Overall rating
2.3
Counts per rating level
  • 14% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 47% of ratings are 1 stars
March 25, 2021

I think it is a convenience app for a barcode. The only and most problematic thing is that the app does not support my language and my currency. Quite a disappointing since Shopify itself did a great job with translating the language.

Storehaus
Thailand
15 days using the app
Shopify replied April 2, 2021

I'm glad to hear that you're finding the app convenient, and thank you for sharing that feedback with us here. I can certainly see why being able to use the app in your own language would be helpful, so I will go ahead and pass your feedback onto our development team for their consideration. -Oliver, Shopify Support

October 7, 2020

I really want to love this app, but unfortunately I don't. The most ANNOYING thing is that it only creates barcodes while the product profiles have a place for SKUs and Barcodes (leaving the SKU empty). This is a problem for people using the POS system & the Online Platform. Once the barcode is assigned, it's useless for your POS system because it will only read the SKU number (which is left empty on each product profile). In order to rectify it, you'll have to manually copy the barcode field to the SKU field for your POS to recognize it. MANUALLY INPUT EACH PRODUCT AND VARIANT. I have hundreds.... NOT HAPPY AT ALL. There are other minor issues like the lack of label sizes and such but I'd actually tolerate that if the barcode field could automatically fill in the SKU field or better yet, the POS system could read the BARCODE field.

House of Haute
United States
12 days using the app
Shopify replied October 9, 2020

Thank you for your review. The Shopify POS currently does read barcodes off of the product's barcode field, and not from the SKU field. The SKU field plays no part in the scanning of products in this case.

It sounds like you may be having an issue with the barcode printouts, the format options, or how they're being scanned. This could also be related to a temporary issue we experienced wherein some products weren't scanning on the All-New POS (this has now been resolved). I'd like to follow up with you for more information and to make sure this has been resolved for you. If it hasn't, we can troubleshoot together there. Speak soon! - Brie, Shopify Support

November 3, 2021

Why there is no option to choose other lables than suggested. Same on the printers. It's hard to find those formats or products in Switzerland/Europe. This is very annoying.

SWISS WOOD MAPS®
Switzerland
6 days using the app
Shopify replied November 4, 2021

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and share your feedback. Shopify Shipping is available for orders shipped from fulfillment locations based in the United States, Canada, and Australia. If you are located in Switzerland/Europe, this may be the reason you are having issues.

However, I would suggest reaching out through our Help Center here: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA to chat with one of our live support advisors to provide some more context into the issue you are having, we are always happy to take a closer look. Thanks again! -Marty, Shopify Support.

December 4, 2021

We are using this app but the ability to move items on the labels are so limited and hard to create what we want our labels to look like and get the info we want on them.

Red Bag
Canada
5 days using the app
Shopify replied December 6, 2021

Hi There. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review and feedback. We can certainly see the benefit in potentially adding more customization options when creating labels. I would be happy to submit your feedback up to our developers for future consideration. Thanks again! -Marty, Shopify Support.

July 27, 2020

Why this app doesn't work when you create a purchase order in shopify is BEYOND me. Having inventory accuracy is super important and if we could just print right from the purchase order window we could ensure items were getting the correct labels. As it is now we have to print tags from the product page and then receive the items on a PO - it's a second step that should be easy to remedy.

Wildernest Inc
United States
2 days using the app
Shopify replied August 11, 2020

I really appreciate you taking the time to write this review, and I want to confirm that your feedback has been shared with our developers. We're always looking for ways to improve the app so that it makes sense and works efficiently for your business, so this feedback is tremendously valuable. Thank you! -Sophia, Shopify Support

June 22, 2022

App is ok, but it does not support the language with letters "č", "š", "ž" in it. If title contains one of those letters, the labels will be empty, you can only print a barcode and price.

BIKERS OUTLET
Slovenia
About 4 hours using the app
Shopify replied July 15, 2022

Hey, there. Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing this feedback with us. We understand how important specialized characters are for your business and labels, and we'd be more than happy to share your feedback with our development team for future considerations.

If you need the labels to support special characters for the time being, then we'd recommend exploring some third-party options. Apps, such as Multi‑Label Barcodes (https://bit.ly/3RAX0sR), Barcode Man ‑ Label Printing (https://bit.ly/3vfIu0n), or Kodbar: Barcodes & Labels (https://bit.ly/3PemMBx), supports multiple formats and allows you to create custom labels. Thanks! -Elias, Shopify Support

September 24, 2019

Quick and easy to select which products need barcodes/labels but need's additional DYMO size label options. Without the stock 3 sizes, the app is basically useless.

Maiden Noir
United States
About 2 hours using the app
Shopify replied October 3, 2019

Thanks for sharing this feedback on the Retail Barcode Labels app. I'm glad to hear that you found the app easy to use, though I understand it's not currently working for your business due to some of the label sizes you require not being available on the app. Our developers are always working to improve the functionality of our integrations, so I'd like to share your thoughts with them regarding this.

I'm going to follow up with you via email so that we can discuss your specific experience further and properly log your feedback on our end. Looking forward to speaking with you soon! - Rae, Shopify Support

December 9, 2022

Looks useful but I want to add the name of the product to my barcodes and the app does not support Greek characters. Therefore I can't use it for my store.

Anime Portal Store
Greece
18 minutes using the app
Shopify replied January 11, 2023

Hi there, Anime Portal Store. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Retail Barcode Labels. We appreciate your review here regarding the limitations of what characters are supported with labels. I've gone ahead and made the Product Team aware of your feedback regarding this limitation. I can't say what the result of the feedback will be, but the Team is aware of the request and may consider adding additional character support in a future update. -Imogen, Shopify Support

January 3, 2019

Hate when you have an app that works great and it is replaced by one that takes a lot more steps to get my work done and it does not even print the labels correctly.

Cons...
-Way too may screens to just print labels
-Defaults to the number of units you have on hand so in my case I need 1 label and it wanted to print 1125 labels.
-Does not print centered on my Dymo labels (I actually can't use this app the way it is printing, it is just not the professional image I want for my company.)

Pros
-If you have not already invested in a label printer it will let you use your normal printer and label sheets
-Can customize the labels a little more
-If you never used the previous app, this one probably won't drive you nuts.

Thread Waggle Quilting
United States
About 1 hour using the app