Overall rating
4.9
Counts per rating level
  • 88% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its variety of features like a Loyalty Landing Page and Points on Product Page. It's praised for its easy setup, seamless business integration, and low maintenance. The app's customer service is highly commended for its responsiveness and helpfulness. Merchants have seen a positive impact on sales and customer loyalty. Despite some concerns about pricing, the team is often willing to find suitable solutions. Its continuous innovation and user-friendly interface make it a top choice for managing loyalty programs.

Edited March 28, 2024

Update: Smile.io contacted me with great customer service and has made some suggestions that are helpful! I am adding a star.
-->Loyalty Landing Page
-->Points on Product Page
-->Points on Account Page
I am hopeful that the first and third ones will make the program more clear for customers to use so we have to send instructions less! And I am hopeful that the second will increase interest in the program.

Previous review:

1) We need to set a maximum points accrual for a single order. This seems really basic and is very important for our business. We offer volume discounts on very large dollar value orders and cant always exclude them prior to ordering, so we have customers with 30,000 points in their accounts which leads to a lot of customer service issues and confusion.
We would also like to create a maximum number of redemptions a customer can use in a given week to prevent these customers with 30,000 points from placing an order for a free candle over and over 125 times.

2) The customer emails need to be much more customizable, include more instructions on redemption, and we need to be able to add a terms and conditions section to the pop-up. The fonts in the emails are not customizable, so they don't fit in with our brand.

3) When a customer is referred, they see a very cheesy emoji pop-up that is not customizable. This is not a good first impression.

4) There is no way to see which customers are being emailed by Smile and what emails they have received. Theoretically, we might know based upon the criteria we have set up, but it is not 100 percent clear and there is no record of this anywhere. Each customer page in Smile should show the email name and the date received.

5) It just isn't generating nearly enough sales to be worth the customer service hassle and high app cost.

Santa Barbara Company
United States
10 months using the app
Smile.io replied February 13, 2024

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your concerns. I have sent you a follow up email directly to understand exactly what you want to do and explore other possible solutions.

- Karen and the Smile team

March 8, 2024

We are unable to use Smile.io for Loyalty Rewards.

Our main reason is that the features are very limited, unless we can afford to pay such high prices. We do not feel that there is much value in spending $49 per month to upgrade. That plan doesn't not come with the Loyalty Landing Page or ability for our customers to redeem their points. It is impossible for us to commit to paying $199 per month for this.

Sadly we will need to look for a cheaper alternative.

WONDERCRAFT LTD
United Kingdom
About 2 months using the app
Smile.io replied March 11, 2024

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Someone from our team has reached out to discuss this further with you.

November 9, 2023

Smile is great due to their features and partner integrations.

***POS users this is something to be aware of.***
3 stars because we use mainly the POS feature.
When a customer decides to use a coupon during a physical transaction and clicks redeem. If they decide to put the items back at the last minute no longer wants to continue, their points will still get deducted even though no transaction was completed. In order to give them back their points you will have to manually keep track of all customers who canceled a transaction. This is an issue that leaves a lot of human error on the table due to the volume of sales we might get during busy periods of the day. Hopefully the development team will be able to add a feature for it automatically refill the customers points upon a uncompleted transaction.

Lisa, Jade and Lynn from the support team is great! 5 stars!

Kawaii Corner
United States
5 months using the app
Smile.io replied November 10, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad that you find our team helpful :)

When customers cancel a transaction, the reason that the points are removed is that the reward has been redeemed. Customers can still use this reward on future purchases, so the value of the points is not lost.

That being said, we are always looking to learn how we can improve Smile and make it more user-friendly. We have reached out personally to learn more about how we can help you with this!

July 14, 2023

The app is pretty fine, easy enough to use and customize. We really liked it for a while.
HOWEVER, we realized that when our customers click the button to earn points for certain tasks (ie follow us on insta, or like our fb page) smile IMMEDIATELY rewards the reward points, upon clicking the button.
I was testing it out and got a reward point email from them before the new browser with our instagram was even done loading.
I reached out to support and they explained due to certain laws there is no way for them to verify if users actually follow through with the actions, but they believe that most people do.
Alright, thats totally fine, but can you please implement a delay in sending the email/ awarding the points? like a 5 or 10m delay in that email being sent would give the individual a moment to actually go ahead and follow through, and they are WAY more likely to do it that way.

