Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 88% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its unique partial payments feature on pre-orders, especially beneficial for US stores. It supports mixed carts, enhancing conversion and upselling, and is known for its user-friendly dashboard and easy integration with e-commerce platforms. The customer service is prompt and helpful. A standout feature is the partial cash on delivery option, reducing return-to-origin losses. Merchants find the app reliable, regularly updated with new features, and instrumental in boosting pre-order sales and customer experience.

August 17, 2023

This is the only app I could find that offers partial payments on pre-ordered items. To comply with regulations and payment processors, this is a must-have for any US store that offers pre-orders that will ship later than 30 days after purchase. It also allows mixed carts, which is great and helps with conversion and upsell.

I had an issue with my first item setup, but their customer service team was very responsive and resolved my issue within hours.

Sirius Dice Wholesale
United States
7 months using the app
July 7, 2023

Great app for our store for back in stock and pre order offering and very fast and good customer service.

DOLLY by Le Petit Tom ®
Netherlands
Almost 4 years using the app
May 12, 2023

This app is a game-changer and a profit booster for sellers, earning my enthusiastic 5-star rating. Its standout feature is the option for partial cash on delivery (COD) payments.
Essentially, I use it to take a small token amount for COD orders, thus drastically reducing my COD losses due to return-to-origin (RTO). Customers now have the option of paying a small advance for their order digitally, minimizing the risk of non-payment or order refusal during delivery.
The app's user-friendly dashboard enables efficient management of prepaid and partial payment orders for COD, ensuring transparency and improved cash flow. Its seamless integration with my e-commerce platform and exceptional customer support further enhance its appeal.
For sellers seeking to streamline COD processes and minimize losses, this app is an invaluable asset.

Ethnicsupply
India
5 months using the app
May 17, 2023

Estamos teniendo problemas con la pp todo el día y no tenemos solución. No podemos activar casillas ni escribir en las celdas...parece que está bloqueado el acceso a clickar en la web. estamos perdiendo ventas y no obtenemos solución por ningún canal, seguimos a la espera, no es la primera vez que ocurre, lo cierto es decir que en otras ocasiones si nos llegó la solución de manera más rápida

Frikispain
Spain
7 months using the app
Shine Dezign Infonet replied May 19, 2023

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We understand the frustration you experienced with our app, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. However, based on the information you provided, it appears that the issue you encountered may not have been related to our application itself.

We thoroughly investigated your case and found no evidence of any technical issues or errors within our app during the time period you mentioned. In fact, we have received no reports of similar issues from any other users, and our system logs do not indicate any abnormalities.

To address your concerns promptly, we promptly responded to your emails and provided you with recordings demonstrating the smooth flow of our app. We were committed to assisting you and resolving the issue as quickly as possible. However, after your app started functioning properly, we did not receive any further communication from you.

Based on the available information and the lack of corroborating evidence, it seems that the issue you encountered may have been specific to your network configuration, firewall settings, or local system cache. These factors can occasionally interfere with the proper functioning of web-based applications.

We would be more than happy to assist you further if you encounter any issues in the future. Our support team is available to address any concerns or provide troubleshooting guidance. Please feel free to reach out to us with any specific details or screenshots that can help us identify and resolve any potential problems.

We value your feedback and strive to provide the best possible user experience. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Best Regards,
Shine Dezign Infonet Team.

June 9, 2023

Simple. Easy to follow. Needed minor design changes and Vipin was very helpful in a timely manner. Thanks.

Uncensored Apparel
United States
5 months using the app
May 19, 2023

These guys have been amazing. I am very specific about things, and they have always resolved minor issues fore very quickly.Great app and great support.

In Demand Toys
United Kingdom
22 days using the app
June 6, 2023

Great bit of software to help enable us at Turtle TCG to provide pre-orders and a seamless deposit system.
The support team and Vipin especially are very responsive

Turtle TCG (Sealed)
Australia
About 1 month using the app
June 2, 2023

I highly recommend Advanced PreOrder-Partial Pay for any Shopify store looking to streamline their pre-order process. The app is easy to use and has a range of useful features, including partial payments and customizable pre-order messaging. The customer support is also excellent, with prompt and helpful responses to any questions or issues. Overall, a great app that has helped improve our pre-order sales and customer experience. 5 stars!

Econamictech
United States
About 8 hours using the app
March 7, 2023

Customer service is great , any issue they are there to fix , had a issue that left me frustrated and they were able to fix in under 5 min of losing into my site

opulent goat
United States
Over 2 years using the app
November 2, 2022

I deeply appreciate the help extended by the support team. Vipin was so helpful and was able to resolve our concern.

House of Khalsa
Australia
Almost 2 years using the app