Theme Updater

Theme Updater

by Out of the Sandbox

Keep your premium theme up to date

2.1 of 5 stars(142 reviews)

Keep your theme up to date

Upgrade to the latest version of your Out of the Sandbox or Pixel Union theme to take advantage of new features & bug fixes.

Preserve theme settings

Automatically move over your current theme settings so that you don’t have to reconfigure them.

Priority Theme Support

Pro subscribers receive priority ticket based support from our Merchant Success Team for any Out of the Sandbox theme questions or issues.


About Theme Updater

About Theme Updater

A bit of background: Shopify does not currently provide an easy way to update any themes when a new version of it is released.

You would normally need to obtain, then upload, a new zip file, then reconfigure all your theme settings — including resetting all of your colors, typography, images, text and more.

The Shopify Theme Updater app lets you not only upgrade to the latest available version of your Out of the Sandbox or Pixel Union theme, without losing any of your configured theme settings. In some cases, it may even be able to carry over basic customizations that you or your developer have made directly to the theme code.

When you buy a theme, you will receive 1 year of free updating through our Theme Updater App's Basic Plan, which begins on the theme purchase date. Before or after your free trial expires, you can select a subscription plan in order to continue to keep your theme up to date and get access to exclusive features through the app.

The Theme Updater App includes two subscription-based plans with monthly and annual billing options:

Basic plan (monthly + annually)

The basics for quickly getting your theme up to date.

  • Update your theme to the most recent version, quickly and easily
  • Email notifications when a new version of your theme is available
  • Transfers basic customizations when possible
  • Exclusive discounts

Pro plan (monthly + annually)

Advanced features for prioritizing and accelerating your theme updates.

  • Prioritized ticket-based theme support from our Merchant Success Team for any Out of the Sandbox theme questions
  • Detailed information about any custom code modifications that the app spotted in your theme that will need to be moved over manually by you or your developer
  • Support for copying over language files

How it works

  • Install the app (no changes will be made to your code yet)
  • You can then check the app dashboard to see if your theme needs updating
  • First you’ll need to register your theme
  • Once your theme is registered, click "Update" to update your theme
  • The app does not affect your live store or make modifications to your existing theme code
  • Instead, the app installs an unpublished copy of the latest version of your theme
  • You should then preview and thoroughly test the new unpublished theme
  • Consider keeping the old version on your store or downloading a backup
  • When you have fully tested your store and you're ready to go live with the new version, click "Publish" to switch over to the new version
  • If you find an issue with the new version even after publishing it, you can revert back to the old version

Integrates with

  • Out of the Sandbox Shopify Themes,
  • Pixel Union Shopify Themes

Media gallery

Support

Pricing 365-day free trial

See all pricing options
Basic plan

$9/month

or $6.58/month billed at $79 once per year

  • Keep your theme up to date

  • Move over theme settings automatically — no more manual updating

  • Basic custom code is often able to be transferred

Pro plan

$14/month

or $10.75/month billed at $129 once per year

  • Priority theme support

  • View all code customizations

  • Transfers language files

* All charges are billed in USD. Recurring charges, including monthly or usage-based charges, are billed every 30 days.

2.1 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    46% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 3 stars
    (7)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 2 stars
    (7)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    37% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

Ameyalli

I just purchased a subscription for Theme Updater to save me the job,

However I updated the theme and the app is functionless since it doesn't work at all.

The theme I updated is exactly as if I've installed the theme (EMPIRE by Pixel Union) and there are no changes at all, it's all at its defaults.

This is so annoying.

These are the files which don't have any changes (it's a ridicule amount of files, it doesn't make sense in most of them).

Empire (Dec-23-2019) (May-3-2020) has been successfully installed.

However, 55 template files contained customizations that could not be automatically applied to the latest version.

