Reviews (213)

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 31% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 45% of ratings are 1 stars
Edited June 18, 2024

I had a rule setup on a customer who damages items to collect insurance claims and keeps the item and/or say the customers packages were open and items were removed repeatly - i contact Shopify and they told me to contact the developer so here i am... only to find out Shopify is the developer. what the heck.

Edit: customer placed an order; made fake insurance claims. We place on auto cancel fraud list with app. 30 days later the same customer with same email places a new order that is not fulfilled. Contact Shopify and they tell me to contact the developer and then realize Shopify is the developer and here I am. Confused

United States
Almost 2 years using the app
Shopify replied June 18, 2024

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing some trouble with the Fraud Filter app. To provide some clarification however, this app works to help reduce the risk of receiving potentially-fraudulent orders. It doesn't apply to orders that have already been fulfilled. To learn more about the functionality of the app, you can check out this page: If you're having trouble setting up Fraud Filter rules, you can connect with us directly: - Blair, Shopify Support

May 6, 2024

The app completely ignored a particular rule that I had set up. Hence, a fraudolent customer was able to do a repurchase.

Not happy about it.

Pill Farmácia Digital
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied May 8, 2024

Hi there, thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that this happened. If you still wish to use the app, please contact our support team directly and we can look into the rule you set up and why the order was able to get through: -Victor, Shopify Support

July 1, 2024

I set up a rule for a specific customer that has made over 25 fraudulent purchases. Yes the app canceled the orders but did not block them from happening. I can not see where to contact customer support - very frustrating.

The Living Seed Company
United States
4 days using the app
Shopify replied July 3, 2024

Thank you for taking the time and bringing this to our attention. It's important to note that Fraud Filter blocks fraudulent orders, and merchants have the options to cancel the orders automatically or receive warning so that they can cancel the orders manually - this is also conveyed on our guide here:

That being said, if you're looking for a way to completely prevent the customer from accessing your store, then there are a couple of third-party apps that you can consider - such as Easyban ( or Bad Customer ( Or, if you're interested in added protection against fraud and non-fraud chargebacks, then we'd recommend taking a look at Signifyd ( Cheers. -Elias, Shopify Support

June 23, 2024

Sadly there is no customer support at all and no easy way simply block physical address and the surrounding area.

Purusha People
United States
About 2 years using the app
Shopify replied June 25, 2024

Hi, there! Thank you for your review of the Fraud Filter App. You should be able to use the app to create a filter that is able to use different address information to block incoming orders from specific addressed, and even postal codes! We have a help document here ( that you should find helpful. If you need support with using the app, reach out to our 24/7 Support Team available via our Help Center: -Imogen, Shopify Support

March 6, 2024

I had a rule in place that it completely ignored. Lost a sale due to fraud!

It cancelled one order and didn't even alert me or show an order where it ran.

Terrible app. Why even offer it?

Ag Manuals, LLC - A Provider of Digital Farm Manuals
United States
8 months using the app
Shopify replied March 20, 2024

Hi, there! Thanks for your review of the Fraud Filter App. We're sorry to hear about this situation with this fraud rule. Please, reach out to our Support Team via our AI Assistant ( so we can get you authenticated and investigate this for you. -Imogen, Shopify Support

February 14, 2024

This app simply does not work and has created a very uncomfortable and dangerous situation for me. I have a disturbed customer who I've tried blocking several times using this app and it's failed every time. Do not download.

Secondhand Mods
United States
10 months using the app
Shopify replied February 16, 2024

Thanks for the review. You can set up specific rules using the Fraud Filter application on your Shopify store to not allow specific credentials to be used in the checkout: With that being said, if you are experiencing an issue with a specific customer that is attempting to make purchases from your store that you do not want to allow. We will need to take a further look into your online store set up to advise the next steps. In this case, you can get in direct contact with our live support by navigating to the Help Center: When you arrive at the Help Center, you will need to make the virtual assistant aware that you would like to Speak with support and you will be connected with a Support Advisor. -Ollie, Shopify Support

February 28, 2024

does not work

9 months using the app
Shopify replied March 8, 2024


Thanks for reaching out and sharing your review.

You mentioned you're having issues with the app and our team would like to better understand what specific issues you're experiencing. If you'd like, you can connect with our team through the Shopify Help Center ( so we can troubleshoot effectively. -Victoria, Shopify Support.

April 15, 2024

The app don’t work. I have the address filled for the filter and the app doesn’t let me save. It kept asking me to put the info even though I’ve already filled the info I wanted to blacklist. 1/5 app.

United States
4 minutes using the app
Shopify replied April 17, 2024

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing some trouble with the Fraud Filter app. If you haven't done so already, I'd encourage you to connect with our Live Support so we can ensure this gets resolved: - Blair, Shopify Support

November 20, 2023

The filter DOES work, but you need to understand how to use it. I'll tell you how to set things up so it works 100% of the time.

1. The FIRST rule triggered is the ONLY rule processed.
that means that if you have a rule for "flag all orders from Germany"
and another rule for "Cancel Jane Doe from Germany"
the First rule will trigger first and say "Warning, this order is from Germany".
The rule for Jane Doe will never be triggered.

2. The rules are VERY SPECIFIC.
If you want to flag Jane Doe who lives at 123 Main Street, you must do it in a specific manner: Billing Address 1 (CONTAINS) "Main"
You're sorting and flagging any billing address that contains the word MAIN in it.
Why? Because Jane doe could put in 123 Main St. and bypass the filter because it wasn't exactly 123 Main Street.

That means if your rule is matching Name, Address, and Phone ALL of them must be present and match exactly before the rule triggers. So you need to set up individual rules for each part of the fraudster.
You need one rule that (CONTAINS) the Phone number eg. 5043684444
You need one rule that (CONTAINS) the first part of the email address eg. "Fraudster@"
You need one rule for JUST the Billing address and Zip code. eg. Main and 70054
You need one rule for JUST the Shipping address and Zip code. eg. Main and 70054

And that's how it will work 100% every single time. If it's failing, you've not set it up properly.

Picture of Rules:
I have 115 pages of them, and they work.

Now, on to my complaints:
Shopify, you need to make it so I can sort by the Rule Name. OMG, please, make this happen.
Also, WHY WHY WHY for the love of gawd, do I have to go through 125 pages before I can edit the last rule I created? And WHY do you refresh the screen back to page one after I save the changes? Did I hurt you? or are you just evil? :( :(
I need to be able to specify a page of rules, and you need to stop sending me back to page one whenever I change a rule. Okay? thanks, love ya!

United States
Over 4 years using the app
Shopify replied November 24, 2023

HI, there! Thanks for providing your feedback. I have submitted your feature requests to our developers for future consideration. Thanks again! Great ideas. - Skye, Shopify Support

February 12, 2024

Works perfectly fine.

30 minutes using the app