ShipStation , 703 reviews

Overall rating
3.9
Counts per rating level
  • 75% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 14% of ratings are 1 stars
May 19, 2014

I have been using Ship Station now for three months for my small e-commerce business and it has been amazing. As soon as an order is made from my Shopify store it ports over to Ship Station immediately. When I log in the order is already there waiting for me with all of the customers information. All I have to do is select the shipping method and print my labels. Before deciding to partner with Ship Station I had considered other shipping solutions but during my 30 day trial Ship Station was involved and hands on about showing me how to navigate their software in providing easier tips and solutions to help make my shipping solutions easier and faster. They completely won me over. I'm so glad I made this choice!

Posh Peyton
United States
About 6 years using the app
September 5, 2013

I can't believe that I waited so long to start using ShipStation. It's really easy to use (much better than the online USPS system), and has saved us tons of time. The biggest payback for us are those pesky international orders, and the time it would take to fill out customs forms. I can't believe it every time we do it, now it take seconds and it's complete.

Iron Doggy
United States
Almost 6 years using the app
November 29, 2022

I am so frustrated at this app and the lack of support that we have been receiving. Ever since the update, Shipsation has been a total disappointment. We used it without any issues for the past 5 years but once the upgrade happened, nothing has been functioning properly. It's time-consuming to have to reach out to tech support constantly because their app isn't functioning properly. I am looking into a different fulfillment app.

SWL
United States
Almost 6 years using the app
October 27, 2021

We use Shipstation for our order fulfillment and have had a great experience so far. There are hardly any issues with the app and order creation/lookup/actual shipment. The integration with Shopify is seamless. It would be great to edit an order's items after the order syncs from Shopify to Shipstation. It would also be great to have the default view on the Orders page expanded to 1000, not 500.

Bread SRSLY
United States
Almost 6 years using the app
April 11, 2014

Great App. This App needs to be standard install on all Shopfiy templates!

RacingLine
United States
Almost 6 years using the app
August 4, 2022

Great app for small businesses and includes everything you need to ship hundreds of orders a week with little-to-no hassle. Built-in UPS rate is also absolutely fantastic through them Would highly recommend.

Brazyn Life
United States
Almost 6 years using the app
April 14, 2021

We've been using shipstation for years! There are other shipping software options out there but Shipstation has never let us down. Great software, great company.

Fresh Patch
United States
Almost 6 years using the app
Edited February 3, 2016

Update 2/3/16 - It's been about a year and a half since using Shipstation. It is by far the best on the market due to its frequent feature updates, customer service and intuitive interface. GET SHIP DONE :)

--2013--
Shipstation has helped my Beer Art business,"Craft Beerd" in the following ways:
- Efficient order tracking
- Discounted postage
- Batch processing of mailing labels
- Stat tracking of popular items, etc
- filtering products to view for a specific reason

So far so good!
Cheers, Rudy
www.craftbeerd.com

Craftbeerd
United States
Almost 6 years using the app
Edited October 23, 2023

I have used Shipstation for 4+ years. I liked Shipstation despite its quirks. Two weeks ago they overfilled my Stamps.com by $800 account due to their system error when we tried to ship and refill our account. When your Stamps.com account balance is too low, a window will pop up to refill it. We recharged with $200, or so we thought, but we got the prompt again that we didn't have enough balance and we needed to purchase more. Did it. .system error - same thing. Little did we know their purchases were delayed by 20 to 30 minutes and each time we pressed the buy button, it was purchasing more shipping and creating a shipment, but not showing the shipment or updating the balance in our account. So 5 transactions, $200 each -$800 more than needed. I only found this with our credit card transaction review. We called them and they refused to refund me without canceling my Stamps.com account. They were very interested in how this happens, so guessing they were debugging their system error. We didn't need $1000 shipping, so after we reached out to them and tried to resolve it, we contested with our credit card for $600 of that. Shipstation was very quick to shut my account down. If there is anything I can say about Shipstation is that system of shutting off a customer's account is very quick and efficient. Good job. After we realized our account was shut down, we called back in and they said the only way to get reactivated was to bill back the $600. Without options and needing to ship, we caved and said go ahead. Start the clock, it took them another 7 days before we could ship. This service feels like they really don't want me as a customer or think overcharging and holding hundreds of dollars of customer money is good business. Will I recommend Shipstation - No Way - something is broken over there. did I before this? Yes. I wasted over 6+ hours of my time over 7 days resolving Shipstation's screws ups and bureaucracy in getting my account turned on. I don't know if there are better options at this point, but you can be sure I am scheduling time to figure it out. If you want to count: 7 calls over 7 days to get this resolved. 6+ hours of my time. On several calls with primary support, the agent said they couldn't resolve my issues - Only the people at XXX number could resolve this. Then when I called the XXX number, they said they couldn't resolve the issue either and to call back the original number. I asked for a supervisor, said there is none and to call back the regular number. Did that, waited on hold again asked for a supervisor, agent said no for 15 minutes until he spent the time reviewing my case and asking all the same questions. Never got to speak with a supervisor. I run a business - like all people who have a Shopify account. Stuff happens, but when it does having your account shut down for a system-critical service is a real issue. If you do use their services, have a plan in place for when you have issues and expect multiple-day downtimes. Expect no apologies. Expect no one to take responsibility. Expect a lot of broken promises and wasted follow-up. Also, they sent me a survey to ask how they did. After starting, I realized it would have taken me over 30 minutes to complete it. I opted to spend that time here to let potential customers know about my experience. Update 6/23/2022 - Shipstation/Stamps management reached out to me by phone/email to understand this issue better and see what went wrong after seeing this review. They are going to look through their support strings and try to figure out what went wrong here and try to make it right. There is someone at the other end of the line here listening at least.

Update 10/23/2023 -We have used shipstation as a backup and for very specific shipping needs, but find that shopify rates are the same or better in most instances. If you use UPS and UPS misses a $200 overnight first - you can try to get a refund from Shipstation, but they have a weird form, zero follow up and say that if UPS approves the refund, we will see a refund - just did an quick check against our and I have never seen a refund - at least 3, likely 5 submission this year. Seems like they give you a place to push buttons with zero follow up. They don't have any paper trail. Still don't recommend these guys - they will stay as a backup for us unless they don't like this review.

If you are another vendor, don't reach out to me to solicit based on this. I am covered.

eMotimo
United States
Almost 6 years using the app
June 9, 2022

The app was once golden and a must have for our business. But since the recent updates we have had trouble after trouble with getting into our account for everyday shipping. We are unable to to login to our account at all! it's terrible and there is no support or answers! We have used this app since 2016! So sad, but will be seeking out other options and I advise anyone looking into a platform for shipping ease to do the same! Our workflow has been completely disrupted!

KaAn's Designs
United States
Almost 6 years using the app