Fraud Filter

Create custom filters to help you prevent fraud

Shopify app insights
  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Price: Free

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: no impact to your online store


2.5 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 36% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 40% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

21 - 30 of 180 reviews

Superfly Bonsai

Location United States
Time spent using app About 1 year

This worked OK up until the other day. Now it will not even load the page where I had all of my filters listed. I hope I don't loose them all, that would be horrible. We have blocked many people from ordering again with this app. I wish it still worked.

Developer reply

April 26, 2021

I'm sorry to hear that you've had this issue and thank you for leaving your feedback with us here. I would recommend logging into your store in another browser or device to see if the issue is also present there, and if it isn't, you can try clearing your cache in your original browser or device to see if that helps.

If the problem persists, please reach out to our support team directly so that they can authenticate you on the store and take a closer look at this for you. You can reach them here: -Victor, Shopify Support

HQ Test Store

Location United States
Time spent using app 14 minutes

I have a question. This app is installed and configure some fraud rules in my store. But if some Fraudulent orders still are created, how does this responsibility identify? which side will pay for these users, Shopify or merchant.

Developer reply

March 31, 2021

We appreciate your five-star review and the question you have asked, so thank you for taking the time to reach out to us.

Shopify does not cover any associated fees a merchant may pay due to chargebacks, which are a potential consequences of fraudulent orders. We do however offer apps such as Fraud Filter to help prevent them, along with other tools such as Fraud Protect ( and our in-built fraud analysis program:

We also offer advice and guidance on how to prevent chargebacks and how to manage them if one is received, which can be found on our Help Center here: -Victor, Shopify Support


Location Germany
Time spent using app 12 months

Nichts funktioniert einfach nur schlecht !
Die App scheint veraltet zu sein.
dazu nötigt man hier einen den Fehler genau zu beschreiben. Ich möchte Kunden per email blockieren und es funktioniert einfach nicht.


Location United Kingdom
Time spent using app 9 months

Has been useful for alerting to staff to unwanted buyers. Unfortunately it will not prevent these buyers checking out so we lose transaction fees when we cancel the orders. Tried to use it to day and it is broken.

Developer reply

March 16, 2021

Thank you for your review. You should be able to filter out those buyers by adding their IP address or email as a filter in the app. If this isn't functioning properly, please contact our support team and we can look into it further: Cheers! - Brie, Shopify Support


Location United States
Time spent using app Over 2 years

This app only works if you create a single list for each email you are blocking. There is no way to adjust the filter to search for OR only AND. So if you put two emails into one list - it assumes you need both conditions to work (and then does not). This seems like a major development oversight by Shopify - should allow for AND and OR filtering so users can create one list and add names to it versus create a list for EACH individual email. Please fix ASAP.

Developer reply

February 22, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and for highlighting this issue. I can see why this would be a problem when creating lists within the app, so will be sure to pass your feedback onto our development team for them to review. -Victor, Shopify Support

Remotto Battery

Location Spain
Time spent using app 2 months

I used this app and the orders are being identified as fraudulent, but I'm not getting any warnings in the Shopify admin, can you check please?

Developer reply

February 11, 2021

I'm sorry to hear that you've had this issue but thank you for notifying us of the issue here. The Fraud Filter app can be used to set rules on cancelling and flagging orders based on certain criteria set by the merchant, but Shopify also offers a risk analysis on orders that automatically flags orders of a certain risk based on a number of factors. If you're unsure about the risk level of your orders, I'd recommend contacting our support team so they can take a closer look at your store: -Victor


Location United States
Time spent using app 3 months

This app does not work. It hasn't blocked a single order placed by email addresses we have blocked through the app.

Developer reply

February 10, 2021

Hi, there. Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback here, and I'm sorry to hear that you haven't had a positive experience with the app to this point. Please feel free to reach out to our support team so we can do some troubleshooting and make sure the app is set up properly: Warm regards! -Oliver


Location United Kingdom
Time spent using app 22 days

This app didn't work. An order was placed even though we had set up a filter to cancel the order from a specific email address who we know is fraudulently ordering.

Developer reply

February 1, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and I'm sorry to hear that the Fraud Filter app did not work as intended for you. I'd like to take a closer look at the order in question and see if I can determine why the app did not cancel the order as desired, so will send an email to you shortly to touch base with you on this. Please reply to me there if you're still looking for assistance on this. -Victor, Shopify Support

Medlab Clinical

Location Australia
Time spent using app 9 months

Useless. It does not allow you to apply a filter on the "Shopify fraud detection system score" Looks like everyone has accessed for this.
You have not problems charging us $ for fraud chargeback. or $ to use our our payment gateways that have this function.

Developer reply

January 26, 2021

Thank you for this feedback. I'll be sure to pass that on to our developers for you and submit this as a feature request on your behalf. - Brie, Shopify Support

Dice Dungeons

Location United States
Time spent using app 5 minutes

Does what it says, but not super useful. It's not paying attention to the fruad levels of the order. You would need to have information on the person submitted the fraud to stop it, so it's only helpful for blocking past fraud orders, and they could easily get around this.

Developer reply

January 10, 2021

Hi, there! Thank you for this feedback; I'll be sure to pass this on to the appropriate team for you. In the meantime, I'd recommend checking out our help docs for some additional tips for fraud prevention: - Brie, Shopify Support