Overall rating
4
Counts per rating level
  • 49% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 34% of ratings are 1 stars
February 8, 2024

Good app and works great. Some of the way they word things are confusing, but they are responsive when asking support for help.

House and Loft Living
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Out of the Sandbox replied February 9, 2024

Hi House and Loft Living team!

We appreciate your feedback and review of the app! We are happy to hear that our support team was able to assist, and we are actively updating the wording in-app to provide clearer steps.

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

Edited October 6, 2023

ADDITION 10/6/23: I am upping this to 4 stars. It is still very odd that the app messed up section on my page. HOWEVER, I did contact Out of The Sandbox and they replied very quickly and they fixed it! The reason I wrote the review is because last time I contacted them it took days for them to get back to me. So I wanted to make sure this was handled quickly. This time they really replied quickly, within 24 hours, and fixed the issue the same day or next (I think we are on different time zones).
Thank you

ORIGINAL REVIEW: Quite frustrating. Basic elements on my website get changed randomly and I have to go back and update tot he way we had it originally. I am referring to colors, fonts, banner message, our logo gets lost, it's really bad. Especially since we pay $9/month for the pro version.
I am NOT talking about custom code, that I know already you guys don't move over, but the basics? Colors? Fonts? Really bad.

Sauipe
United States
Almost 3 years using the app
Out of the Sandbox replied October 6, 2023

Hi Sauipe team!

It looks like you submitted this review before reaching out to our support team, but I am happy that we were able to get this issue sorted out for you, and that our support team was able to resolve the issue that was causing these settings from not transferring over in your Flex theme update.

We do our best to make sure that bugs do not interfere with the updating process, but if you have any questions, please be sure to reach out to our support team directly so we can help get you the support you need as soon as possible!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

September 9, 2023

Wow, look at those ratings, either people hate it, or love it. When I first used it, I didn't like it, but I see they are working to make it better by the day. I have a lot of faith in this company. I've used their theme (Turbo) for many years now, and they are always putting a lot of work into it to keep it updated and add some goodies here and there. Don't let the reviews on this "updater" app steer you away from using their themes, as they are one of the best in the industry, imho.

Historical Pix
United States
About 6 years using the app
Out of the Sandbox replied September 12, 2023

Hi Historical Pix team!

We really appreciate your review and are glad to hear that you have been keeping your Turbo theme updated with our app!

Our app is growing everyday, and is now compatible with Out of the Sandbox, Pixel Union, Archetype, and Troop themes!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

September 28, 2023

Quick respons! They help me to update the theme and it is perfect!

Artègo Hair Professional
Netherlands
About 1 year using the app
Out of the Sandbox replied September 29, 2023

Hi Artègo Hair Professional team!

Thank you for your review! We are glad that Theme Updater Plus and our team were able to streamline the update process for your Expanse theme!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

Edited November 10, 2017

I used this app last week to upgrade the Turbo theme on my store. It worked, but it did not transfer much of the configuration or any of the tweaks to the original theme. I still had to spend a few hours re-configuring my stores homepage and collection and product configurations, so not sure if it actually helped or not.

Bluestreak Crystals
United Kingdom
Over 6 years using the app
Edited July 12, 2021

When it works it is very good. But our Pro Plan subscription has broken which means that the app doesn't work, and we can't access the priority support we paid for. Update: We have received excellent support from OOTS who have stuck with us and resolved a difficult issue. This review has been upgraded to 4 stars to reflect the quality of the app itself.

Airdrop Bikes
United Kingdom
Over 4 years using the app
Out of the Sandbox replied June 25, 2021

Hello Airdrop Bikes team,

Thank you for this feedback! We are investigating the issue you are having with the app. Our support team will be in touch as soon as we have a resolution.

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

Edited February 1, 2018

Very handy! But a bit unclear which customizations are taken care of..

Darksensual
Netherlands
Over 4 years using the app
November 30, 2016

A much needed app but it does not carry over all of the previous theme's customizations.

Yudanshafightwear
United States
About 4 years using the app
October 2, 2018

A good app but could be a lot better at handling even the smallest of modified themes. https://www.katysboutique.co.uk

Katys Boutique
United States
Over 3 years using the app
Edited January 16, 2022

EDIT 1/16 After leaving this review, their team explained my problem more accurately and they offered a better and more practical solution which I appreciate. Terrible app, terrible customer experience. I updated my theme and the result was awful: translations missing, errors, the product images, prices and description don’t show correctly and they don't adapt correctly to the screen either. I tried contacting support and they told me that's normal so I have to fix them? How am I supposed to fix them when its not a design problem but a deeper code problem? Also they are charging me even though the app didn't do what it promised and after cancelling the first day.

TITAN X
United States
About 3 years using the app
Out of the Sandbox replied January 7, 2022

Hi TITAN X team!

Thank you for your feedback! When updating your theme to OS 2.0, all content, such as home page content, will need to be rebuilt.

This is a one-time process required by Shopify to align with new templating standards. You will still be able to use the Theme Updater to help streamline your updates with future releases.

A member of our support team will reach out via email shortly!