concerns! I'll discuss this with the team to see if we can make the process smoother for the buyer.

Cheers, SendOwl.

January 26, 2022

Great so far! Worth the monthly fee as well! I appreciate the added features like link expiration limits, putting the customer's names on the PDF's for security, and that they DON'T automatically mark certain purchases as fulfilled when the digital downloads are sent in addition to physical products that are not yet fulfilled. My only issue is that by having the customer name automatically put on the PDFs, it takes away the interactive feature from the PDF.

Auralign Shop
United States
About 1 month using the app
SendOwl replied January 26, 2022

Hi! Thanks for the great review and feedback! It is true that stamping the PDF does lock it so that the stamp can't be easily removed. However, we've heard similar concerns and we have an updated PDF stamp planned for this year which should tackle this very issue! Cheers, SendOwl.