Update: I was able to deactivate the auto email, while this is better than nothing, it would be great if they could introduce a delay option!

Color of Heat
United States
Almost 3 years using the app
Smile.io replied July 17, 2023

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are always looking for ways to improve Smile for merchants, and your feedback helps us do that.

You are correct that we aren't able to verify the social actions before awarding points since Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram don't allow 3rd party apps like Smile to track user data. We understand that this isn't ideal and hope that these sites will allow us to track in the future.

While it isn't possible to delay the points earning at the moment, we did add it as a feature request for our product team to look into. Our Product Team takes merchant requests seriously, and hopefully this is something we can come up with a better solution for.

We reached out to you personally to see how else we can improve your experience with Smile. Let us know if you have any other questions or concerns. We are here to help!

July 21, 2023

The app is OK, it does what it's supposed to but to be honest I'm considering pulling it because the pricing structure is so ridiculous.

The basic level beyond the minimal free plan jumps to a massive $50/month and you don't really get much for that and then for simple things like analytics to show you whether the app is really generating much return on the monthly cost you have to be on the enormous $200/month plan which is frankly ridiculous when vastly more complicated apps cost far less.

It does what it says reasonably well but I'm struggling to justify the price to be honest.

Cutting Edge Knives
United Kingdom
About 1 year using the app
Smile.io replied July 22, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and value your thoughts and ideas. We sent an email with additional information to see if we can help.

Best regards

David

November 8, 2023

Limitation on POS filter.

MS. READ (M) Sdn Bhd
Malaysia
About 1 year using the app
June 22, 2016

would like a card reader add on for pos

Vaporbar
Canada
About 9 years using the app
Edited November 23, 2020

This app lets you create a great rewards program for your loyal customers. My store sends care packages to deployed military and being able to give commands, parents, spouses, children, etc. who want to support their loved one overseas is just an overall great thing. The only thing is that it, and adding other apps, KILLS your site speed. Keep that in mind when adding apps to Shopify. www.Troopster.org

Troopster
United States
About 7 years using the app
Edited December 2, 2016

some hiccups along the way, but overall it's pretty easy. It looks good as well.
I would like to know how to add points from my already created sets without exporting them again...

Dakota Nature Art
United States
Almost 5 years using the app
Edited July 10, 2020

This app has great promise, but it really lacks in power features.

Like you cant reward a customer with a free product from a collection. It has to be a specific product. So if you have many designs of the same product (our example is mousepads), you have to choose a single one for the customers to get for free. You cant just give them a free mousepad and let them choose any any of them. I have to choose one single design that they have to get for free. So if you sell out of that specific design, tough luck, you now have to keep changing it in the system. Also the customer has no choice even though, to them, they see the product as being the same cost and dont understand why they cant choose their free mousepad. You cant even select multiple products which would seem like the compromise.

Another example is you cant edit the promo code it creates for rewards to have a maximum amount. So i cant setup a promo code to be 10% off up to $100. Its just 10% an unlimited amount. So if someone makes a purchase for $10,000 they can get $1,000 off with no maximum.

There are many little things like this in Smile that really bug me which keep it from really being great. I will edit my rating if some of these things were changed / added. Specifically the free collection thing.

I dont know if this is a limit of shopify or not, and this does not count towards my review, but i wish Amount Off coupons could count towards shipping. If a customer has a $20 off coupon and they buy a $15 product they has $7 shipping for a total of$22, they can only get $15 off even though their purchase is over $20.

Also i would LOVE to be able to actually link customers to the rewards. There is not way to actually link customers to see the rewards. I have to tell them to manually open the widget at the bottom of the page.

Dixie Mech
United States
Almost 5 years using the app
Smile.io replied July 14, 2020

Hey there! Thanks so much for your detailed feedback & review. We've sent over an email to help out! :)