Overall rating
3.5
Counts per rating level
  • 61% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 10% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 20% of ratings are 1 stars
September 8, 2022

I've used this app since starting my business and while I've found some aspects good - multiple courier options, easy to use platform, instant booking for same day collection (potentially) and reasonable shipping rates. However, the negatives can't be ignored either. While you used to be able to chat with a customer service rep they were very unlikely to be able to assist with anything other than follow up with the courier company on your behalf which did save some time for you as the business owner, on occasion. Now they've all but removed Live Chat which to be fair was often pointless for locating missing packages (you could get the same info from the actual courier dashboard) but was handy for assisting with platform issues when I started out. I'm assuming the removal of Live Chat is a cost thing but it makes it impossible to get immediate assistance and even when someone does open a chat with you, you could wait up to 10-15minutes between sending a message to being responded to, yes, each question/message not including the initial queue time. Another negative is the long delay (2-3months in some cases) between sending a shipment and the supposed additional courier charges being charged to your account. You're totally unable to dispute/avoid the charge unless you either significantly overestimate the cost of shipping or you weigh and photograph each order keeping a record of dates etc. But even then there can also be a 'manual handling' fee from some couriers (so forget sending anything slightly fragile) which you have no way of disputing at all. This significantly impacted the courier services I could offer my customers. I may as well get an account with my preferred courier - something I am considering. Oh and don't even bother trying to get any sort of compensation for couriers damaging or as in one case eating the gift you've sent! While I understand Shippit are company to make money (like all of us) it's also a service and it's frustrating that they happily bump you up into the next subscription tier but you have no way of going back down if your sales are slow or you need to pause your store, for whatever reason, unlike Auspost where you simply get charged more if you haven't shipped a certain volume. Also agree with other reviewers here - the Auspost integration is all but useless. And the more recent integration with Shopify just doesn't seem to work as I still have to open the Shippit platform to send orders which I have to double check thoroughly as often if I'm resending a recurring order through to Shippit I will find there are multiples of the same order with each refresh! So unneccessarily time consuming. It seemed to work much better without the latest integration. And I still can't get the instant print integration to work as there is no option to adjust the size of the default label printout despite using standard labels/sizing etc and any time I've requested assistance I'm just re-sent a link to the same instructions. There really doesn't seem to any technical understanding from the reps on troubleshooting this. Overall, there are some good points with using Shippit (potentially same day collection but that probably has more to do with my local courier who is gruff but almost always collects the same day even if I book at 3pm) and I still do use them but only because the alternatives aren't able to offer anything different/better yet (sadly) for my current business. However, their customer service is appalling and it only seems to be getting worse. I will be using either Auspost for my next business as the headaches just aren't worth it.

House Plant Home
Australia
About 5 years using the app
Shippit replied November 3, 2022

Dear House Plant Home,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you have had a poor experience with our customer service. We try very hard to ensure that all our customers are happy but we don’t always get it right. While we will certainly pass this feedback on to our team, it'll be greatly appreciated if you help us understand how we can do better and make it right by emailing your Merchant ID and contact details to hello@shippit.com.

Kindest regards,
Sophie
Shippit

February 24, 2021

Absolutely non existent support. Don't bother dealing with Shippit. We've been having issues with items not being picked up by the couriers and the "support team" have been extremely unhelpful. I've been asking to speak to the regional manager but nobody wants to talk to me. Look for an alternative solution, we are!

City Subaru Parts
Australia
Over 1 year using the app
Shippit replied May 6, 2021

Hi City Subaru Parts,
I am extremely sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with us. Shippit is a shipping software company that connects you to the courier and we try and hold the couriers on our platform to the highest of standards. We have since significantly invested in our customer support team to better help merchants like yourself. If there is anything we can do to help, please let us know and I will forward it onto the correct person at Shippit. In the meantime, I hope we get another chance with you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Sarah
Shippit

November 15, 2018

Shippit is a fantastic app. If you're running a Shopify store, shipping integration is the only way to go. One of the great things about Shippit is the customer emails with regular delivery and tracking updates. Their support team is great to, so they can help you get setup with everything as there's a bit to get used to when you start out. The rates are great too. I tried others but this is by far the best!

MOVI Sit Stand Desks
Australia
3 months using the app
Edited November 14, 2018

Shippit has made my despatch and tracking process a breeze. Have the choice of several providers has reduced my shipping bill for sure - as opposed to using Australia Post alone - Thanks Shippit - Knotty is a very happy customer.

Knotty.com.au
Australia
3 months using the app
Edited October 30, 2023

I originally wrote this review in 2018 but now in 2023 we no longer use it because my small business model can't justify Shippit's higher cost compared to other apps. Shippit dashboard is user friendly, it makes booking and getting live quotes fast and easy. Volume sellers check out their freight pricing was very competitive on the higher plans in 2018. Support team are very helpful, they always go above and beyond! Aussie sellers it's worth considering this app for its features and api linking to Australia Post.

Redfarm Supplies
Australia
Over 2 years using the app
July 26, 2019

Shippit provides excellent rates but also allows you to bring your own contracted shipping rates. Getting all the configurations right can be a little tricky but Aaron in support is absolutely amazing. He truly went above & beyond to work out the best possible personalised solution for my new Shopify store. He researched Shopify capabilities on my behalf to get the best possible outcome. Aaron is patient, creative, thoughtful and a real asset to the Shippit team. Thank you for your help Aaron.

Chile Mojo
Australia
2 months using the app
Edited March 15, 2020

Great app, easy to use. Customer service friendly even though sometimes the dispatch disappoints with timing or lost of parcels. Shippit team is always there to assist though.

Sack Me!
Australia
Over 2 years using the app
September 1, 2018

CONSTANT ISSUES! - They also do not work weekends for help and support so you are stuck all weekend not being able to get orders out for the week! FRUSTRATED

King Kingsley
Australia
About 1 year using the app
May 17, 2020

Shipit is a terrible app and has garbage customer support! My store is based in Australia, and I have had nothing but issues setting up shippit with my Shopify store. shippit rates are not accurate if you have products that are outside the Satchels sizes they provide by Fastway, & couriers please you will have big issues with your shipping check out page.

also, there is no way to bulk upload your product dimensions to get accurate shipping rates for large bulky items.

there is absolutely no email customer support, I will be going to me credit card provider and requesting chrage backs for my subscription fees

Use Easy ship and sendle

Industrie Music
Australia
About 1 year using the app
Shippit replied May 6, 2021

Hi Industrie,
We are so sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with us. We are doing everything we can to continually improve our app and service. Last year taught us a lot and we have significantly invested in our support team so that they can better help merchants. If there is anything we can do to help or assist with, please let us know and I will forward your concern to the correct person at Shippit. In the meantime, I hope we get another chance with you soon.
Warm regards,
Sarah
Shippit

January 8, 2019

I used to be subscribed to Shippit and was quite happy with their service. But now I have moved countries and I had to cancel my previous account and reopen a new one due to my email stopped working. Since then, I have used them twice as I go, and so far they have completely lost one of my parcels and the other one is getting delayed for pick up. Their customer service is quite inefficient as they only allow chat and keep changing the person who looks after you plus they have to liaise with the courier companies and always take a long time to get back to you if there are any issues with your deliveries. At the moment very frustrated with their service unfortunately.

lal & nil
United Kingdom
12 months using the app