Reviews (1,331)

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 86% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its user-friendly, customizable templates and seamless integration with existing themes. It's known for its reliability and features like FAQ, Product Tabs, and Live Chat, which effectively reduce customer queries and emails. The responsive customer support team is quick to resolve issues. The professional look of the app enhances the user experience, making it highly recommended for small businesses due to its simplicity and effectiveness.

February 14, 2024

I would not recommend this app to others because of the same reason that most of the others have given it a 1 star review... they changed the pricing model so that functionality that was free was no longer free. This had a direct impact on your live site because now only 5 FAQs were displayed on the site and any other FAQs were no longer live. The danger here is that the creators of this app directly affected your live site and the information that was displayed by changing their pricing model and forcing you to pay for functionality that was free. They also force you to upgrade and pay in order to get an export so you have to manually copy each individual FAQ from their app which means you have to edit every single one to copy the answer. Would not use any of their apps in the future.

Smart Sips Coffee
United States
Over 5 years using the app
Shark Byte, Inc replied February 16, 2024

Dear Smart Sips Coffee !

First of all, we would like to apologize for such an experience using our application. We fully accept your views and agree that this is unacceptable. Your feedback is very valuable and will help us avoid similar mistakes in the future!

There should be no excuses on our part, but let us mention that in connection with the changes to the Free plan and FAQ as a result, our team has been updating users for quite some time about these changes and what they may affect.

Since we try to find an individual approach to everyone, we have already contacted you by mail and offered options for solving the issue as quickly as possible. We look forward to your response!

We are very sorry once again that our application did not meet your needs. We would really like to assist you resolving the issue so that you change your mind and give us a second chance.

We truly value our customers and try to do our best to provide them with the best experience possible.

Waiting for your reply!

Best Regards
HelpCenter team

Edited January 16, 2023

Stay FAR AWAY from this app!! The developers pulled a bait and switch and now we are missing most of our FAQ on our LIVE website. There are many other great options out there. Do not use this crap app!!!!

United States
Over 6 years using the app
Edited January 18, 2023

Horrendous way of forcing existing customers (onboarded since 2017) to upgrade to a paid plan. No notifications were sent to inform that free plans will be phased out. As a result, we just found out that our content was removed from the widget without our permission. We also lost our access to our existing content for migration unless we pay to upgrade. The high-handed and mercenary approach left a really bad taste in our mouth. We have a few web stores subscribed to their paid plans as they were launched recently. It's a no brainer - we are going to take the business elsewhere.

Good Dog People™
Over 5 years using the app
Shark Byte, Inc replied January 22, 2023

Hi Good Dog People™!

Our team totally agrees that the situation is unacceptable. We ‘d like you to know that this is not the norm for us at the HelpCenter app.
This isolated issue should have never happened.

During the previous week our dev team had been working hard to bring the missing FAQ data back to your store.

Finally, this process has been completed by now and your FAQ articles should be brought back to your store. Just contact our support team to learn the details regarding the missing data back!

We are very sorry once again that you were let down. We wish you all the best and hope that this situation will not affect your decision to cooperate with us in the future.

We value our customers and stand behind our work and would like the opportunity to make things right for you.

We look forward to hearing back from you!

All the best,
HelpCenter team

September 25, 2022

WISH I CAN GIVE YOU GUYS 0 STARS. You're running people's businesses down with your bad customer service and app.
literally the worst app on Shopify. If you have a serious business then you cannot depend on these people. They do not reply to emails and there's no other way to reach them. I contacted these guys over a week ago because their app keeps showing up errors and we lost all of our replies to customers because they were never sending. Up until today, none of them has reached out to us . but leave them an honest review and watch them reach out to you. Your customer service is appalling. UNBELIEVABLE

United States
Over 4 years using the app
Shark Byte, Inc replied September 25, 2022


First of all, please, accept our sincere apologies for the troubles you had to face while using our app it was unintentional in any way.

I'd like to explain the situation to you that,indeed, at the beginning of this week we faced some technical issues which affected some of the customers' stores(as a result of that issue, they could see errors while trying to archive the tickets or send them, as well as the newly incoming tickets were not received in the ticketing system).
Please, note that this technical issue affected our side and system as well, to my regret.
That's the reason why your messages haven't been received from our side and replied to on time.
That's what we truly apologize for!

But the issue has been spotted by our developers' team and resolved within the day.
So now, I believe, you shouldn't see any errors within your ticketing system and the tickets should be received properly.

Please, notify us if you still see any errors from your side and I'd be more than glad to assist you with it.
We've already reached you via email and hope that we'll be able to resolve this unpleasant situation.

Once again, my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Looking forward to your reply.

HelpCenter Team

February 2, 2023

I was wondering why my customers were leaving my store. Just by chance I opened up FAQ's and discovered most of them had been blocked by this company! Extremely hurt and damaged due to their actions. Now my store looks FAKE and SHODDY. What this company did was Disrespectful and Embarrassing. I was never alerted about their decision to change their original Plan options. Do not trust this company as they are very Hurtful.

Crystal Fizzy
United States
Over 4 years using the app
Shark Byte, Inc replied February 2, 2023

Hi dear Crystal Fizzy team.

We're sorry that you're disappointed with HelpCenter app.
Please note, that due to the changes in Free plan we've been informing our customers by email numerous times since the December informing that after January 16 Free plan stores could no longer have more than 5 active articles. Also we've suggested our customers to switch to the paid HelpCenter plans with great discounts if they're planning to have more than 5 active articles in future.

