Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 68% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 19% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its ability to boost visibility, traffic, and conversions. They praise its precise targeting, seamless Google network integration, and dynamic remarketing. The user-friendly interface, comprehensive reporting, and actionable analytics are also valued. Merchants find the setup process quick and easy, often leading to immediate sales. Exceptional customer support, particularly from Ben and Carlos, is frequently mentioned. Merchants also commend the app's automation features, such as smart keyword optimization, bid adjustment, and ad targeting refinement. It's recommended for store owners with limited advertising knowledge.

December 13, 2023


JRB Products
United States
2 days using the app
Clever Ads replied December 15, 2023

Hi JRB Products!

I'm so sorry for any confusion here, and thank you for this feedback. Allow me to clarify:

Clever Ads has not charged you anything, yet.

When you began with us, you signed up for a 14-Day Free Trial. This process requires that you authorize/allow us to charge you for our services but only after day 14 of your trial ends. You haven't been charged yet, although I completely understand how it may seem like you were — due to the Shopify Billing process.

Please keep your eye out for my numerous emails and chats I've sent to you with this same information. My goal here is to alleviate any concern you may have and clarify the situation for you.

We're standing by for your reply and ready to get your account up and running to the best possible standard :)

Warm Regards,
- Ben, Customer Success

July 12, 2023

Looks good and may have potential but you need to be able to access and work on Google Ads. My account with Google Ads is messed up and I cannot access it (it loops the login screen requesting 2FA even though it is setup, have already been working with Google). I have been getting a charge monthly from Google for $500 plus another charge for around $120 and could not figure out where it was coming from since I couldn't get into my Ads account. Turns out, it was CleverPPC (I finally got a transaction log with more detail) - even though the Clever AD panel: "Your campaigns haven't taken off yet" and I thought I hadn't activated anything because of this, it was charging me a ton... and I would not have approved that nor did I see any benefit from that as my store has been struggling the past 9m as many retail shops have. I have been fighting with Google to figure out where this was from and finally was able to stop it by uninstalling per Shopify, but what an expensive mess. Very misleading and frustrating for me and a huge cost that I did not approve. Waiting on feedback from CleverPPC, will update. Be very careful what you setup if you are thinking you are just checking it out and seeing how it works. You will be paying even if it says "Your campaigns haven't taken off yet" all across the top and lists steps you still need to complete.

Biddle and Bop
United States
About 1 year using the app
Clever Ads replied July 14, 2023

Hi Biddle and Bop!

We are terribly disheartened to read this review.

We thank you for the time it took to give us this detailed feedback, and we want to assure you that we've already reached out to you via email with important information and updates! Please check your email for our response.

We are standing by to assist you and get your issues sorted out as soon as possible.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Warm Regards,
- Ben, Customer Success

Edited February 2, 2024

I did not understand why you need this application, because everything is in Google Ads, All settings are more correct and reliable to do directly through Google. This app was supposed to replace the freelancer you hired to manage your ads, but it doesn't. I'm sorry, but we're not on the same path.

Update review

Nothing works, the button (continue) just won't click. When selecting images when creating an advertising campaign, it constantly writes that the format is not supported (JPG).

California Wallpaper
United States
Over 1 year using the app
Clever Ads replied July 25, 2023

Hi California Wallpaper!

Again, your feedback is critical because it helps us to see where we've fallen short and to improve, for you. Thank you so much for this.

We've already reached out to you via email with very important updates on your account and clarifications for you to get the most out of our service. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised :)

We truly hope to hear from you soon.

Warm Regards,
- Ben, Customer Success

March 19, 2024

I sign up for a 14-day trial through the 50% discount, wanting to put it on a different credit card. There was no option to put it on a different card, so I am trying to cancel. I can't cancel as there is no option anywhere to do so, and they are stating I will be charged the full $135.00 in 14 days rather than the 50% discount $67.50 stated when I signed up. Will edit my review if this is rectified.

Hemptown Naturals
United States
February 20, 2024

The app and service are terrible. I have the premium package with "supposedly" a dedicated account manager, but there has been no management for over two years now. Google charged me for generic campaigns that were not customized or updated. The campaigns showed sold-out products and ignored 80% of our current products. When I spoke to the account manager, he didn't even know he managed our account. I requested a refund for the past two years, but despite promises, nothing has been resolved. The account manager blamed the merchant team and refused to set up a call. He canceled appointments and muted himself during a call. New campaigns were ineffective, so I deactivated them and have now decided to cancel my subscription. I still haven't received a refund.