- Hide template files
assets/Account.bundle.js
assets/Contact.bundle.js
assets/ContainSwatchTooltips.bundle.js
assets/DynamicBlogPosts.bundle.js
assets/DynamicFeaturedCollection-StaticCollection-StaticProductRecommendations-StaticSearch.bundle.js
assets/DynamicFeaturedCollection.bundle.js
assets/DynamicMenuList.bundle.js
assets/DynamicNewsletter.bundle.js
assets/DynamicPromoBlocks.bundle.js
assets/DynamicRichText.bundle.js
assets/DynamicSearch-StaticHeader.bundle.js
assets/DynamicSearch.bundle.js
assets/DynamicTwitterFeed.bundle.js
assets/DynamicVideo.bundle.js
assets/GiftCard.bundle.js
assets/instantPage.min.js
assets/Page.bundle.js
assets/polyfills.js
assets/PXSMap.bundle.js
assets/StaticAnnouncement.bundle.js
assets/StaticArticle.bundle.js
assets/StaticBlog.bundle.js
assets/StaticCart.bundle.js
assets/StaticCollection.bundle.js
assets/StaticFooter.bundle.js
assets/StaticHeader.bundle.js
assets/StaticHighlightsBanners.bundle.js
assets/StaticPassword.bundle.js
assets/StaticProduct.bundle.js
assets/StaticProductRecommendations.bundle.js
assets/StaticRecentlyViewed.bundle.js
assets/StaticSearch.bundle.js
assets/StaticSlideshow.bundle.js
assets/theme.scss.liquid
assets/vendors-DynamicBlogPosts-DynamicFeaturedCollection-DynamicInstagramFeed-DynamicTwitterFeed-StaticCol-09aa5aa9.bundle.js
assets/vendors-DynamicFeaturedCollection-StaticCollection-StaticProduct-StaticProductRecommendations-StaticSearch.bundle.js
assets/vendors-DynamicSearch-StaticHeader.bundle.js
assets/vendors-main.bundle.js
assets/vendors-StaticCart.bundle.js
layout/none.liquid
layout/theme.liquid
sections/dynamic-instagram-feed.liquid
sections/static-article.liquid
sections/static-cart.liquid
sections/static-product-reviews.liquid
sections/static-product.liquid
snippets/cart-item.liquid
snippets/product-form.liquid
snippets/product-grid-item.liquid
snippets/product-price.liquid
snippets/product.liquid
snippets/structured-data.liquid
templates/404.liquid
templates/page.contact.liquid
templates/product.liquid
The template customizations will need to be manually applied from Empire (Dec-23-2019) to Empire (Dec-23-2019) (May-3-2020) only for these individual files.

Developer reply

May 5, 2020

Hello Ameyalli,
Thank you for sharing these details! We're very sorry for the inconvenience here - the Theme Updater App was experiencing a temporary issue with certain versions, and we believe this version of Empire was impacted. The issue has been addressed, and attempting the update again should result in a more expected outcome.
We have followed up on the support request as well, where we can continue the correspond if there's anything amiss with the update - feel free to let us know the version number of the Empire theme you're updating if the issue persists, and we'll get it squared away.
All the best!

The Gifted Panda

Installed on thegiftedpanda.co.uk when the app was free and only used a couple of times, some bits didn't work due to custom coding, however, it largely did work and only had to do minimal work. So I would have given it 4 stars..............until it changed to a subscription service.
Not paying that kind of money for something I will use a couple of times a year. More cost effective for me to do the work manually for half a day.

Developer reply

April 15, 2020

Hello The Gifted Panda,
Thank you for sharing your review; it's valuable to us to see where our customers are dissatisfied with the app to see how it can be improved.

Great to hear the app was helpful with your past updates; as you have experienced, the app saves time by obtaining the most recent version of the theme, carrying over your past settings, and helping with carrying over past code customizations; it sounds like some customizations were flagged as needing special attention, which the app does if automatically re-applying the customization to the updated code template would cause conflicts.

While the app is free to use for the first year following a theme purchase (from Out of the Sandbox or Pixel Union), a subscription is required to continue to use the app as an updating tool following that year. While some merchants, like yourself, only update a couple of times a year, theme updates actually occur regularly throughout the year - to keep running the latest and greatest versions (including new features like Shopify's new Product Media capabilities, or upcoming Cross Border features) other merchants update whenever a new version is available. For merchants updating their theme upwards of 10-15 times per year, using the automated process of the Theme Updater App provides a significant time-saving benefit.

If you find yourself doing manual updates regularly to grab the newest theme features and fixes, the app may be the better cost-effective choice to save you some time!

Thanks again for your input, and best of luck with your online store!
-Out of the Sandbox

Luis E. Romero

I subscribed to the ProPlan of this app on Wednesday 4/1/2020 and, on the same day, I contacted ProPlan support asking a couple of questions via the correct link inside the app interface. Today is Saturday 4/4/2020 and no reply has been received, even though they promise priority support for ProPlan Subscribers. 72 hours is by no means priority support.
Additionally, after I subscribed to the ProPlan, the section on How to Update still says the following:

"If any error messages are received when updating your theme to the latest version, all customizations to the mentioned files will need to be carried forward manually. If you need assistance with carrying over your previous customizations, we'd recommend reaching out to some of our recommended experts."

Here it is paramount to mention that the ONE AND ONLY point of this ProPlan subscription is to GUARANTEE a fully automatic, hassle-free theme update. The second I have to manually carry forward my customizations, I should be refunded for my subscription. I also asked about this on my support request three days ago, but I have received no response.
Please contact me ASAP with full response to my support request, including a clarification about what happens when the app does not work. Do I get refunded for a non-working app?

Developer reply

April 15, 2020

Hi there Luis,
Andrew here from Out of the Sandbox Support. Thanks for taking the time to provide that feedback!

It looks as though we received an email from you, however it doesn't appear it was sent in via priority support which would explain the time taken before we got back to you. Priority support can only be accessed directly via the app:
https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/articles/360026083613-Accessing-Priority-Theme-Support

Sorry for any confusion there - we'll be sending along a separate email shortly to address any outstanding issues, so if you have any questions, please just reply there!

Take care.