Smile: Loyalty & Rewards

Loyalty points, rewards, & referrals to retain your customers

Shopify app insights
  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Free plan available

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Up-to-date tech: works with the latest themes

Reviews

4.8 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 86% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

1 - 10 of 73 reviews

Tango Shoes

Location Netherlands
Time spent using app 12 months

Ik heb deze app getest, echter deze app beschikt niet over de mogelijkheid om de Nederlandse taal te gebruiken in de communicatie naar klanten. Dus niet bruikbaar voor ons. Technisch / functioneel prima app overigens

Developer reply

September 22, 2022

Hey Marteen! Thanks for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback!

Joana from Smile here 👋 Regarding languages, we currently offer Smile in 5 languages (English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese) but full translations for Dutch are not currently offered.

However, I have sent you an email with a few examples of Dutch merchants using the semi-translated version of Smile!

Looking forward to hearing from you soon!

Met vriendelijk groet,
Joana 🙏

iLevel Lab

Location United States
Time spent using app About 4 years

Customer service is absolutely the worst! They told us to upgrade to 200$ plan to get the features we wanted, then after the upgrade, it turned out the features were only available on the 600$ plan, tried to downgrade literary 3 days later, been back and foward with customer service to get a refund for almost 2 weeks now, they still didn't refund!!! It is not the first time they are being super shady with billing!!!

Developer reply

August 22, 2022

We appreciate you taking the time to write in and leave feedback. I sent you a private message so that we can get this all sorted out for you ASAP.

I also took a look over your account and can see that you were automatically credited the difference between the plan you were on before and the plan you downgraded to. This credit will be applied to future invoices of your new plan automatically. I also sent a message to our Billing department so that they can see about getting you a refund instead of a credit if that is your preferred method.

As for the features, I reached out with further clarification on the features and plans, and a little gift on us, for any confusion.

Please let us know if there is anything else we can do. Don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything else.

💛 The Smile Team

Wanderlust Folk Candle Co.

Location United States
Time spent using app 6 months

I try to open the app to view info and it says that the app has an error...so nothing even comes up. Deleting...unfortunately now all my customer's points will also be deleted...

Developer reply

June 28, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and leave your feedback! We are sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing and dove into things on our end. 🔦 I just sent you an email regarding my findings. 🤓

Your program and dashboard are functioning as normal, but you have disabled points and referrals, which will pause your program. In order to relaunch the program simply hit "activate" for both points and referrals. 😸

If you deleted the app please re-install it as all your customers data will be deleted within 48 hours in compliance with internet privacy laws. If you experience any further difficulty just reply to me via email, or email help@smile.io, or you can always pop into the Live Chat via the app itself or our website, smile.io. 😺

We hope to help get you sorted asap! Thank you so much! ☀️

Cheers,
Joshua - Smile Team 🧙‍♂️

Diamond Art Club

Location United States
Time spent using app Over 3 years

Smile wants to force us to disable HTML emails in order to allow guest purchasers to earn points. In fact, they are discontinuing HTML emails altogether, and instead, they want brands to use the ugly and barebone default emails from the Smile.io interface. Not only that, Smile doesn't send us all the required activities to Klaviyo in the event a brand wants to trigger the emails that way. This is sad and is the reason we're considering switching to Yotpo (which comes with their own set of issues).

Developer reply

March 31, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback - we're really sorry that your experience with our product is not meeting your expectations 😔 - and we'll be sure our product team is made aware of your circumstance 🙏
It would be really cool if our Klaviyo integration included event-activities! Right now because of limitations in our integration we're not able to do that; but we'll be sure to let you know if this becomes available!

Poody

Location France
Time spent using app 7 months

Does not work with Paypal: if you place an order with Paypal, the user doesn not receive any points. And it's not specified anywhere that it doesn't work with Paypal...

Developer reply

March 15, 2022

Hey there, Thank you for your honest feedback we really appreciate it.

I'm sorry you've had this experience. We've double-checked and Paypal purchases will earn points for customers. I've passed this to our technical team for them to look at urgently to see why this isn't happening for you. Thank you again and we look forward to fixing this for you.

La Baie des Anges

Location France
Time spent using app About 8 hours

Doesn't work for customers without an email .... so this is useless for a POS where most of my customers don't have an email registered.
And poor support ... says "Hi", then no answers after more than 30min. Could at least say that it is not possible to import points for client without an email instead of wasting my time.

Developer reply

February 14, 2022

Thank you so much for letting us know about the experience you had! This is FAR from our standard level of service that our merchants have come to expect from us, and we will be taking steps internally to ensure this sort of interaction remains an isolated incident. We aim to be as transparent as possible, and we're truly sorry that our live chat team's response about CSV import capabilities didn't address your concern directly 😞

I will be reaching out very soon to address this with you personally. Looking forward to connecting with you to re-establish the service-level we take pride in offering our merchants!

Brandon - Merchant Experience Manager

Dr Party

Location United Kingdom
Time spent using app 3 months

Too expensive. Does anyone know a cheaper app? Too expensive for a small business. It's just the service they offer does not correlate to the price.

Developer reply

November 4, 2021

Hi there,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us.

Supporting small business is what we love doing the most. So we'd love the opportunity to connect with you and figure out a viable and affordable option to use Smile on your store.

If you could email help@smile.io or jump on our live chat, we'll see what we can do to help :)

A Little Slice of Heaven Bakery

Location United States
Time spent using app 3 months

At first, it seemed like a great loyalty app. After the expense of switching from Marsello and their horrible customer support, we chose Smile. We have over 5000 customers and the app treats everyone that does not provide an email address as a guest. The problem is that it does not credit them for their purchases even after changing the setting. Now we have to find another loyalty app and spend the expense to convert our customers. Very disappointed.

Developer reply

August 18, 2021

Hi! 👋 Thank you for leaving your candid feedback - that's pivotal for our growth! 🙏 We are reviewing the matter internally, and we will be reaching out as soon as possible, or feel free to contact us at help@.smile.io

JustFit

Location Japan
Time spent using app 8 minutes

日本語に対応しておらず、日本円にも対応していません。使えるマーケットが限られています。デザインがいいだけに非常に残念。
日本語に対応しておらず、日本円にも対応していません。使えるマーケットが限られています。デザインがいいだけに非常に残念。

Developer reply

July 6, 2021

Thank you so much for the review! So sorry to hear your language isn't available yet -- Smile is currently available in 5 languages and we plan to keep expanding our translations 🌍 I've just sent you an email to follow-up on the possible workarounds that we can offer 😊

Envate

Location India
Time spent using app About 2 months

Setup everything and tried reading articles but not able to see any mail or notification on confirmation page or any thing tries creating account, becoming member but not able to get points on placing order. If I am not able to see it then how will out customer gonna notice day. then it will be a total waste

Developer reply

June 18, 2021

We're so sorry to hear that you didn't have a nice experience :( We've sent over an email to you to help out here. We'll do our best to get this sorted for you!

Previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8
Previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8