Please, accept our sincere apology if you've missed these emails for some reason.
We've just contacted you via the email regarding the situation to see if we could find the way out of it.

HelpCenter team

January 16, 2023

this app was a great free app but its a joke now. They removed the option to paste picture in the body. then they deleted all my articles because they are changing the free option to only have 5 articles so they just deleted my other 25. all my time and effort erased and they can't even get it back but want me to pay to add more articles again. no thanks i'll use another app

Sticker Joint
United States
Over 4 years using the app
Shark Byte, Inc replied January 22, 2023

Hi Sticker Joint!

Thanks for posting a review! We are sorry to hear that our product and service were not the quality you expected. We would like to get another chance and prove you otherwise.

During these last few days our dev team has been working hard to bring the missing FAQ data back to your store.
I’d like to inform you that this process has been completed by now and your FAQ articles should be brought back to your store.

We have already provided you with the details and sent the restored data to your email address.

Please feel free to contact us with any further comments, concerns and suggestions you would like to share.

Best regards,
HelpCenter team

Edited January 17, 2023


AVOID - like everyone else is saying, they have deleted all the data that was on the FAQ page due to a change of plan (from free to paid). There was NO notice that the data would be deleted and they are not doing anything to recover the data.

Given that you have at no point mentioned the content would be deleted if you don’t upgrade I assume this was a mistake on your end and that this shouldn’t have happened. In which case what you should do is notify every store owner who didn’t upgrade about this and apologise for your mistake. I’m sure there are hundreds of store owners right now who have no idea that their FAQ page is missing (it’s not a page we check regularly!) and your actions/mistakes are hurting their business. Notify them ASAP otherwise I am certain each and every one of them will leave you one star when they realise you deleted their FAQ sections.

Just to clarify - My issue is not that I now have to pay to upgrade. We hold our hand up, we missed your emails on having to pay. Again, the fee is not an issue. Our issue is that you have deleted all of our data!

United Kingdom
About 4 years using the app
Shark Byte, Inc replied January 22, 2023

Hi TheBlockZone!

Our team is really sorry to hear about your experience and that you were let down by our app. We sincerely regret that this trouble made you doubt the quality of our application and service in general. We try to do our best to improve our customers' experience!

We take this issue very seriously and have taken steps to ensure this doesn't happen again.

We’d like to inform you that the restoring missing FAQ data process has been completed. At this stage your FAQ content should be brought back to your store.

Our dev team has been working on this during the last week.
You can contact us to receive all the information regarding the missing FAQ data of your store!

Our team is available 24/7 for any emergency or urgent needs, but we’re also aware of the need for a personal touch when it comes to our customers.

Waiting for feedback from your end.

Warm regards,
HelpCenter team

January 19, 2023

Been using for many years... agree with others... we had a free forever plan for just 30 faq's... so they disable your faq's without notice and forcing you to upgrade to paid plan... sorry, but not a great way to do business, espcially with original users... will be deleting now

United States
About 4 years using the app
Shark Byte, Inc replied January 22, 2023


First of all, we can't help but mention that we are terribly sorry to learn that we have let you down. Your constructive criticism is fair and it will allow us the opportunity to improve and do better.

We sincerely appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and to the attention of other customers.
We are always looking for ways to improve.

Let us notice, please, that during the last week our dev team had been working hard to bring the missing FAQ data back to our customers' stores.

We’d like to inform you that this process has been completed by now and your FAQ articles should be brought back to your store. You can contact our support team to receive all the information regarding the missing data back!

Please, allow us another opportunity to show you a more enjoyable and pleasant experience. We truly value your business!

In case there’s anything else we can assist you with-don’t hesitate to reach out to us further!

Best regards,
HelpCenter team

Edited May 23, 2023

I used this app on two of my stores until they decided to charge obscene amounts of money for simple functionalities that a lot of other apps provide for free or very little $$. New structure is 100% not worth the money, as the app does nothing special that a hundred others don't do.

edit based on their reply... my complaint is not that you didn't tell me it was happening... my complaint is that your pricing structure is asinine.

United States
Almost 4 years using the app
Shark Byte, Inc replied May 23, 2023

Hi Vinyl Exclusive team!

I'm sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with our app after recent plans and features update.

Please let us note that we've been informing our customers about the changes in the HelpCenter since the beginning of December 2022. And starting from January 16 the limitations for the Free plan were applied.

We are ready to move towards our customers to help them with any issues that they have.

We will be happy if you can contact us via email or the live chat so we can discuss all the problems and find nessesary solutions for you so you can change your opinion about the HelpCenter app.

Best regards
HelpCenter team

September 10, 2020

The application forces you to pay for almost everything related to customization, which is what makes the user interface very bad and it cannot work with different themes

Saudi Arabia
Almost 3 years using the app
Shark Byte, Inc replied September 11, 2020

Dear WelaSouq,

Thank you for your message and for being our customer. On behalf of Help Center team we would like to say that Shopify hosts plenty of different themes written by different programmers, pushing various changes. Our team of support and development is constantly helping clients to fix and improve the theme+app integrations, such as in Your case. No payment is required for that. We checked Your situation, already made necessary adaptations and informed You about that by email.
Thank You for Your cooperation and understanding.
If you have more questions or need a customisation - please let us know via

Have a great day -
Help Center