Fraud Filter

Create custom filters to help you prevent fraud

Shopify app insights
  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Price: Free

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: no impact to your online store

Reviews

2.5 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 35% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 40% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

11 - 20 of 181 reviews

FarmMate.in

Location India
Time spent using app 9 months

I want to block some people from placing cash on delivery orders based on their mobile number, as some customers keep on ordering cash on delivery then rejecting the order leading to losses. Shopify should add this feature either in this app or in Advanced cash on delivery app.

Developer reply

December 21, 2021

Hi, there. Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review and provide us with this feedback as well. I can certainly see how this idea could benefit our Fraud filter app and would be happy to submit this idea up to our developers for future consideration. Thank's again! -Marty, Shopify Support.

JAM Clothing

Location United States
Time spent using app About 1 year

This app does have it's flaws, but I have a pretty major suggestion if you are trying to use it! Turn on manual payment capture so you do not need to take the processing fee! I have had someone persistently trying to place orders, and manual payment capture helps SO much with this app.

Developer reply

November 24, 2021

Hi, there. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great review. We are so happy to hear that the Fraud Filter app has been working for you and your shop. Thanks again! - Marty, Shopify Support

GlindaWand

Location Australia
Time spent using app 4 minutes

This is silly. It can't actually block a transaction based on the rules - it only cancels the order after the transaction already occurs. As everyone states in the reviews, that leave us - your merchants - having to cover the transaction fees for/on the reversal. Why can't this simply block the transaction, based on the rule - before the transaction occurs, so that the merchant doesn't incur expenses?

Developer reply

November 22, 2021

Thank you for getting in touch and for writing your review, and I can appreciate your frustration over the limitations of the Fraud Filter app in terms of preventing high risk or fraudulent orders from being placed at all.

The app will cancel or flag an order if it meets the criteria you've set once the order has been placed, but I can see why you'd prefer a solution that stops the customer from placing an order. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our app development team for their consideration. -Victor, Shopify Support

Northside Flower Market

Location Australia
Time spent using app 2 days

When you set up this app, you have the option of either automatically cancelling the order, in which case Shopify sends a notification to the customer (but not your admin), or you can set it to warn your admin about a fraudulent order. You can't set it to do both. I don't see why an app would notify the customer and not the seller.

Developer reply

November 1, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We understand that you'd like to be notified for when an order is automatically cancelled, and we'd be happy to share this with our development team. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

Tuscola Pain and Wellness Center

Location United States
Time spent using app 3 months

We use this for fraudulent orders and diverters. It works well. The only thing from getting 5 stars is the lack of options when creating filters. It would be nice to have time and date parameters in the rules for making filters. i.e. We have obligations to restrict a certain number of orders per day and per week. It would also be nice to have product specific parameters in the rules for making filters. i.e. We have obligations for maximum quantity of any one product on any one order. This is a great app for people with obligations to vendors. Thanks for the work on it Shopify!

Developer reply

October 11, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share these suggestions. We can see how having more filter options can be beneficial for our merchants using this app and we'd be happy to share this with our developers. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

Inbals Tarot

Location Switzerland
Time spent using app About 1 year

Does not work with digital goods! I have lost lots of money to clients who received their digital goods anyways AND got refunded because their order was cancelled (after sending the confirmation WITH the link to the digital good).

Developer reply

August 26, 2021

Hi, there. We are sorry to hear you ran into this problem and thank you for taking the time to share this review and for highlighting these issues. Fraud Filter cannot cancel orders that have already been paid and fulfilled. Once a Digital Download is purchased, it's automatically paid and fulfilled, even if the customer is flagged as a risk. Furthermore, the customer automatically receives the product once it's been paid for, so by the time the order is cancelled the customer already has the product.

We can see why some of these issues would be a problem for some of our merchants, like yourself and we would be happy to pass your feedback along to our developers for future considerations. Although we cannot guarantee updates to this in the future, the more requests we get from our merchants the better the chance for future updates.

Alternatively, you could look into using an app like "SendOwl" for your digital downloads. SendOwl does integrate with Fraud Filter and can be set up with a 30-second delay between the order being paid and fulfilled, which gives Fraud Filter enough time to cancel orders before the product is sent. If you wish to try this out, feel free to check out SendOwl on our app store here https://bit.ly/3kpD7p6 for more information. Thanks again! -Marty, Shopify Support

Peer Online Shop

Location Germany
Time spent using app 8 days

Es ist möglich Regeln zu erstellen. Es gibt leider keine Erklärung was man in die Felder schreiben soll. Die Auswahlmöglichkeiten sind extrem gering.

Molto Amore Co.

Location Spain
Time spent using app About 1 hour

Simple and efficient. Just what we needed to prevent fraud COD orders. IMHO it should come as standard with every shopify install. Thx.

Shire Bikes - Parts & Accesories suitable for Monkey Bikes

Location United Kingdom
Time spent using app 10 months

IT DOESN'T WORK. COULD SHOPIFY ACTUALLY FIX THIS APP RATHER THAN GIVING EVERYONE CORPORATE ROBOTIC REPLIES???

Developer reply

July 13, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for taking the time and sharing this feedback with us. If our guide for Fraud Filter (https://bit.ly/3hEwLSg) isn't able to help you set up our app, then this is something that our Support team can help you with. Our Support team will be able to take a closer look at your account and assist you through live chat, email, or callback. Please visit the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA) and log in to your account to create a support request. Cheers. -Elias, Shopify Support

Westa

Location United States
Time spent using app 4 months

Practically useless. - This app requires you to create completely new and separate rule for every individual customer you want to block. No support for a single list.
- As others have stated, this app does not block the order from occurring. It just cancels it after the fact, leaving the merchant out of pocket for the transaction fee.

Developer reply

June 26, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for taking the time to share this review and for highlighting these issues. We can see why some of these issues would be a problem for some of our merchants, like yourself, and we would be happy to pass your feedback along to our developers for future considerations. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support