United Arab Emirates
Edited March 7, 2024

ZERO STAR ONLY....this is a waste subscription. nothing is working. half baked product. Please dont subscrible, full of bugs and nothing can be tracked in dashboard. useless. please stay away. support only responds once in 24-48hrs . BEWARE. I dont know how these kind of stuffs exist in shopify.

Money waste, no response, such a bad app. all paid reviews. uninstalled the app. BEWARE ...

About 1 month using the app
Edited September 12, 2023

Update Sep 2023

I am done dealing with this app and the company. So my website sells protein supplements which aren't available elsewhere along with a very famous drink. I wasn't getting any sales for the protein and was burning money through the ads these guys have setup. I started to get bit traffic for the famous drink but it was only because google was showing my website when someone particularly searched for the drink.

However, for my protein which is my core product, I have hardly got I-2 sales. The total ROAS has been 0.7, which means for every $100 I spent, I just got sales of $70. They haven't been able to perform at all on the keywords targeting protein. Shows that they don't have experience with small ecommerce websites in a particular niche. Their PPC expert says the CPA is $14 which is good, but that's not for the Protein drink. That's the total which includes the drink which I sell for $11-$18. So which means I had to spend $14 to sell a $11-$18 drink where my profit margin is hardly 10%. Again no results for the protein powder.

Better to not waste your time as these guys will provide you false hopes, but they don't have much expertise.

Update: Aug 2023

Giving this go again after Benjamin has been very proactive and tried to offer me another solution. His support has been very good so far and consistently monitors the campaigns. He has gone out of his way and is really trying to help me achieve the results. Will try to be patient and hope for the best. 5 stars of Benjamin for his efforts and hard work

The app is a total waste of your time. The customer service is very slow and poor.

They took 4 days to setup my ads, none of them had a single impression or clicks until 5 days. After that they did something and I started getting bills in Google ads but Google analytics and Shopify dashboard showed clicks from random places. There wasn't a single purchase after they had setup 8 ads. Most of the clicks were from random places like Turkey, Spain, Banglasdesh, etc while my geolcation was just NZ

Updated- After they reached out to me and asked to try again it's still as bad. They aren't responding to my emails and the ads aren't performing well either

New Zealand
3 months using the app
Clever Ads replied April 22, 2023

Dear Veganut,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our app. We understand that you've faced issues with your ad campaigns, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We've already contacted you via email with important updates and solutions regarding your account. Our team has been working diligently to address your concerns and provide you with the best possible solutions.

Regarding the delay in campaign creation, we had two public holidays the week of installation which might've caused a slight delay in our campaign upload time. I simply wanted to offer you more context here, and our apology.

If there is anything further we can do to assist you, please do not hesitate to contact our customer service team. We hope to hear from you soon.

Warm regards,
- Ben, Customer Success

April 26, 2023

no results at all. I have been paying and I still don't see results. no results at all. I have been paying and I still don't see results.

United States
Almost 4 years using the app
Clever Ads replied April 29, 2023

Hello BadKitty!

We appreciate you sharing this important feedback with us and we apologize for any disappointments you may have experienced.

We are committed to delivering you the best value possible and as such, we've sent an email to you with important updates and next steps regarding your account.

Please keep an eye out for our email from premium@cleverads.com

We sincerely hope to hear from you soon.

Warm regards,
- Ben, Customer Success

February 21, 2024

The app not work,
Sent message to support, no replay

June 20, 2023

Never actually got any help at all, campaigns never started, waited a week before uninstalling when asking for help and receiving ZERO response. Kept prompting me to upgrade when I had already upgraded! Sent me in circles over and over. Waste of time.

United States
30 days using the app
Clever Ads replied June 21, 2023

Hi there,

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced while using our app. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we are committed to provide the best experience to our customers.

We wanted to let you know that we have already reached out to you via email, providing information regarding your concern.
Please feel free to reach out to our customer support team via email. We will be more than happy to assist you with any questions or issues you may have.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Best regards,
Carlos, Account Manager